Contribute
Register

[Fix] Skylake menu bar glitch fix

Joined
Dec 20, 2016
Messages
105
Motherboard
HP 250 G6 Laptop
CPU
Intel i3-6006u @2.00 GHz
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 520 (1366x768)
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
I'm wondering if I can add those Skylake glitch fix-V3 patches to my config.plist even if I'm actually using 10.13.
The reason why I'd do that, is because I'd like to have the same config.plist when booting 10.12 or 10.13,
so, would those patch do any harm to 10.13?
or maybe I could add a "MatchOS" key to each of them? would "MatchOS" work for "Device"->"AddProperties" tree too, or does it only work for "KextToPatch" entries?
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,161
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I'm wondering if I can add those Skylake glitch fix-V3 patches to my config.plist even if I'm actually using 10.13.
The reason why I'd do that, is because I'd like to have the same config.plist when booting 10.12 or 10.13,
so, would those patch do any harm to 10.13?
or maybe I could add a "MatchOS" key to each of them? would "MatchOS" work for "Device"->"AddProperties" tree too, or does it only work for "KextToPatch" entries?

This particular fix was long ago fixed in the framebuffer kext Info.plist.
No longer necessary.
Adding them when not needed has no effect.
 
Joined
Dec 20, 2016
Messages
105
Motherboard
HP 250 G6 Laptop
CPU
Intel i3-6006u @2.00 GHz
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 520 (1366x768)
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
This particular fix was long ago fixed in the framebuffer kext Info.plist.
No longer necessary.
Adding them when not needed has no effect.

ok, is the same true for the Sierra boot glitch patch (intel HD520)? I mean, is it fixed elsewhere now or I would still need the patch for Sierra?
I've read that on High Sierra, Lilu.kext and IntelGraphicsFixup.kext would fix that, but is the same true for Sierra too?
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,161
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
ok, is the same true for the Sierra boot glitch patch (intel HD520)? I mean, is it fixed elsewhere now or I would still need the patch for Sierra?
I've read that on High Sierra, Lilu.kext and IntelGraphicsFixup.kext would fix that, but is the same true for Sierra too?

Off-topic.
 
Joined
Feb 27, 2021
Messages
9
Motherboard
Dell Optiplex 7040 Micro
CPU
i7-6700T
Graphics
HD 530
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Off-topic. This forum is only for laptops.
Hi,

Passing thru the forum I saw a few posts with grateful people quoting your name @RehabMan .
I have a Dell Optiplex 7040 Micro ( Bios menu like my precision laptop), as well with HD 530.
Can I post doubts here?

Thank you
 

Attachments

  • Optiplex 7040 Micro.jpg
    Optiplex 7040 Micro.jpg
    287 KB · Views: 12

UtterDisbelief

Moderator
Joined
Feb 13, 2012
Messages
5,908
Motherboard
ASRock B560M itx/ac - OC 0.6.8
CPU
i3-10320
Graphics
GT710 - 1920x1080
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. eMac
  2. iBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi,

Passing thru the forum I saw a few posts with grateful people quoting your name @RehabMan .
I have a Dell Optiplex 7040 Micro ( Bios menu like my precision laptop), as well with HD 530.
Can I post doubts here?

Thank you

Hi there.

@RehabMan hasn't been active on the site for nearly 2-years and we don't expect a return at present.

Please post about any problems, or guidance offered, in a new thread in the appropriate macOS version forum.

Or if you have a specific problem with hardware, then check our Forum/Post Installation in the desktops section.

:)
 
Top