Contribute
Register

[Fix] Resolve boot screen garble

Joined
Jan 20, 2012
Messages
78
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Gaming 7 Motherboard
CPU
i7 8700
Graphics
GTX 1060 6GB
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Air
so as of yesterday , mine fixed it's self somehow :/ Not sure what happened, but its been fixed.....
 
Joined
Sep 2, 2015
Messages
3
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-H87-HD3
CPU
Intel Core i7-4770
Graphics
Intel HD4600
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hi and thanks for supporting to all of us.
I have this problem with my mackintosh (the garble boot screen) and I think that my config.plist is right View attachment config.plist
I tried to do what you said about changing the BIOS settings (Legacy and UEFI at the same time) but everytime I do it I loose the clover bootloader (and in consequence, I can't boot the Mac OS X), so I only can use the "Only UEFI" boot option (I don't know if I can solve this, I'm really lost).
I also have put the patch like you said and there's no difference, but other than the boot option problem (to solve the boot screen garble), my mackintosh works properly. Do you know how to solve it?
Thanks in advance.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,728
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi and thanks for supporting to all of us.
I have this problem with my mackintosh (the garble boot screen) and I think that my config.plist is right View attachment 182704
I tried to do what you said about changing the BIOS settings (Legacy and UEFI at the same time) but everytime I do it I loose the clover bootloader (and in consequence, I can't boot the Mac OS X), so I only can use the "Only UEFI" boot option (I don't know if I can solve this, I'm really lost).
I also have put the patch like you said and there's no difference, but other than the boot option problem (to solve the boot screen garble), my mackintosh works properly. Do you know how to solve it?
Thanks in advance.

You need to enable CSM (sometimes bundled with legacy boot) but keep UEFI. And keep "UEFI first".
 
Joined
Sep 2, 2015
Messages
3
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-H87-HD3
CPU
Intel Core i7-4770
Graphics
Intel HD4600
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Okay so now I achieved having both at the same time (the UEFI and Legacy boot), I have the patch and i also put the UEFI first as you said, do I miss something? And referring to enabling the CSM, that is what I done now?
I still have the boot screen problem :/.
Thank you again
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,728
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Okay so now I achieved having both at the same time (the UEFI and Legacy boot), I have the patch and i also put the UEFI first as you said, do I miss something? And referring to enabling the CSM, that is what I done now?
I still have the boot screen problem :/.
Thank you again

The patch does not completely eliminate the glitch. Your expectations may be better than reality.
 
Joined
Sep 2, 2015
Messages
3
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-H87-HD3
CPU
Intel Core i7-4770
Graphics
Intel HD4600
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
It's true that it's just a little glitch without importance, thank you anyway :)
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2016
Messages
39
Motherboard
DELL Optiplex micro
CPU
i7 6700T
Graphics
intel HD 530
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks for this Patch. It saves my HD 530.

But it shows some defects at the top-left of the Figure below: right apple bar disappears, but still click-available.

Screen Shot 2016-04-05 at 3.29.04 PM.jpg
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,728
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks for this Patch. It saves my HD 530.

But it shows some defects at the top-left of the Figure below: right apple bar disappears, but still click-available.

...

Off-topic. This topic covers only the boot time glitch.
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2012
Messages
76
Motherboard
Lenovo G50-70, El Capitan (clover)
CPU
i5-4210U, 1.70GHz (Haswell ULT, 15W)
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 4400, 1366x768
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Works like a charm .. thank you @RehabMan:clap:
 
Top