Contribute
Register

[FIX] HD4200/HD4400/HD4600/HD5600 on 10.11+

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,691
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
That means everything is good right? When I boot the laptop without a external monitor I can get to the login screen, once I login, the screen flickers and is black after 4 seconds. Can I do something about that or do I need a external monitor everytime I need to use the laptop?

Try changing the refresh rate to something just under 60Hz (eg. 59Hz) using SwitchResX.
 
Joined
Dec 20, 2015
Messages
44
Motherboard
Dell XPS 9530 (Haswell)
CPU
Intel i7 4712HQ
Graphics
Intel HD 4600 / Nvidia GT750M ( 3840 x 2160 )
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Try changing the refresh rate to something just under 60Hz (eg. 59Hz) using SwitchResX.

Thanks. Got it almost. I can use 1680x945 but not 1920x1080. This happens when using HiDPI resolutions. The 48Hz for 1920x1080 is in HiDPI only.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,691
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks. Got it almost. I can use 1680x945 but not 1920x1080. This happens when using HiDPI resolutions. The 48Hz for 1920x1080 is in HiDPI only.

It involves creating a custom resolution in SwitchResX (or creating a display override file manually).
 
Joined
Dec 20, 2015
Messages
44
Motherboard
Dell XPS 9530 (Haswell)
CPU
Intel i7 4712HQ
Graphics
Intel HD 4600 / Nvidia GT750M ( 3840 x 2160 )
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
It involves creating a custom resolution in SwitchResX (or creating a display override file manually).

SwitchResX was not successful. I couldn't create a 1920x1080 with anything HiDPI. That exact resolution makes the screen flicker and most of the time unusable because it turns black.

I followed this tutorial with this file: View attachment 169099 as result. However, the display is still flickering. Am I missing something or is it just not possible to have 1920x1080? 1680x945 HiDPI works without flickering but is too small.

Here is my ioreg to be sure if you want to look: View attachment 169100. Also, for any reason, if you want to look at my clover folder again, here is the folder: View attachment 169101.

The good thing is that the kext is loaded and working:
View attachment 169102

Bad thing is that only low resolution works, when I use the HiDPI one on both 48Hz or 60Hz, the screen flickers:

View attachment 169103
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,691
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
SwitchResX was not successful. I couldn't create a 1920x1080 with anything HiDPI. That exact resolution makes the screen flicker and most of the time unusable because it turns black.

I followed this tutorial with this file: View attachment 169099 as result. However, the display is still flickering. Am I missing something or is it just not possible to have 1920x1080? 1680x945 HiDPI works without flickering but is too small.

Here is my ioreg to be sure if you want to look: View attachment 169100. Also, for any reason, if you want to look at my clover folder again, here is the folder: View attachment 169101.

The good thing is that the kext is loaded and working:
View attachment 169102

Bad thing is that only low resolution works, when I use the HiDPI one on both 48Hz or 60Hz, the screen flickers:

View attachment 169103

Make sure IOKit is patched correctly, DVMT-prealloc is set as required based on the framebuffer patch you're using.

Otherwise, no idea.
 
Joined
Dec 20, 2015
Messages
44
Motherboard
Dell XPS 9530 (Haswell)
CPU
Intel i7 4712HQ
Graphics
Intel HD 4600 / Nvidia GT750M ( 3840 x 2160 )
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Make sure IOKit is patched correctly, DVMT-prealloc is set as required based on the framebuffer patch you're using.

Otherwise, no idea.

I think IOKit is failed. Is there a tutorial or do I really need to re-install again?
 
Joined
Nov 25, 2010
Messages
41
Motherboard
Asus G771JM-DH71-CA
CPU
i7-4710HQ
Graphics
GTX 860M - HD4600
I have applied every edit regarding HDMI audio and cannot get it working for the life of me. I've done all the suggestions (renamed to HDAU, tried every patch w/Clover, added the layout-id to DSDT, etc. and there has been no difference)

HDMI Audio is an afterthought for me to be honest; I'd rather first solve the issue I'm having with OSX boot loop when any external displays are connected; If I "hotplug" the displays (let machine boot/reboot without display connected then connect them while OSX is loading) I have no problems, only when they are left connected during a cold boot or restart (and with both DP and HDMI connected or one or the other).

I have an Intel HD4600 working with FakePCIID.kext and FakePCIID_Intel_HD_Graphics.kext and the patch applied via Clover, boot garble patch and 9MB cursor patch and displays working beautiful.

Any help at all getting OSX to load without restarting while external devices are connected (cold boot) would be GREATLY appreciated. I've tried various patches and things to try and mess with the framebuffer but nothing has helped, but think this might have something to do with it, but not really certain how to change this to work in conjunction with having to use FakePCIID and FakePCIID_Intel_HD_Graphics.kext (Tried following guide here but makes no difference: http://www.tonymacx86.com/graphics/...0-hd4600-hd4000-hd3000-framebuffer-edits.html)

Once I get this working, I'll work on getting HDMI audio working (however, the two issues could potentially be related and solved at the same time)

I have native audio working via patched AppleHDA and Clover (via AppleHDA Patcher http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/files/file/496-applehda-patcher/) and again haven't been able to get HDMI Audio working, and both displays WILL work if connected durring boot, just not before.

Asus G771 w/1 HDMI and 1 DisplayPort connection, 0x05 for DP, 0x06 for HDMI.

Thanks again.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,691
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have applied every edit regarding HDMI audio and cannot get it working for the life of me. I've done all the suggestions (renamed to HDAU, tried every patch w/Clover, added the layout-id to DSDT, etc. and there has been no difference)

HDMI Audio is an afterthought for me to be honest; I'd rather first solve the issue I'm having with OSX boot loop when any external displays are connected; If I "hotplug" the displays (let machine boot/reboot without display connected then connect them while OSX is loading) I have no problems, only when they are left connected during a cold boot or restart (and with both DP and HDMI connected or one or the other).

I have an Intel HD4600 working with FakePCIID.kext and FakePCIID_Intel_HD_Graphics.kext and the patch applied via Clover, boot garble patch and 9MB cursor patch and displays working beautiful.

Any help at all getting OSX to load without restarting while external devices are connected (cold boot) would be GREATLY appreciated. I've tried various patches and things to try and mess with the framebuffer but nothing has helped, but think this might have something to do with it, but not really certain how to change this to work in conjunction with having to use FakePCIID and FakePCIID_Intel_HD_Graphics.kext (Tried following guide here but makes no difference: http://www.tonymacx86.com/graphics/...0-hd4600-hd4000-hd3000-framebuffer-edits.html)

Once I get this working, I'll work on getting HDMI audio working (however, the two issues could potentially be related and solved at the same time)

I have native audio working via patched AppleHDA and Clover (via AppleHDA Patcher http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/files/file/496-applehda-patcher/) and again haven't been able to get HDMI Audio working, and both displays WILL work if connected durring boot, just not before.

Asus G771 w/1 HDMI and 1 DisplayPort connection, 0x05 for DP, 0x06 for HDMI.

Thanks again.

HDMI audio requirements are covered in the FAQ: http://www.tonymacx86.com/el-capita...faq-read-first-laptop-frequent-questions.html
 
Top