Contribute
Register

Fix for Firmware Update Required for Mac Pro 5,1

MacMan

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 2, 2010
Messages
8,187
Motherboard
ASUS ROG STRIX Z370-E GAMING - 1601 - UEFI
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Apple during the High Sierra Beta released a firmware update for the Mac Pro 5,1 to allow it to boot APFS volumes. The installer checks for this version and will display a message like this:

HS Firware Update.jpeg

To get around this you need to edit your Clover config.plist to contain the updated version information.

Under SMBIOS change BiosReleaseDate and BiosVersion to the following:

Code:
       <key>BiosReleaseDate</key>
       <string>08/08/17</string>
       <key>BiosVersion</key>
       <string>MP51.88Z.0084.B00.1708080528</string>
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2013
Messages
131
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Ultra Gaming
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
GTX 1080 + UHD 630
Mac
iMac, MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
You should not hard code these settings into config.plist but better let always latest Clover auto detect correct bios version
 

Going Bald

Moderator
Joined
Aug 14, 2010
Messages
22,401
Motherboard
GA-X58A-UD7 Rev.1 BIOS F7
CPU
Intel Xeon W3670
Graphics
RX580
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
iMac
You should not hard code these settings into config.plist but better let always latest Clover auto detect correct bios version
And just how is Clover going to do this when my PC has no Mac BIOS at all? No way is it going to auto-detect a Mac BIOS version on a PC-Mac / Hackintosh.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,415
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
And just how is Clover going to do this when my PC has no Mac BIOS at all? No way is it going to auto-detect a Mac BIOS version on a PC-Mac / Hackintosh.
Clover will provide the data if you omit it.
The data is matched with your choice of mac model in config.plist/SMBIOS/ProductName.
 

Going Bald

Moderator
Joined
Aug 14, 2010
Messages
22,401
Motherboard
GA-X58A-UD7 Rev.1 BIOS F7
CPU
Intel Xeon W3670
Graphics
RX580
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
iMac
Clover will provide the data if you omit it.
The data is matched with your choice of mac model in config.plist/SMBIOS/ProductName.
So Clover developers have updated the BIOS version to eliminate the need for the manual change for a Mac Pro 5,1 definition in the latest version of Clover? Last download from Sourceforge I got (r4220) still gives me the BIOS update required when I try to install on the X58A.
 
Joined
Jul 24, 2015
Messages
2,334
Motherboard
MSI H81i
CPU
i5-4570
Graphics
RX 580
So Clover developers have updated the BIOS version to eliminate the need for the manual change for a Mac Pro 5,1 definition in the latest version of Clover? Last download from Sourceforge I got (r4220) still gives me the BIOS update required when I try to install on the X58A.
They certainly have, to the version in post #1, along with the FirmwareFeatures value.
 

aol

Joined
Apr 14, 2011
Messages
512
Motherboard
GA-Z370-HD3P
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 570 + GTX 1060
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
If you look in your clover boot log (one way is to open Clover Configurator, and under tools, click Boot.log then click Generate log), you'll see something that looks like:

2:158 0:000 Using ProductName from config
2:158 0:000 ProductName: iMac14,2
2:158 0:000 Using latest BiosVersion from clover
2:158 0:000 BiosVersion: IM142.88Z.0123.B00.1708211454
2:158 0:000 BiosReleaseDate: 08/21/2017
2:158 0:000 Using FirmwareFeatures from clover
2:158 0:000 FirmwareFeatures: 0xE00FE137
2:158 0:000 Using FirmwareFeaturesMask from clover
2:158 0:000 FirmwareFeaturesMask: 0xFF1FFF3F

So yes Clover auto-generates this stuff. I don't understand why clover on some systems is not auto-generating the latest. One culprit would be an older Clover. Clover needs to be updated periodically simply to keep up-to-date with the latest bios/firmware versions for each SMBIOS. I gather you can override this with a setting in config.plist effectively telling clover not to auto-generate, but clearly not something most people would want to do.
 

Going Bald

Moderator
Joined
Aug 14, 2010
Messages
22,401
Motherboard
GA-X58A-UD7 Rev.1 BIOS F7
CPU
Intel Xeon W3670
Graphics
RX580
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
iMac
The values are here
Never mind - installation of latest Clover = no change in BIOS version. Run Clover Configurator latest version to select MacPro5,1 system definition did the trick.
 
Top