Contribute
Register

Fix for Firmware Update Required for Mac Pro 5,1

MacMan

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 2, 2010
Messages
8,456
Motherboard
ASUS TUF Z390-PRO GAMING - 2606 - UEFI
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Apple during the High Sierra Beta released a firmware update for the Mac Pro 5,1 to allow it to boot APFS volumes. The installer checks for this version and will display a message like this:

HS Firware Update.jpeg

To get around this you need to edit your Clover config.plist to contain the updated version information.

Under SMBIOS change BiosReleaseDate and BiosVersion to the following:

Code:
       <key>BiosReleaseDate</key>
       <string>08/08/17</string>
       <key>BiosVersion</key>
       <string>MP51.88Z.0084.B00.1708080528</string>
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2013
Messages
128
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Ultra Gaming
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
MSI Radeon RX 5700XT Evoke + UHD 630
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
You should not hard code these settings into config.plist but better let always latest Clover auto detect correct bios version
 

Going Bald

Moderator
Joined
Aug 14, 2010
Messages
23,225
Motherboard
GA-X58A-UD7-F7
CPU
W3670
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
You should not hard code these settings into config.plist but better let always latest Clover auto detect correct bios version
And just how is Clover going to do this when my PC has no Mac BIOS at all? No way is it going to auto-detect a Mac BIOS version on a PC-Mac / Hackintosh.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,727
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
And just how is Clover going to do this when my PC has no Mac BIOS at all? No way is it going to auto-detect a Mac BIOS version on a PC-Mac / Hackintosh.

Clover will provide the data if you omit it.
The data is matched with your choice of mac model in config.plist/SMBIOS/ProductName.
 

Going Bald

Moderator
Joined
Aug 14, 2010
Messages
23,225
Motherboard
GA-X58A-UD7-F7
CPU
W3670
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Clover will provide the data if you omit it.
The data is matched with your choice of mac model in config.plist/SMBIOS/ProductName.
So Clover developers have updated the BIOS version to eliminate the need for the manual change for a Mac Pro 5,1 definition in the latest version of Clover? Last download from Sourceforge I got (r4220) still gives me the BIOS update required when I try to install on the X58A.
 
Joined
Jul 24, 2015
Messages
2,265
Motherboard
MSI H81i
CPU
i5-4570
Graphics
RX 580
So Clover developers have updated the BIOS version to eliminate the need for the manual change for a Mac Pro 5,1 definition in the latest version of Clover? Last download from Sourceforge I got (r4220) still gives me the BIOS update required when I try to install on the X58A.
They certainly have, to the version in post #1, along with the FirmwareFeatures value.
 

aol

Joined
Apr 14, 2011
Messages
503
Motherboard
GA-Z370-HD3P
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
If you look in your clover boot log (one way is to open Clover Configurator, and under tools, click Boot.log then click Generate log), you'll see something that looks like:

2:158 0:000 Using ProductName from config
2:158 0:000 ProductName: iMac14,2
2:158 0:000 Using latest BiosVersion from clover
2:158 0:000 BiosVersion: IM142.88Z.0123.B00.1708211454
2:158 0:000 BiosReleaseDate: 08/21/2017
2:158 0:000 Using FirmwareFeatures from clover
2:158 0:000 FirmwareFeatures: 0xE00FE137
2:158 0:000 Using FirmwareFeaturesMask from clover
2:158 0:000 FirmwareFeaturesMask: 0xFF1FFF3F

So yes Clover auto-generates this stuff. I don't understand why clover on some systems is not auto-generating the latest. One culprit would be an older Clover. Clover needs to be updated periodically simply to keep up-to-date with the latest bios/firmware versions for each SMBIOS. I gather you can override this with a setting in config.plist effectively telling clover not to auto-generate, but clearly not something most people would want to do.
 

Going Bald

Moderator
Joined
Aug 14, 2010
Messages
23,225
Motherboard
GA-X58A-UD7-F7
CPU
W3670
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
The values are here
Never mind - installation of latest Clover = no change in BIOS version. Run Clover Configurator latest version to select MacPro5,1 system definition did the trick.
 
Top