Contribute
Register

Fix for failure NVIDIA Web Driver on High Sierra, black screen, panics.

Joined
Mar 13, 2015
Messages
53
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-Gaming 5 Motherboard
CPU
Intel Core i7-6700K 4.0GHz (Clover)
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970 4095 MB
Mobile Phone
iOS
Try installing again but when it comes to setting up the network select the This computer does not connect to the Internet option.
You can set up the network once the OS has installed.

Unfortunately it has the exact same effect. After rebooting I am able to log in, but only for a short while and I get a freeze and a reboot :/
 

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
21,775
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
HD 4600
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Unfortunately it has the exact same effect. After rebooting I am able to log in, but only for a short while and I get a freeze and a reboot :/
nv_disable=1 ?
Safe mode ?
 
Joined
Mar 13, 2015
Messages
53
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-Gaming 5 Motherboard
CPU
Intel Core i7-6700K 4.0GHz (Clover)
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970 4095 MB
Mobile Phone
iOS
nv_disable=1 ?
Safe mode ?

Heh, nv_disable=1 does get me into the desktop and it seems to be working.

Previously when I got this far I installed the web drivers, but as I understand now I should install Lilu and NvidiaGraphicsFixup.kext and then go for web drivers?
 

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
21,775
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
HD 4600
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Heh, nv_disable=1 does get me into the desktop and it seems to be working.

Previously when I got this far I installed the web drivers, but as I understand now I should install Lilu and NvidiaGraphicsFixup.kext and then go for web drivers?
BIOS - Disable Integrated graphics - Set PEG as Primary
Use a digital connection - DVI or HDMI - VGA is not supported.
Boot with nv_disable=1
May need to update Clover
Install web drivers
Update web drivers to ensure that you have the correct version.
Config.plist - Do not inject Intel or Nvidia graphics and no ig-platform-id
Config.plist - Disable SIP completely - CsrActiveConfig 0x67
Edit config.plist - NvidiaWeb = true as per Link
May need to emulate native NVRAM - Problem 6
Remove nv_disable=1 from config.plist
May need to install Lilu.kext , LiluFriend and NvidiaGraphicsFixup.kext

Potential Problems :
HDMI 2.0 is not supported - Use HDMI 1.4 (or lower)
If your graphics card has more than one output of the type that you are using then try another one.
Black Screen with MacPro 6,1 or iMac 15 or iMac 17 System Definition
 
Joined
Mar 13, 2015
Messages
53
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-Gaming 5 Motherboard
CPU
Intel Core i7-6700K 4.0GHz (Clover)
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970 4095 MB
Mobile Phone
iOS
BIOS - Disable Integrated graphics - Set PEG as Primary
Use a digital connection - DVI or HDMI - VGA is not supported.
Boot with nv_disable=1
May need to update Clover
Install web drivers
Update web drivers to ensure that you have the correct version.
Config.plist - Do not inject Intel or Nvidia graphics and no ig-platform-id
Config.plist - Disable SIP completely - CsrActiveConfig 0x67
Edit config.plist - NvidiaWeb = true as per Link
May need to emulate native NVRAM - Problem 6
Remove nv_disable=1 from config.plist
May need to install Lilu.kext , LiluFriend and NvidiaGraphicsFixup.kext

Potential Problems :
HDMI 2.0 is not supported - Use HDMI 1.4 (or lower)
If your graphics card has more than one output of the type that you are using then try another one.
Black Screen with MacPro 6,1 or iMac 15 or iMac 17 System Definition
That all worked! Thanks P1LGRIM, now to get my sound working!
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2016
Messages
11
Motherboard
msi h170m a pro
Graphics
GTX970
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
I can’t even go in recovery mode.... it restarts...
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2011
Messages
36
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Thanks for this guide. Got mine updated to High Sierra, and got the nvidia drivers installed. However, I can only use one of my two monitors. If I have 2 plugged in, it works up until the login screen, but both monitors turn black as soon as I log in. Any ideas guys? Thanks
I think I fixed the dual monitor issue I was having? For some reason, one or both of the monitors would flip to "Scaled" resolution when I plug it in, which in turn blacks out the monitors. I found that if both are set to "Default for Display", both monitors would work for me.


Solved! Bear in mind for the following post that my SMBIOS is iMac17,1 and has 3 monitors all running over Displayport...

I fixed my graphics problems! I'm not sure what combination of solutions worked here (or whether it was just one), but I tried Lilu+NvidiaGraphicsFixup with EmuVariable64, I tried manually patching the AppleGraphicsDisplayPolicy kext, then I tried the AGDPfix.app solution. It was by this point that I could get to the desktop from boot in full resolution on one screen only. Trying combinations of other screens resulted in non-deterministic booting and non-deterministic screen blackouts. Odd.

Obviously, only 1 out of 3 screens working isn't good enough. What managed to make all 3 work however was altering the Windows 8/10 Support option in my BIOS from Other OS to Windows 8/10. This then toggles a flag which makes the CSM Support (Compatibility Support Module) option available. I set this to Disabled.

Viola! Three working monitors at full 2560x1440 resolution, deterministic booting with boot monitor and login monitor not changing, and the boot process itself is now in full resolution too.

I'm going to go back and remove/undo the changes made (other than CSM) to see exactly what minimum viable configuration works here.

Thanks for your help everyone!
I tried the CSM Support but it didn't work for me. Thanks for the suggestion though, I gave up the other day when I couldn't get my second monitor to work. But when I read your post, I decided to play around with it some more until I finally got it to work
 

gyf

Joined
Oct 30, 2013
Messages
14
CPU
i5-7600K
Graphics
EVGA GTX1050 2G GAMING ACX 2.0 1354-1455MHz/7008MHz 128bit D5
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
Android
i need execute "touch /Volumes/HDD/Library/Extensions/" and "touch /Volumes/HDD/System/Library/Extensions/" in the recovery mode everyday before i start my machine.
otherwise the it will panics or black screen.

here is the panics info.
 

Attachments

Joined
Feb 4, 2013
Messages
17
Motherboard
Asrock Z97 extreme4
CPU
i7 3,5Ghz Kic2duo
Graphics
gtx 760, gtx titan x
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
SE
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thanks to this guide i have my hack running on 10.12 with my 1060 card. But i have 1 last weird issue.

If u boot normally i get stuck in a rebootloop. But when boot with -v it boots normally... any idea..?
My issue exactly.
Weird.
Must be a bug in the kexts.
Mobo is Asrock Z97 extreme 4
 
Joined
Feb 4, 2013
Messages
17
Motherboard
Asrock Z97 extreme4
CPU
i7 3,5Ghz Kic2duo
Graphics
gtx 760, gtx titan x
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
SE
Mobile Phone
iOS
update:
I tried to make it standard, verbose mode,
by configuring it like that with clover configurator.

even then I have to deselect and select it again at the clover boot screen!

ghost in the machine?
 
Top