Contribute
Register

FIX for boot hangs after BIOS update (ACPI PATCH)

Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
754
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KS
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. iBook
  3. iMac
  4. Power Mac
  5. PowerBook
  6. Quadra
  7. SE/30
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi, here is a much more correct solution. Because the STAS variable need controls other device AWAC. Tested on Z370 Gigabyte AORUS GAMING 7-OP and Intel NUC 8. Only unpack and copy this SSDT table to EFI/CLOVER/ACPI/patched.

Do I need this patch on my mobo? I'm about to flash to F13 Update 2 -microcode patches at BIOS. Please and thank you for any advice. My build info/profile is up to date.
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2EFI ACPI Patched Contents.png
    Screen Shot 2EFI ACPI Patched Contents.png
    25.7 KB · Views: 210
  • config.plist
    10.4 KB · Views: 177
Joined
Dec 3, 2018
Messages
1
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Z370 Gaming 7
CPU
i5- 8600K
Graphics
RX-580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi, here is a much more correct solution. Because the STAS variable need controls other device AWAC. Tested on Z370 Gigabyte AORUS GAMING 7-OP and Intel NUC 8. Only unpack and copy this SSDT table to EFI/CLOVER/ACPI/patched.

Worked perfectly with Gigabyte Z370 Gaming 7 and F13. Thanks!!!
 
Joined
May 11, 2011
Messages
1,168
Motherboard
Asrock B365M Phantom Gaming
CPU
i5-9600KF
Graphics
RX 580
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Do I need this patch on my mobo? I'm about to flash to F13 Update 2 -microcode patches at BIOS. Please and thank you for any advice. My build info/profile is up to date.

Yes with every 2019 Bios Update.
 
Joined
May 11, 2011
Messages
1,168
Motherboard
Asrock B365M Phantom Gaming
CPU
i5-9600KF
Graphics
RX 580
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
You’re welcome
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2018
Messages
310
Motherboard
ASRock B360-HDV
CPU
i5-8400
Graphics
RX 470
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi, here is a much more correct solution. Because the STAS variable need controls other device AWAC. Tested on Z370 Gigabyte AORUS GAMING 7-OP and Intel NUC 8. Only unpack and copy this SSDT table to EFI/CLOVER/ACPI/patched.

Hi your way is pretty clean, my way is same purpose to set STAS=one, but not that clean, so i swapped to your way, thanks a lot:

 
Joined
Nov 3, 2018
Messages
310
Motherboard
ASRock B360-HDV
CPU
i5-8400
Graphics
RX 470
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@furter added a if to the ssdt, if the OS is Darwin, initialize STAS=One. if the OS is something else, default to BIOS settings.

Code:
DefinitionBlock ("", "SSDT", 1, "HACK", "SET-STAS", 0x00000000)
{
    External (STAS, IntObj)

    Scope (_SB)
    {
        Method (_INI, 0, NotSerialized)  // _INI: Initialize
        {
            If (_OSI ("Darwin"))
            {
                STAS = One
            }
        }
    }
}
 

Attachments

  • SSDT-SET-STAS-Darwin.aml
    80 bytes · Views: 282
Joined
Jun 25, 2011
Messages
8
Motherboard
Shuttle SZ68R5
CPU
i7
Graphics
RX 560
I also thought about it but I don't know if it is not needed for other systems like old Windows or Linux, BSD. I run only Mac OS.
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2019
Messages
36
Motherboard
Asus Z390 Tuf Pro Gaming
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
hello
Thanks for your efforts
i am beginner with hackintosh
my Mobo asus z390 tuf pro gaming with last bios version :banghead:
I added the patch by plist edit pro but the same
Still Boot stuck is there any other reason ?
 

Attachments

  • 20190625_055647.jpg
    20190625_055647.jpg
    2.4 MB · Views: 268
  • 20190625_055836.jpg
    20190625_055836.jpg
    4.6 MB · Views: 294
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 4, 2019
Messages
1
Motherboard
Asus TUF Z390-PRO GAMING (WI-FI)
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
Vega 56
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@Stargovic
I also have the ASUS TUF Z390-Pro Gaming (WiFi) and had the same issues after updating my BIOS to the latest version 2417.
First check all BIOS settings. The update resets all settings to default. Don't restore a previous profile, it's not compatible with the newest v2417.
If you're able to boot into Clover boot screen, then choose UEFI Shell and type the following commands:

map fs*

Find your EFI partition. My partition was fs1.

map fs1
fs1:
cd /EFI/CLOVER/
edit config.plist


Find section Patches and insert:

Code:
<dict>
        <key>Patches</key>
        <array>
                <dict>
                        <key>Comment</key>
                        <string>ACPI Patch by mattystonnie</string>
                        <key>Enabled</key>
                        <false/>
                        <key>Find</key>
                        <data>
                        oAqTU1RBUwE=
                        </data>
                        <key>Replace</key>
                        <data>
                        oAqRCv8L//8=
                        </data>
                </dict>
        </array>
</dict>

Save with F2 and close with F3.
After a reboot you should be able to boot into your macOS.
 
Last edited:
Top