Contribute
Register

FIX for boot hangs after BIOS update (ACPI PATCH)

Joined
Aug 10, 2019
Messages
26
Motherboard
ASUS Tuf z390 gaming plus WiFi
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
I’ve removed and added the patches, with no change. I’ve gone back and reset the MoBo to optimized settings then enabled/disabled per the Mojave guide. Still it stops with the bar full and won’t proceed. Not sure what to do next.
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2013
Messages
207
Motherboard
ASUS TUF Z390M-Pro Gaming WiFi AC
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
UHD 630 - RX 580
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
eMac, iBook, iMac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
Android
I’ve removed and added the patches, with no change. I’ve gone back and reset the MoBo to optimized settings then enabled/disabled per the Mojave guide. Still it stops with the bar full and won’t proceed. Not sure what to do next.
What BIOS v. are you using?? after I installed bios v2417 I can no longer boot into BIOS with a mac formatted drive connected to the mobo, I'm going nuts with this
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2019
Messages
26
Motherboard
ASUS Tuf z390 gaming plus WiFi
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
What BIOS v. are you using?? after I installed bios v2417 I can no longer boot into BIOS with a mac formatted drive connected to the mobo, I'm going nuts with this
My BIOS is 2203. Oddly enough I tried it one more time this morning and it worked. Have no idea why.... possibly because I took clover off the USB and redid the patch. But now it doesn’t see my SSD. The MoBo sees it but the Mac installer doesn’t show it. Gonna try and reformat the drive when I get home and hope for the best.
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2019
Messages
8
Motherboard
Dell Inspiron 7580
CPU
i7-8565U
Graphics
MX150
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
I was facing the same problem with Dell Inspiron 7580 (i7-8565U CPU @ 1.80GHz, Socket 1356 FCBGA):
after BIOS update 1.7.0 --> 1.8.0 I could not boot anymore and got stuck at:
"apfs_module_start: 1279 load: com.apple.filesystem.apfs, v748.51.0, 740.77.0, 2018/06/21".

The ACPI patch decribed at the begin of this post solved my problem.

Many many thanks I was just about to give up, you saved the laptop of my dauther!!!
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2019
Messages
1
Motherboard
ASUS 390
CPU
core i9
Graphics
2070 rtx
thank you very much. Z390-F now starting
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2019
Messages
26
Motherboard
ASUS Tuf z390 gaming plus WiFi
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
I've put the patch into a file that you can merge into you config.plist using plistbuddy. After unzipping the file the command in Terminal would look something like this:

Bash:
/usr/libexec/PlistBuddy -c "Merge ACPI_Patch :ACPI:DSDT:" /Volumes/EFI/EFI/CLOVER/config.plist
Could you help. I’m getting errors. Is there another step that I’m missing? The file is on my desktop and I’ve directed terminal to find it there. I think. I downloaded the .zip file but it doesn’t show as a zip on my desktop so I can’t unzip it. Perhaps that’s the problem?
 

Attachments

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
12,486
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-Clover
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD530 + GTX 950m 1920 x 1080
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
Android
Could you help. I’m getting errors. Is there another step that I’m missing? The file is on my desktop and I’ve directed terminal to find it there. I think. I downloaded the .zip file but it doesn’t show as a zip on my desktop so I can’t unzip it. Perhaps that’s the problem?
you will need to mount your EFI first
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2019
Messages
26
Motherboard
ASUS Tuf z390 gaming plus WiFi
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
you will need to mount your EFI first
Thanks for the reply. In the clover it says my EFI is “mounted” at least the one on my SDD is. Is that the right one?
 

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
12,486
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-Clover
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD530 + GTX 950m 1920 x 1080
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
Android
Thanks for the reply. In the clover it says my EFI is “mounted” at least the one on my SDD is. Is that the right one?
maybe it would be easier for you to copy and paste it from the file to your config.plist using xcode or plisteditpro
 
Top