First time installing Mac OS X

Discussion in 'Snow Leopard Laptop Support' started by x182x, Jul 11, 2012.

  1. x182x

    x182x

    Joined:
    May 4, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Mobo:
    ASUS K53SC (Laptop)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5 2430M @ 2.40GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel(R) HD Graphics 3000 & NVIDIA GeForce GT 520MX
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jul 11, 2012 at 4:23 AM #1
    x182x

    x182x

    Joined:
    May 4, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Mobo:
    ASUS K53SC (Laptop)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5 2430M @ 2.40GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel(R) HD Graphics 3000 & NVIDIA GeForce GT 520MX
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Hi,
    I have a few quick questions before starting the installation proccess of Mac OS X on my laptop...
    My laptop specs are:
    ASUS X53SC (or K53SC, different code but apparently the same model)
    - Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2430M CPU @ 2.40GHz
    - 4GB DDR3 RAM
    - 750GB HDD
    - Intel(R) HD Graphics 3000
    - NVIDIA GeForce GT 520MX
    The HDD has three partitions:
    1.- Win7 64-bit (195 GB, NTFS)
    2.- EMPTY (Reserved for Mac OS X) (100 GB, NTFS)
    3.- Data (405 GB, NTFS)
    NOTE: The idea is to Dual-Boot Win7 and Mac OS X.
    I've done some research and I do know the NVIDIA Graphics Card won't work, but I still want to try and make it work with the build-in Intel Graphics Card.
    Finally, my questions are:
    - I already have Windows 7 64-bit installed on it, can I install Mac OS X without formatting??
    - Do I have any risks of lossing my data in my partitions 1 and 3??
    - If after all the installation does not work and I want to go back to what I previously had, I only need to format my partition 2, right??

    P.D.: Related site: http://www.osx86.net/10-7-lion/15501-installed-mac-osx-lion-asus-k53sc-work-fine.html
     
  2. x182x

    x182x

    Joined:
    May 4, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Mobo:
    ASUS K53SC (Laptop)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5 2430M @ 2.40GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel(R) HD Graphics 3000 & NVIDIA GeForce GT 520MX
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jul 11, 2012 at 5:56 PM #2
    x182x

    x182x

    Joined:
    May 4, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Mobo:
    ASUS K53SC (Laptop)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5 2430M @ 2.40GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel(R) HD Graphics 3000 & NVIDIA GeForce GT 520MX
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    UP!
     
  3. ReallyFantastic

    ReallyFantastic

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Messages:
    233
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-P67A-D3-B3
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5-2500K
    Graphics:
    Sapphire Radeon HD 6850
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Jul 11, 2012 at 5:58 PM #3
    ReallyFantastic

    ReallyFantastic

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Messages:
    233
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-P67A-D3-B3
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5-2500K
    Graphics:
    Sapphire Radeon HD 6850
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Unfortunately, no. On this site, we only support tonymacx86's tools, and those tools require that you install Mac OS X on a reformatted hard drive. So you would have to erase Windows from your hard drive first.
     
  4. x182x

    x182x

    Joined:
    May 4, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Mobo:
    ASUS K53SC (Laptop)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5 2430M @ 2.40GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel(R) HD Graphics 3000 & NVIDIA GeForce GT 520MX
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jul 11, 2012 at 10:19 PM #4
    x182x

    x182x

    Joined:
    May 4, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Mobo:
    ASUS K53SC (Laptop)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5 2430M @ 2.40GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel(R) HD Graphics 3000 & NVIDIA GeForce GT 520MX
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    But if I use iBoot, then my Win7 partition wouldn't be touched while installing Mac OS X and the only thing I have to do after the Mac OS X installation is reinstall Windows Bootloader to log into my Win7 partition.

    Right :? ??
     
  5. ReallyFantastic

    ReallyFantastic

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Messages:
    233
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-P67A-D3-B3
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5-2500K
    Graphics:
    Sapphire Radeon HD 6850
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Jul 11, 2012 at 10:50 PM #5
    ReallyFantastic

    ReallyFantastic

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Messages:
    233
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-P67A-D3-B3
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5-2500K
    Graphics:
    Sapphire Radeon HD 6850
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Not exactly. Since you already have Windows installed, your hard drive uses the MBR partition table. Mac OS X doesn't support the MBR partition table, only the GUID partition table. To change the partition table of the hard drive, you have to reformat it entirely from the Mac OS X installer.
     
  6. jester969

    jester969

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Messages:
    3,752
    Mobo:
    GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3
    CPU:
    i5-2500K
    Graphics:
    MSI GTS 250
    Jul 11, 2012 at 10:53 PM #6
    jester969

    jester969

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Messages:
    3,752
    Mobo:
    GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3
    CPU:
    i5-2500K
    Graphics:
    MSI GTS 250
    The Windows HDD is formatted in MBR most likely. OS X requires GPT (GUID).
     

Share This Page