GTX 680
Mac
  1. 0
Classic Mac
  1. 0
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello everyone,

Brand new member to the forum and I need some help from the GURUS!
I've been planning on upgrading my PC from an AMD based system to Intel for a while now, and would like to dual boot with Mountain Lion.
It's my first time, please be gentle.

Current System Specs
Video Card: EVGA GTX680 02G-P4-2680-KR
Processor: AMD Phenom II X4 970 Black Edition overclocked to 3.8Ghz >> IvyBridge i5 3570K, maybe i7 3770K?
Memory: 8Gigs G.SKILL DDR2 1066 >> ?
Storage: CRUCIAL M4 512GB SSD + 750Gb WD @7200RPM
Operating System: Windows 7 64-bit
Power Supply: 700 watts
Motherboard: Asus M4A785-M >> ?
Case: APEX TX‑381‑C

I've seen people recommend the ASUS Maximus V Gene, but after researching it a little it seems like there are some issues getting features to work. I really like how easily the board should overclock, but set-up seemed more in depth for my first go at this than I was looking for...

General consensus seems to be GIGABYTE is the easiest out of the box. Which is good for me since I'm a n00b when it comes to building a Hackintosh and MacOS in general.

So I need some advice. I'm a PC Gamer and I also do some 3D Modelling, Photo Editing and light Video/Audio Editing.
I want to build a machine that will take advantage of an unlocked IvyBridge CPU (overclocking) and be on the easier end of setting up.
So my questions are:

1) What mATX Motherboard that requires minimal set-up and still supports powerful overclocking (CPU, Mem, etc...) do you guys recommend? I want as many (or all) Mountain Lion features to work, if possible.

2) It didn't appear there were any requirements for specific brands of memory. Is that correct? Is there a recommended brand? Probably looking around 16Gigs DDR3 1600, the lower latency the better!