Graphics
MSI R9 280X
Mac
  1. 0
Classic Mac
  1. 0
Mobile Phone
  1. 0
Thanks to all the posters on the tonymacx86 forums for all the useful info and inspirations that helped me with my build. I'm not a computer pro and this was my first build apart from a simple linux/atom based home server so this was a lot of fun to make.

The aim was to build a replacement for my iMac with more up to date specs for use as a work/gaming/general purpose machine. This should be something reasonably powerful but quiet and efficient on a medium budget. Also wanted to keep the outside as unmodded as possible for a stock look. I picked up the case a while ago for around £30 on eBay, slightly scratched up and stripped of useful parts and also with gunk from a leaky cooler on the insides but otherwise ok. I then proceeded to over-enthusiastically rip out the rest of the components (then lost the useful ones like the front panel cable, floor panel and hard drive cage in a clearout) before it sat beside my desk for months making me feel guilty until finally doing something with it.

The build was based on Chaosdesigns simple G5 case mod.

Components used

• G5 early 2005 model
  • Gigabyte Z87X-DH3 motherboard
  • i5 4570 CPU
  • Crucial BLT2CP4G3D1608DT1TX0CEU Ballistix Tactical RAM (2 x 4GB)
  • Seasonic G series 550W PSU
  • Drives
    • 2.5" Crucial M500 120GB SSD (OS X main drive)
    • 2.5" Hitachi HGST Travelstar 7200rpm hard drive (storage)
    • 2.5" Seagate Barracuda 5400rpm hard drive (Windows 8 drive for dual-boot)

• MSI R9 280X GPU
  • TP-Link TL-WN881ND PCI WiFi adaptor
  • GBU521 USB Bluetooth adaptor
  • Custom G5 front panel cable http://g5atxcables.weebly.com/mods.html
  • Cooling - 2X Gelid Silent 14 PWM fans, Gelid Tranquillo Rev.2 CPU cooler with 120mm PWM fan
  • Miscellaneous - aluminium 2.5" drive bracket, AOC i2369vm 23" monitor, Samsung SE208 USB DVD-RW drive, USB card reader

Work done

- Removed all G5 parts, cleaned, and repaired a bent leg