I5-6500
Graphics
GeForce GTX 750 Ti
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi everyone,

This is my first build, ever. I have a mid-2012 retina MBP and the battery will need replacing soon. It is hard for me to go a few days without a computer so I am not considering building a hackintosh.

I am interested in staying with the i7 processor because my daily driver uses the i7. I do not think I need the i7-6700k because I will not do any over clocking. I may not even need the i7?:crazy::?:

Right now, I would stick with the integrated graphics and maybe upgrade to a discrete GPU later.

All of the hardware was found on the buyer's guide.

Motherboard: GA-H170N-WIFI $114
RAM: Crucial Budget 16gb $72
CPU: i7-6700 $298
SSD: Samsung 850 EVO 250 2x$91=$182
PSU: Corsair CS 550 $80
WiFi/BT: BCM94360CD with adapter $60
Case: BitFenix Phenom $75

Total: $881

Since this is my first build, I really don't know if there is anything else I need. So, do I need anything else, like cables for connecting the SSDs?

Could I bring the price down?

Will the integrated graphics allow for dual display?

Thanks for the help!

The SSD sata cables come in the motherboard package. You'll have plenty.
If you won't be doing things like FCP X video editing you could save some cash by
going with the i5-6500. Saves you about $100. The 6500 will be almost as good as
the i7 for gaming and general purpose use.

The SSD sata cables come in the motherboard package. You'll have plenty.
If you won't be doing things like FCP X video editing you could save some cash by
going with the i5-6500. Saves you about $100. The 6500 will be almost as good as
the i7 for gaming and general purpose use.

Thank you. It has been over 4 years, I think, since I've done any FCP work so the 6500 will probably be fine.

CPU: i5-6500 $205
PSU: Corsair CS 550 $80-$10 rebate=$70

Updated total $778

Thanks for the help. Here is where the build stands now.

Motherboard: GA-H170N-WIFI $114