Firestudio tube not recognized by custom built hackintosh

Discussion in 'Music' started by tarakah, Feb 15, 2015.

  1. tarakah

    tarakah

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Motherboard:
    mavericks
    CPU:
    i7 4770k
    Graphics:
    asus nvidia 6600 gtx0
    Feb 15, 2015 at 4:13 PM #1
    tarakah

    tarakah

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Motherboard:
    mavericks
    CPU:
    i7 4770k
    Graphics:
    asus nvidia 6600 gtx0
    Hello to everyone,

    I have built a system according to the tony mac guide with mavericks 10.9.2

    Mobo: Gigabyte H87MD3H
    CPU: i7 4770k
    HD: SSD samsung 128 G
    Gpu: Gforce 660 GTX 2G Vram

    Post installation with multibeast was really simple with only trim for the SSD, Alc892 for audio, and the Nvidia GTX web driver which left me with no complaint.

    Everything is going good thanks to the help of the forum and all of the community trying to fix things all the time.

    Now I have updated the mavericks with no problem to 10.9.5 via the combo udpate.

    I have connected an audio interface, Presonus Firestudio Tube via firewire, with the clean install of the universal drivers 1.7.2 (meaning tried old ones repaired permissions and cleaned vram all according to the book to put the new ones).

    The audio interface is not recognized by the system meaning that unknown device is connected to the fw. And of course the audio interface is not synchronizing and not usable.

    I have a dual boot and I am running normally the system and the firestudio tube on win 7.

    Does anyone have any suggestion or anticipated the problem or something similar?:banghead:
     

    Attached Files:

    • Screen Shot 2015-02-15 at 18.21.01.png  (27.2 KB, 51 views)
  2. SteffanC

    SteffanC

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Motherboard:
    Asus ROG Maximus Hero X (WIFI AC)
    CPU:
    i7 8700k
    Feb 8, 2018 at 12:35 AM #2
    SteffanC

    SteffanC

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Motherboard:
    Asus ROG Maximus Hero X (WIFI AC)
    CPU:
    i7 8700k
    Hey tarakah,
    Did you ever manage to get the PreSonus FireTube running over firewire on macOS?
     
  3. Stork

    Stork Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    11,725
    Motherboard:
    ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO Z370
    CPU:
    i7-8700K
    Graphics:
    RX 580 Pulse 8GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Feb 8, 2018 at 12:21 PM #3
    Stork

    Stork Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    11,725
    Motherboard:
    ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO Z370
    CPU:
    i7-8700K
    Graphics:
    RX 580 Pulse 8GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Unfortunately, tarakah hasn't been here since mid March, 2015.
     
  4. SteffanC

    SteffanC

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Motherboard:
    Asus ROG Maximus Hero X (WIFI AC)
    CPU:
    i7 8700k
    Feb 8, 2018 at 4:03 PM #4
    SteffanC

    SteffanC

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Motherboard:
    Asus ROG Maximus Hero X (WIFI AC)
    CPU:
    i7 8700k
    Thanks Stork, I managed to get it working anyway (I hadn't authorised one of the system services during driver install :problem:) ...so for anyone who still owns a Firestudio Tube and is wondering if it works with Coffeelake (i7 8700k) – it does!
     
  5. dysanfel

    dysanfel

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    67
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte GA-170MX Gaming 5
    CPU:
    i7-6700k
    Graphics:
    GTX1060 3GB
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Mar 10, 2018 at 1:14 AM #5
    dysanfel

    dysanfel

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    67
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte GA-170MX Gaming 5
    CPU:
    i7-6700k
    Graphics:
    GTX1060 3GB
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Is your FW card a Texas Instrument Chip set? I have had the best luck with Siig brand FW cards, but that is just my anecdotal experience. I have a Firestudio Project and am pretty sure they are very similar devices.
     
  6. SteffanC

    SteffanC

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Motherboard:
    Asus ROG Maximus Hero X (WIFI AC)
    CPU:
    i7 8700k
    Mar 10, 2018 at 7:18 AM #6
    SteffanC

    SteffanC

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Motherboard:
    Asus ROG Maximus Hero X (WIFI AC)
    CPU:
    i7 8700k
  7. dysanfel

    dysanfel

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    67
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte GA-170MX Gaming 5
    CPU:
    i7-6700k
    Graphics:
    GTX1060 3GB
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Mar 10, 2018 at 2:31 PM #7
    dysanfel

    dysanfel

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    67
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte GA-170MX Gaming 5
    CPU:
    i7-6700k
    Graphics:
    GTX1060 3GB
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice