Contribute
Register

FirePro W7000 Compatibility

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Oct 30, 2013
Messages
7
Motherboard
Apple
CPU
two Intel Xeon E5520 Quad cores (8 core 16 Threads)
Graphics
EVGA GTX 980 SC, AMD FirePro W7000
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. eMac
  2. iMac
  3. Power Mac
  4. SE
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
yea just trying to get my hands on one is the issue right now the shop that was keeping it for me sold it so now I'm looking else where and that €375 looks to be the best deal I can find.

I will be aiming to buy one next week to test out and make a few videos on so i will keep use posted. also
looking at the spec's of this card it is between as a single D300 and D500 in preformance. so I am wondering could I flash the D500 Firmware on this card easy anough ??

http://wccftech.com/generation-amd-...firepro-d700-leads-pack-35-teraflops-compute/
 
Joined
Mar 20, 2011
Messages
153
Motherboard
GA-Z490 Gaming X
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Joined
Oct 30, 2013
Messages
7
Motherboard
Apple
CPU
two Intel Xeon E5520 Quad cores (8 core 16 Threads)
Graphics
EVGA GTX 980 SC, AMD FirePro W7000
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. eMac
  2. iMac
  3. Power Mac
  4. SE
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
it was just showing how the 980 runs on the two OS's and I'm fully aware how bad OSX is at gaming reason why i don't use OSX for that but we will see how this w7000 goes.
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2013
Messages
7
Motherboard
Apple
CPU
two Intel Xeon E5520 Quad cores (8 core 16 Threads)
Graphics
EVGA GTX 980 SC, AMD FirePro W7000
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. eMac
  2. iMac
  3. Power Mac
  4. SE
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
So I got the W7000 in the mail and its second hand for €200 and it didn't come with any cables so back to ebay and waiting for the proper cables including a actual Display port to HDMI cable X(.

I have have the w7000 running kinda with mishmash of molex and SATA power cables that I have lying around. it is a long side my GTX 980 but the W7000 isn't hooked up quite right and I doubt it is getting enough power but I'll update this post as this experiment progress.

first off the whole reason for this FCPX there was a instant and very noticeable increase in render speed. FCPX benchmark exporting BruceX 5K video results on this under 980 vs W7000

Apple ProRes 422 (198MB)= W7000 takes 21:36sec to export. the GTX 980 failed to export video.
Apple ProRes 422 HQ (297MB)= W7000 takes 32:54sec to export. the GTX 980 failed to export video.
Apple ProRes 4444 (444MB)= W7000 takes 33:12sec to export. the GTX 980 takes 48:56 to export.
H.264 Fasterencode (4.85MB)= W7000 takes 22:59sec to export. the GTX 980 takes 29:01sec to export

Mac Pro 2009 4.1
LuxMark V2.1 SALA
EVGA GTX 980 SC score 2746
AMD FirePro W7000 score 1577
both 980 and w7000 score 4323
LuxMark V2.1 Luxball
Both 980 and W7000 score 32790
LuxMark V2.1 Room
Both 980 and w7000 score 2443

Mac Pro 2013 6.1
Dual AMD FirePro D700 Results

Dual AMD FirePro D500 Results
Dual AMD Fire Pro D300 Results
http://barefeats.com/tube03.html

these scores do show a massive increase in Open CL performance where it maters for me at least.

I am running Windows 10 and both AMD FirePro Drivers and Nvidia Drivers are running side by side with no glitches or issues for today at least. I don't feel right releasing results without the card properly powered but from these results the card has made a big difference. I will release a Video of the results on Youtube a little better for those of you who get board reading quickly haha.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_0793.jpg
    IMG_0793.jpg
    2.3 MB · Views: 491
  • IMG_0792.jpg
    IMG_0792.jpg
    2 MB · Views: 579
  • IMG_0791.jpg
    IMG_0791.jpg
    1.8 MB · Views: 525
  • Screen Shot 2016-05-04 at 01.22.45.png
    Screen Shot 2016-05-04 at 01.22.45.png
    1.3 MB · Views: 537
  • Screen Shot 2016-05-04 at 02.06.19.png
    Screen Shot 2016-05-04 at 02.06.19.png
    546.4 KB · Views: 519
  • Screen Shot 2016-05-04 at 02.07.59.png
    Screen Shot 2016-05-04 at 02.07.59.png
    667 KB · Views: 472
Joined
Nov 4, 2016
Messages
113
Motherboard
GA-Z170x-Designare
CPU
Core i7-6700k
Graphics
AMD FirePro W9000 + Radeon 7970
Bump. Did it require any special drivers? Or just OOB works?
 
Joined
May 28, 2017
Messages
32
Motherboard
MSI B85M-E45
CPU
Xeon E3-1230 V3
Graphics
GT 740
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 19, 2011
Messages
23
Motherboard
DeskMini 110 W (H110M-STX)
CPU
i3-7100
Graphics
HD 630
Works OOB on both MacPro and my hackintosh (10.12) (for future reference, old thread)
Hmmm... (I know this is pretty much a 'dead' thread, but I have been working on getting an AMD S7000 working in my latest project, and there is a paucity of relevant info on both it and its 'brother' card, the W7000 (which my card is detected as) in my system:

HP Z2 G4 workstation tower
i5 9500
Intel UHD Graphics 630
AMD FirePro W7000 (reported as < in 'About This Mac')
Mojave 10.14.6

Clover 4934

<b> Edit/update 3-15-21</b>
Got this working, as a single-monitor card and graphics 'helper' for my system, by injecting vbios, de-int and injectATI, along with EDID (can be done with Clover Config); shows as a 'Radeon 7600 series graphics' w/ 4GB vram, QE and Metal supported. System works great and I am getting graphics support with the card online when doing video encodes, etc. I tested a few FBs, and it seems to work best with 'Futomaki FB', also configurable via Clover, in EFI...

_____________________older text/info_______________________
The forums show W7000 is supposed to be OOB working. This S7000 is likely the same basic unit, but having only one DP output and no fan, also power-limited to max 150W; ideal for my needs...

After disabling HP proprietary Sure Start / Safe Start through bios, and physically installing in my [now] hack, it is showing up as (in 'About This Mac'-System Report>hardware>DisplaysGraphics) :


AMD FirePro W7000 :

Chipset Model: AMD FirePro W7000
Type: GPU
Bus: PCIe
Slot: Internal@0,1,0/0,0
PCIe Lane Width: x16
VRAM (Total): 4 GB
Vendor: AMD (0x1002)
Device ID: 0x6808
Revision ID: 0x000
Metal: Supported, feature set macOS GPUFamily2 v1
Displays:
S22E450[one of my two connected DP monitors]:
Resolution: 1920 x 1080 (1080p FHD - Full High Definition)
UI Looks like: 1920 x 1080 @ 60 Hz
Framebuffer Depth: 30-Bit Color (ARGB2101010)
Display Serial Number: HCHN706629
Mirror: Off
Online: Yes
Rotation: Supported
Automatically Adjust Brightness: No
Connection Type: DisplayPort

Using it as the startup graphic [the only gfx connected] , it fires up and outputs through Clover bootloading & verbose mode but blanks out upon handoff to the OS (blank screen). In various iterations &/or permutations with a DP display, and with/without 'inject ATI' code, it seems to be operating, or at least recognized as being a "W7000", though no throughput at/after the login window. That is, with it plugged in to a second DP display, in 'about this Mac' hardware section, it lists the above AND the specs of the monitor to which it is attached, as well as the UHD630 and its display, even though the output is a blank screen on that monitor.

I am a total noob to the double-screen setup scene, but this HP Z2 G4 workstation with which I am now in progress (Mojave 10.14.6) generally operates in dual screen mode, with the igfx from the CPU, IF I turn on or restart the second monitor at or after the login screen (after handoff); I assume that is ~ the norm? However, with one of the monitors hooked up to one of the motherboard graphics ports, and one to the PCIe AMD card, only the IGFX output is viewable, while the ATI card-mounted monitor seems blank.

Interestingly, I found that certain folders placed on the 2nd monitor's desktop from previous trials (using the two monitors in IGFX) would be 'seen' by the OS as still being on the desktop space of the second monitor, when the AMD card was connected and 'online', though the monitor appears 'blank'...

I'm fairly certain all that is needed is a 'nudge' with FB change, a spoof or device id change, or something ~simple to get this card working properly--and I'm continuing to research, but seems nothing specific on the S7000 out here in the hackintosh infos/forums. In past I have not used or dealt with discrete graphics much, or used IGX which were fairly common and with fairly detailed 'fixes' already known/used; this is not the same type of 'case'.

Anyways, If you or anyone has enabled one of these S7000 graphics cards, or recognize similar 'symptoms' leading to success, or might be able to suggest a spoof or any solutions to getting this card operational, I sure would appreciate it! ;)
 

Attachments

  • GFX.png
    GFX.png
    243.1 KB · Views: 48
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top