Contribute
Register

Final Cut X - GPU usage when rendering - 5700 XT

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Dec 2, 2016
Messages
22
Motherboard
MSI H170A Gaming M3
CPU
i7-6700
Graphics
Asus Rog Strix 5700XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello,

I have been trying to find out if my GPU should be utilised when Final Cut X renders, transcodes or exports a project. I have watched the activity monitor and the GPU does not look like it is being used and the processor seems to be doing all the work. However, when I use DaVinci Resolve 16 my GPU is fully utilised when rendering or exporting. If anyone has any information on this it would help a lot. I don't know if Final Cut should be utilising the GPU but it just seems like it should be seeing as DaVinci Resolve and Premiere Pro do.

Thanks in Advance.
 

Attachments

  • Davinci Resolve 16 - Exporting.jpg
    Davinci Resolve 16 - Exporting.jpg
    1.7 MB · Views: 105
  • Final Cut - Exporting.jpg
    Final Cut - Exporting.jpg
    1,006 KB · Views: 99
  • Final Cut - Rendering.jpg
    Final Cut - Rendering.jpg
    913.3 KB · Views: 94
  • Final Cut - Transcoding.jpg
    Final Cut - Transcoding.jpg
    703.1 KB · Views: 93

slim.jim

Moderator
Joined
Dec 17, 2014
Messages
4,277
Motherboard
MSI Z97 Gaming 9 AC
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello,

I have been trying to find out if my GPU should be utilised when Final Cut X renders, transcodes or exports a project. I have watched the activity monitor and the GPU does not look like it is being used and the processor seems to be doing all the work. However, when I use DaVinci Resolve 16 my GPU is fully utilised when rendering or exporting. If anyone has any information on this it would help a lot. I don't know if Final Cut should be utilising the GPU but it just seems like it should be seeing as DaVinci Resolve and Premiere Pro do.

Thanks in Advance.
I believe Apple products rely more on Intel Quicksync for rendering. If you change your SMBIOS to iMacPro1,1 then it should use the GPU but you might encounter stability issues with macOS and the Navi card.
 
Joined
May 29, 2012
Messages
563
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Gaming X
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 56
Mac
  1. iMac
Classic Mac
  1. LC
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Diorama just went through this over in CaseySJ's z490 thread.

It is basically juggling between the iGPU and the dGPU and figuring out the best configuration that balances performance and function:


For me, I can enable the iGPU in BIOS which will allow things like QuickLook and Sidecar, but delete the framebuffer, which will disable the mobo HDMI. By deleting the framebuffer, FCP preferentially uses the dGPU to render. With the framebuffer enabled, FCP will use the iGPU to render.

Also, in the latest version of FCP, I believe there is an option to specify which GPU you want to do the rendering?

Reading up on the difference, it seems that videographers are saying the Quicksync produces better quality, although it is slower.



Hello,

I have been trying to find out if my GPU should be utilised when Final Cut X renders, transcodes or exports a project. I have watched the activity monitor and the GPU does not look like it is being used and the processor seems to be doing all the work. However, when I use DaVinci Resolve 16 my GPU is fully utilised when rendering or exporting. If anyone has any information on this it would help a lot. I don't know if Final Cut should be utilising the GPU but it just seems like it should be seeing as DaVinci Resolve and Premiere Pro do.

Thanks in Advance.
 

qbe

Joined
Feb 7, 2011
Messages
141
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
first check your fcpx preferences, you should have 5700xt selected as gpu

if you dont need faster h264 and prefer quality h264, ignore quicksync. quicksyncs speed is great for temp quality exports. for best quality, export prores out of fcpx and use handbrake.

for most simple, yet powerfull setup of fcpx for performance use imacpro 1,1 smbios, igpu only as headless (with that smbios will be disabled anyway). You will get best acceleration for your amd gpu. I have no idea if that is possible with your hw though

Or try as diorama in above mentioned thread. Casey wasnt able to make it work that way (cannot boot with igfx as primary with monitor connected to amd gpu) and I wasnt able to make my system work as he did (fcpx doesnt start, although i can boot with igfx primary). I guess there is something else diorama did so it works for him. I assume he has best of both worlds.

my measured 15min test export for example (prores)
imacpro 4:15
imac 6:37

note: as slim.jim notes, many ppl have freezes/lookups with 5700xt and macos. many dont, i for one dont and fcpx is my job.
 
Joined
Dec 2, 2016
Messages
22
Motherboard
MSI H170A Gaming M3
CPU
i7-6700
Graphics
Asus Rog Strix 5700XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thank you so much for your replies. I will play around with those options this weekend and post my results here so they can hopefully benefit others.
 
Joined
Dec 2, 2016
Messages
22
Motherboard
MSI H170A Gaming M3
CPU
i7-6700
Graphics
Asus Rog Strix 5700XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Sorry for the late response. I tried a variation of setups over the weekend and this is what I found.

I changed the SMBIOS to iMacPro1,1 and enabled iGPU in my motherboards bios. Whilst I did see that my DGPU was utilized more in FCPX I didn’t notice much of a difference in overall reduction of rendering completion times.Whilst I would be happy to stick with this setup the problem is that I dual boot with windows. So the problem comes in that I can’t see which OS I want when switching due to the fact that I have the IGPU set as default in my motherboards bios. If there is a way to be able to see my options in clover on boot up then I would appreciate some feedback.

thanks.
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
17,696
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56 (Bios flashed to 64)
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Sorry for the late response. I tried a variation of setups over the weekend and this is what I found.

I changed the SMBIOS to iMacPro1,1 and enabled iGPU in my motherboards bios. Whilst I did see that my DGPU was utilized more in FCPX I didn’t notice much of a difference in overall reduction of rendering completion times.Whilst I would be happy to stick with this setup the problem is that I dual boot with windows. So the problem comes in that I can’t see which OS I want when switching due to the fact that I have the IGPU set as default in my motherboards bios. If there is a way to be able to see my options in clover on boot up then I would appreciate some feedback.

thanks.

Why not just set your 5700 XT as default?
 
Joined
Dec 2, 2016
Messages
22
Motherboard
MSI H170A Gaming M3
CPU
i7-6700
Graphics
Asus Rog Strix 5700XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Why not just set your 5700 XT as default?
Are you talking about setting my 5700 XT as default in FCPX, or in the BIOS?

In the end I have enabled DGPU in the bios and FCPX has by default used the 5700 XT in the preferences.

I was just trying to find the optimal performance for rendering/transcoding by either using the SMBIOS iMacPro1,1 with iGPU enabled in the BIOS vs SMBIOS iMac17,1 with the DGPU enabled in the BIOS.

In the end I didn't seem to notice much difference in performance with FCPX when trying both options. Your responses are appreciated :)
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
17,696
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56 (Bios flashed to 64)
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Are you talking about setting my 5700 XT as default in FCPX, or in the BIOS?

In the end I have enabled DGPU in the bios and FCPX has by default used the 5700 XT in the preferences.

I was just trying to find the optimal performance for rendering/transcoding by either using the SMBIOS iMacPro1,1 with iGPU enabled in the BIOS vs SMBIOS iMac17,1 with the DGPU enabled in the BIOS.

In the end I didn't seem to notice much difference in performance with FCPX when trying both options. Your responses are appreciated :)

In BIOS. You said you can't see which OS to boot from because you have IGPU set as default. If you don't have a monitor connected to the motherboard, there's no reason to set IGPU as default.
 
Joined
Dec 2, 2016
Messages
22
Motherboard
MSI H170A Gaming M3
CPU
i7-6700
Graphics
Asus Rog Strix 5700XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
In BIOS. You said you can't see which OS to boot from because you have IGPU set as default. If you don't have a monitor connected to the motherboard, there's no reason to set IGPU as default.
I completely understand this. The only reason I did try this was because tedyun mentioned that he enabled the IGPU in the BIOS as well as qbe saying that for the best performance use iMacPro1,1 SMBIOS, IGPU only as headless.

Sorry for the confusion.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top