Contribute
Register

Final Cut Pro X Export Fails with "Master File" error after just a few seconds

Joined
Jan 23, 2018
Messages
8
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-E Gaming-1601-Clover
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX Vega 56
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
I am having issues exporting with Final Cut Pro 10.4.4 & Mojave 10.14.2.

I always get the message: The Share Operation "Master File: Video_Filename.mp4" has failed, just a few seconds after the export starts (screenshot).

I have tried exporting "Computer" aka h.264 to 4K & 1080P, with better quality and faster encoding, with no luck. However, exporting to "Master" with ProRes 422 works fine, so seems to be an h.264 issue.

I think I have the Intel GPU correctly recognized for h.264 and HEVC, indicated by VProc (screenshot).

I am spoofing the 8th gen iGPU device-id & ig-platform-id as recommended by @pastrychef and also have the headless ig-platform-id set to 0x59120003.

I have tried both system ID 18,3 and 18,1, though I am not sure if I did it correctly (screenshot).

I have an MSI Radeon RX Vega 56 Air Boost 8G as Primary display, and do not connect any monitor to the onboard iGPU (headless).

My Asus Z370-E BIOS has iGPU Enabled, 128M and I am on version 1601.

I included screenshots of some of my config.plist as viewed in Clover Configurator, as well as the kexts in C/K/O. I have no kexts in S/L/E or L/E.

EFI zip file & config.plist is attached.

Motherboard: ASUS ROG Strix Z370-E Gaming - 1601 - Clover UEFI
CPU: i9-9900K
Graphics: MSI Radeon RX Vega 56 Air Boost 8G
Other Hardware: 32GB DDR4-3000, (2) 512GB NVME
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
May 22, 2018
Messages
10
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 Gaming 7
CPU
i9 9900k
Graphics
Dual Vega56
Have you tried Intel FB-patcher? I think your frame buffer patch isn't complete right now for your system (see attachment). You need to generate one specific for your system.

1. Download FB-patcher, you will find the link in this thread:
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/release-intel-fb-patcher-v1-6-8.254559/

2. Generate patch in FB-Patcher
• Framebuffer Menu -> macOS 10.14.X
• PlatformID = 0x3E920003
• Patch -> General -> Devices
• Patch -> Advanced -> Device Id: 0x3E9B
• Generate Patch

3. Copy Device Properties to config.plist (you can check clover device if it's done correctly in the devices -> properties).

Please let me know if this helps.
 

Attachments

Joined
Jan 23, 2018
Messages
8
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-E Gaming-1601-Clover
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX Vega 56
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
I did finally discover that removing 0x59120003 from the ig-platform-id on the Graphics tab did allow FCPX to export correctly in h.264 now. I think it was leftover from what I had to do back on High Sierra.

I will take a look at FB-Patcher, since scrubbing through a complex timeline, although decent, could be better, and maybe this will help.

I also noticed that you have Fake ID > IntelGFX populated. I was able to change it from an old value to 0x0 with no ill effects so far.
 
Joined
May 22, 2018
Messages
10
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 Gaming 7
CPU
i9 9900k
Graphics
Dual Vega56
Possible the export runs now because IGPU (and quick sync) is disabled. You can check this by downloading Macx video converter pro and see if hardware acceleration is turned on. This is important, because quick sync will cut render times in half.
 

Attachments

Joined
Jan 23, 2018
Messages
8
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-E Gaming-1601-Clover
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX Vega 56
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
Yeah, at every little change I made during troubleshooting, I kept checking HW Acceleration with VideoProc, and the results always looked like the one in my screenshot in the original post (everything green/enabled), and still does.

Scrubbing in FCPX is actually quite good, but just felt it might be improved a bit given the massive hardware we are throwing at it.

What is interesting are the export tests I have done with very complex 4K timelines to H.264. In the past I recall that if you pick "Faster", the iGPU will kick in at some portions of the export, but it never really does with the i9-9900K. What you see is either the Vega 56 at nearly 100%, all 16 threads at 50-100%, or some combination of both. And that's not a bad thing. FYI - I am using iStat Menu Pro to see Intel CFL GPU activity.

Good news is that the i9-9900K is a huge improvement over the i5-8600K I had been running. No beachballs to speak of, and all around much, much snappier.

I have another Vega 56 I am thinking of throwing in there, just to see how she performs, but I am almost afraid since everything is working really well right now.
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2019
Messages
97
Motherboard
z390 Designare
CPU
i9
Graphics
Vega64
Mac
Mac Pro
Classic Mac
128K, Classic, iMac, Power Mac, PowerBook, Quadra, Xserve
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Sumo what is the current status on this? I am having the same problem. Did you have to run the FB Patcher solution to resolve it?
I am running a Z390 Designare MB
i7-7700
64GB RAM
Sapphire Vega64
I have included my config and some shots of the my kexts and pertinent Clover screens.
Thanks!
 

Attachments

Joined
Jan 23, 2018
Messages
8
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-E Gaming-1601-Clover
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX Vega 56
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
Sumo what is the current status on this? I am having the same problem. Did you have to run the FB Patcher solution to resolve it?
I am running a Z390 Designare MB
i7-7700
64GB RAM
Sapphire Vega64
I have included my config and some shots of the my kexts and pertinent Clover screens.
Thanks!
If you mean you are getting the Master File Export Failure, I just had to remove the 0x59120003 from the ig-platform-id on the Graphics tab which was leftover from what I had to do back on High Sierra.

Regarding the timeline scrubbing issue, I haven't fixed it yet. I looked into the FB Patcher solution, but it looks pretty complicated, and just haven't taken the time to tinker with it. Bottom line is what I have now is very workable, so I am not going to mess with it until I have more time to clone my working drive and do some tinkering.

I also did notice you don't have a device-id entry. See my screenshots in the original post to see what I have that is working (less the 0x59120003 for ig-platform-id on the Graphics tab, which I removed).
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2019
Messages
97
Motherboard
z390 Designare
CPU
i9
Graphics
Vega64
Mac
Mac Pro
Classic Mac
128K, Classic, iMac, Power Mac, PowerBook, Quadra, Xserve
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
I have scrubbing working fine and I can export a full master file but i can't export any other format. Not prores, YouTube, or h.264
 
Joined
Jan 23, 2018
Messages
8
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-E Gaming-1601-Clover
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX Vega 56
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
I have scrubbing working fine and I can export a full master file but i can't export any other format. Not prores, YouTube, or h.264
I can export ProRes & h.264, but scrubbing stinks, so maybe we can help each other?

  1. Have you tried entering the correct device-id on Devices > Properties?
  2. What does VideoProc say?

Regarding the FB Patch, how hard was that? The guide looked pretty intricate.
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2019
Messages
97
Motherboard
z390 Designare
CPU
i9
Graphics
Vega64
Mac
Mac Pro
Classic Mac
128K, Classic, iMac, Power Mac, PowerBook, Quadra, Xserve
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
As soon as I get back in town I will check everything.
 
Top