3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
NO NOT YOU !! The fan's of ofcourse :p

Please STFU (Shut The FANS Up)
:lol:

Hi all ... I'm back ... and almost finished with my new project ...

I made my mind up to control the fans with a micro controller and a I2C line for the sensors.
I discovered the micro controller a few weeks ago and I like them, the programming too.

I have little experience in electronics and programming from few decades ago o_O ...
so ... picking it up was not so hard for me,
only a big investment in parts (ssst don't tell my wife) ...

If you don't like micro controllers or a little programming, don't read further and use other parts which are available in a lot of stores ... for me it's just a hobby todo this and share it with others...

This is a cheap but good working project, it only took (for me) a little time to figure out a few things and make a comeback in programming.

The Start

It began with searching for controlling my fan's cause I didn't like the way the motherboard does it and my board has only 2 fan port connections :confused:

After a few small projects for sensors and solutions I run into a Arduino Board :banghead:
And with a little experiencing I made it myself and found a easy way of controlling fans.
So the next search and question was ... WHAT kinda sensors to use ...

IMG_0266.jpgIMG_0268.jpgIMG_0301.jpg

and I made up my mind to use the TCN75A temperature chip ... why a chip ?
I try to use other type of sensors, but ... sins I'm working with a micro controller it was
easier to use this chip cause of less wiring (4 wires for all sensors, max 8).

I started to figure out how PWM controlling works and that's what I want to use now,
and made a little try-out on a test board and a little sooner after it works on a Arduino Protoshield.

1391_big.png IMG_0311.jpg

Now I had to find a place and my idea was to I put it all in here (for cooling proportions too):

IMG_0308.jpgIMG_0309.jpg
IMG_0310.jpgIMG_0313.jpg