I5 6600K
Graphics
Gigabyte GT 1030
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hey there. I'm new to this whole idea of building a FakeMac, and I'm looking for some advice. Help is much appreciated. I'm currently running a 2012 MBP, and prefer the MacOS over the other options. It's hard to justify the price on a Mac Mini for my home computer/HTPC needs. So...

I'm looking to build a unit that will dual boot and serve multiple functions. I would like a FakeMac to serve as a home computer, for email, web access, and some basic word processing and spreadsheets. Just average internet use, streaming and watching stored video, no gaming. This is for my family, and the desktop will particularly be for my kids, while my wife and I will use the HTPC side more.

I might like to try a second boot drive in the box that can run Linux for my HTPC use. Ultimately I believe I can run the HTPC stuff from the Mac if it isn't possible to do the dual boot thing, I just think it would be fun to be able to use both OS, especially if the Mac side acts up at all. I'm planning on using a Streacom F7C Alpha case. I'd like to use an optical drive, preferably something that will be able to receive BluRay discs. Burning BluRay would be cool but not necessary. From what I gather, the best Mobo these days is the GA-H170N-Wifi. If I can get the wifi to work, that's great, but I'll largely be using an ethernet connection for internet. I figure I'll get 8GB of Ram in one stick, because if I need to add more I can add another stick later.