Contribute
Register

Failed Unibeast 10.1.1 for Catalina install

Joined
Feb 3, 2011
Messages
31
Motherboard
GA-Z97-D3H
CPU
i3
Graphics
HD 4600
@MacMan and rest of the team -
then why does UniBeast show Catalina when you go through the setup (surely if there's something wrong it shouldn't show)?

And what do you suggest now? I've followed all suggestions made my everyone. The image is the right size 8.23gb.
All I am attempting to do is to use build a fresh multiboot build on a newer software (i am on Yosemite) using things I have bought from the buyers guide (intel 9th gen). I just want to use my existing machine to give me a bootable OSX drive so I can build
 
Last edited:

Gigamaxx

Moderator
Joined
May 15, 2016
Messages
6,529
Motherboard
GIGABYTE X470 Arous Gaming 7 WiFi
CPU
Ryzen R9 3900X
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
  1. iMac
@MacMan and rest of the team -
then why does UniBeast show Catalina


what do you suggest now? I've followed all suggestions made my everyone. The image is the right size 8.23gb.
All I am attempting to do is to use build a fresh multiboot build on a newer software (i am on Yosemite and my original retail snow leopard) using things I have bought from the buyers guide (intel 9th gen). I just want to use my existing machine to give me a bootable OSX drive so I can build
Format a USB in GUID MacOS journaled. Copy the Catalina to it then run clover app and install to the usb EFI. Try to install. The gibMacOS May already be converted for the install. That may be why Unineast won’t pick it up and convert it to bootable USB format.
 
Joined
Jun 15, 2010
Messages
18
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390M
CPU
i3 9100F
Graphics
RX570
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Copy the Catalina to it
sorry for the stupid question, but what do you mean here? I just drag the .app from the Applications to the USB stick?
Then Clover will be able to pick it up and start the installation of Catalina? Sounds fantastic.
Thanks a lot for your time
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2011
Messages
31
Motherboard
GA-Z97-D3H
CPU
i3
Graphics
HD 4600
@thepawn I started with gibmacos but UniBeast didn’t work. Then I changed smbios via multibeast and downloaded via Mac store. So I think you are where I was. Having downloaded from Mac store - it is still not being recognised
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 3, 2011
Messages
31
Motherboard
GA-Z97-D3H
CPU
i3
Graphics
HD 4600
@Gigamaxx I am using the version dowloaded via the AppStore as suggested by trs96 (not gibos, as that approach did not work), is your suggestion still valid?

I nevertheless have followed your suggestion using the Clover version suggested by trs96 in this post.

I've screenshot what is now on the USB drive having 'sucessfully installed'.
How can I know if this usb will work? I am loathed to pull apart my existing build just to put in a USB drive into the new build to find it doesnt work.
Edit: I just tried to boot clover on existing hardware (screenshot attached). I don’t see Catalina or reference to boot from USB.
 

Attachments

  • usb drive.pdf
    51.5 KB · Views: 54
  • C15D3196-8719-4549-9F64-07E0EB8E8281.jpeg
    C15D3196-8719-4549-9F64-07E0EB8E8281.jpeg
    21.3 KB · Views: 51
Last edited:

Gigamaxx

Moderator
Joined
May 15, 2016
Messages
6,529
Motherboard
GIGABYTE X470 Arous Gaming 7 WiFi
CPU
Ryzen R9 3900X
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
  1. iMac
sorry for the stupid question, but what do you mean here? I just drag the .app from the Applications to the USB stick?
Then Clover will be able to pick it up and start the installation of Catalina? Sounds fantastic.
Thanks a lot for your time
Yes drag the install app then you need to download a version of clover and run the clover installer app and select the USB for the target. Go to downloads section for the Clover builds and choose a UEFI version.
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2011
Messages
31
Motherboard
GA-Z97-D3H
CPU
i3
Graphics
HD 4600
@Gigamaxx See my post immediately preceding yours. That approach didnt work for my original post
 

MacMan

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 2, 2010
Messages
8,452
Motherboard
ASUS TUF Z390-PRO GAMING - 2606 - UEFI
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@MacMan and rest of the team -
then why does UniBeast show Catalina when you go through the setup (surely if there's something wrong it shouldn't show)?

And what do you suggest now? I've followed all suggestions made my everyone. The image is the right size 8.23gb.
All I am attempting to do is to use build a fresh multiboot build on a newer software (i am on Yosemite) using things I have bought from the buyers guide (intel 9th gen). I just want to use my existing machine to give me a bootable OSX drive so I can build
UniBeast checks that it looks good by size and contents but can't check the dmg until createmedia runs.
 

MacMan

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 2, 2010
Messages
8,452
Motherboard
ASUS TUF Z390-PRO GAMING - 2606 - UEFI
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have no idea how to fix it since createmedia fails.

It has to be something in the environment you are running in.
 
Top