Failed to open OSX Installer

Status
Not open for further replies.
CPU
i5 750
Graphics
GTX275
Hi,

I've been using mountain lion on my system for the last 6 months or so and I'm finally trying to upgrade to Yosemite. I'm following the guide on here and have used unibeast to make the usb drive.

I can boot into that and get to the first step of the install where I select a language. However, after that I get the message:

Failed to open OS X Installer.
The path /System/Installation/Packages/OSinstall.mpkg appears to be missing or damaged.

I thought this may have been an issue with the usb drive, so reformatted and created it again, same issue.

I then redownloaded Yosemite from the app store in case it hadn't downloaded correctly and again, formatted and booted from this. However I still get the same message.

There are two buttons on the message, restart or start up disk.

Can anybody help at all? Had no real issues when I installed mountain lion before.

Thanks

I can boot into that and get to the first step of the install where I select a language. However, after that I get the message:

Failed to open OS X Installer.
The path /System/Installation/Packages/OSinstall.mpkg appears to be missing or damaged.

Check whether the file is present in the location or not.
Code:
ls /Volumes/[B]<Your USB Name>[/B]/System/Installation/Packages/

Is the error showing regarding OSinstall.mpkg or OSinstall.pkg ??

Is the bootable USB created with Latest Unibeast??

Check whether the file is present in the location or not.
Code:
ls /Volumes/[B]<Your USB Name>[/B]/System/Installation/Packages/

Is the error showing regarding OSinstall.mpkg or OSinstall.pkg ??

Is the bootable USB created with Latest Unibeast??

Thanks,

Its saying no such file or directory. It was created using a copy of Unibeast I downloaded from this site about 2 days ago so I'm assuming its the latest version.

When the error comes up, it is OSinstall.mpkg.

Its saying no such file or directory.