Contribute
Register

evga GT740

Status
Not open for further replies.

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
13,147
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z690 Aero G
CPU
i5-12600K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
No. The nVidia 740 and 750 graphics card series are not yet supported in Mavericks. (I, too, am in a "hurry up and wait" mode for 750 Ti support.) See the tonymacx86 Buyer's Guide, Graphics Cards, for the latest nVidia graphic cards supported by Mavericks. The Buyer's Guide is a menu item at the top of this page.

Update: See WonkeyDonkey's post next.
 

WonkeyDonkey

Moderator
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
3,898
Motherboard
Asrock Z87E-ITX
CPU
i7-4770S
Graphics
GTX 760
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
No. The nVidia 740 and 750 graphics card series are not yet supported in Mavericks. (I, too, am in a "hurry up and wait" mode for 750 Ti support.) See the tonymacx86 Buyer's Guide, Graphics Cards, for the latest nVidia graphic cards supported by Mavericks. The Buyer's Guide is a menu item at the top of this page.

Need to look into this. The 750/750Ti are Maxwell and not supported. But the new 740 is GK107 Kepler, so may work ?
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2011
Messages
29
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision G
CPU
i7-10700
Graphics
UHD 630
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
yes i think the same too....maybe work and are very good buy
 

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
13,147
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z690 Aero G
CPU
i5-12600K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Need to look into this. The 750/750Ti are Maxwell and not supported. But the new 740 is GK107 Kepler, so may work ?
Good catch. It's too new to know, but, if the 740 uses the Kepler technology, then it might work. However, it's still unsupported in Mavericks as a 740, so you might not see it displayed as a 740 in About This Mac and in the System Information.
 

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
13,147
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z690 Aero G
CPU
i5-12600K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Update...from info on the 'net, it seems nVidia is playing like AMD/ATI. The 740 is a rebranded 650. So, it should work. Let us know if you get one, and how it works.
 
Joined
Jul 23, 2013
Messages
7
Motherboard
GA-Z87N-Wifi
CPU
intel i7-4770k
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Apple
  2. Classic
  3. eMac
  4. Performa
  5. Power Mac
  6. PowerBook
  7. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Just an FYI to anyone who is interested. I went out and got an EVGA GT 740SC 2GB card and it works no problem with no installation issues. I don't have audio through the mini HDMI yet, but I haven't looked into it at all.

The big issue is that you have to wait to install the card until after you've run Multibeast, or your monitors will all go black after the apple boot logo comes up, it doesn't matter what port/ports you are using, they will all blank out.


My setup is as follows:

i7 4770k overclocked to 4.5Ghz
GA-Z87N-Wifi 2.0 mobo - Removed the worthless BT and Wifi card.
16 GB Corsair Vengance Low Profile RAM
500 GB Corsair SSD (OSX Mavericks Boot)
250 GB Samsung EVO SSD (Windows 7 Boot)
EVGA GT 740 SC GFX Card.
CS550M Modular Power Supply

And as long as you install the OS, then Multibeast and then the GT 740 you are good to go.
 
Joined
Jan 22, 2011
Messages
55
Motherboard
Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming 2.0
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Yip I brought a EVGA GT 740 2GB DDR3 Single Slot edition and works fine - GraphicsEnabler=No

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00KJGYS4Y/ref=as_li_ss_tl?ie=UTF8&tag=tonymacx86com-20 ( as per Tonymac's July 2014 recommendation)

System Profiler as of 10.9.4 / Chimera 3.0.1 recognises it as a "Nvidia Chip Model"

Screen Shot 2014-07-28 at 2.21.47 pm.png


Had a quick game of Bioshock infinite so all is working
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top