Contribute
Register

EVGA GE Force 640 issues on GA Z77X-UD5H

Joined
Aug 27, 2012
Messages
45
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z270X-UD5
CPU
7700k @ 4.2 ghz
Graphics
NVidia GeForce GTX 760 2GB
Mac
iMac
EVGA GE Force 640 error

I'm having trouble getting my GE Force 640 in a GA Z77X-UD5H (bios f14) motherboard. Its listed in Hardware but the VRAM changes with each boot. Right now its listed at 8 mb's but it should be a 2gb. Youtube videos don't play correctly (though oddly the ads do). Also in display i only get one resolution option even if I force it to something higher like:
1680X1050x32
I've installed Cuda + GraphicsEnabler=0

If the GPU is working correctly must I set the resolution in chameleon.plist? I'm not sure what else to try. Any ideas? thanks!!


Here's my mulitbeast install. (audio works great):::
EasyBeast Install
System Utils
Kexts + Enablers
-Audio/Realtek ALC8xx/AppleHDA Rollback
-Audio/Realtek ALC8xx/Non-DSDT HDAEnabler/ALC898
-Audio/Realtek ALC8xx/Patched AppleHDA/ALC898
-Graphics/NVIDIA/10.7.2 + Combo Open CL
-Network/maolj's AtherosL1cEthernet
 

Attachments

Joined
Aug 27, 2012
Messages
45
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z270X-UD5
CPU
7700k @ 4.2 ghz
Graphics
NVidia GeForce GTX 760 2GB
Mac
iMac
Since last post I installed FakeSMC but my system crashed and so i rolled back changes:
FakeSMC
FakeSMC/NVidia Plugin

I also tried LuxMark and noticed that no OpenCL device is available, or in Cinebench only 2 not 4 cores are listed.

Help!:)
thanks!
 
Joined
Aug 21, 2011
Messages
435
Motherboard
GA-Z97N-WIFI
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
HD4600
Mac
iMac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
I'm having trouble getting my GE Force 640 in a GA Z77X-UD5H (bios f14) motherboard. Its listed in Hardware but the VRAM changes with each boot. Right now its listed at 8 mb's but it should be a 2gb. Youtube videos don't play correctly (though oddly the ads do). Also in display i only get one resolution option even if I force it to something higher like:
1680X1050x32
I've installed Cuda + GraphicsEnabler=0

If the GPU is working correctly must I set the resolution in chameleon.plist? I'm not sure what else to try. Any ideas? thanks!!


Here's my mulitbeast install. (audio works great):::
EasyBeast Install
System Utils
Kexts + Enablers
-Audio/Realtek ALC8xx/AppleHDA Rollback
-Audio/Realtek ALC8xx/Non-DSDT HDAEnabler/ALC898
-Audio/Realtek ALC8xx/Patched AppleHDA/ALC898
-Graphics/NVIDIA/10.7.2 + Combo Open CL
-Network/maolj's AtherosL1cEthernet
-Graphics/NVIDIA/10.7.2 + Combo Open CL .....Why this?

Are you running Lion not ML?
 
Joined
Aug 27, 2012
Messages
45
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z270X-UD5
CPU
7700k @ 4.2 ghz
Graphics
NVidia GeForce GTX 760 2GB
Mac
iMac
I'm running Lion. I just did a re-install minus Graphics/NVIDIA/10.7.2 + Combo Open CL.
Still no luck. Do I need Cuda?? What else do i need from MultiBeast if anything?
thx!

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
<key>EthernetBuiltIn</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>GraphicsEnabler</key>
<string>No</string>
<key>Kernel</key>
<string>mach_kernel</string>
<key>Kernel Flags</key>
<string>npci=0x3000 darkwake=0</string>
<key>Legacy Logo</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>Timeout</key>
<string>2</string>
<key>UseKernelCache</key>
<string>Yes</string>
</dict>
</plist>
 
Joined
Aug 27, 2012
Messages
45
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z270X-UD5
CPU
7700k @ 4.2 ghz
Graphics
NVidia GeForce GTX 760 2GB
Mac
iMac
I've removed my GPU and running native now. Videos on VLC still don't playback correctly and general graphics performance is sluggish just as before with the Ge Force 640.
Was I supposed to install a driver of some sort? I thought 640 would work out of the box...???
Any suggestions what i should try next?? Any help would be great!
thx!
 
Joined
Aug 27, 2012
Messages
45
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z270X-UD5
CPU
7700k @ 4.2 ghz
Graphics
NVidia GeForce GTX 760 2GB
Mac
iMac
Anybody help??

clean install with only recommended hardware but still no graphics, openGL supported or usb3. audio is good. Could I have a bad GPU??
 
Joined
Dec 17, 2010
Messages
232
Motherboard
GA Z77X UD5H (F14)
CPU
CORE I7 3770K
Graphics
EVGA GTX 670
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
You need Mountain Lion if you wanna use this card.
 
Joined
Aug 27, 2012
Messages
45
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z270X-UD5
CPU
7700k @ 4.2 ghz
Graphics
NVidia GeForce GTX 760 2GB
Mac
iMac
I'm building an editing system for Final Cut Pro 7 + Pro Tools so i'm hesitant go up to Mountain Lion.
What would be a ML + L compatible card??
Is this way usb3 isnt' working either or is that a sepparate issue.
Thanks!
 
Joined
Aug 21, 2011
Messages
435
Motherboard
GA-Z97N-WIFI
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
HD4600
Mac
iMac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
I'm building an editing system for Final Cut Pro 7 + Pro Tools so i'm hesitant go up to Mountain Lion.
What would be a ML + L compatible card??
Is this way usb3 isnt' working either or is that a sepparate issue.
Thanks!
Support for USB 3.0 and the GT 640 come in Mountain Lion natively..... I cant comment on Lion as I dont use it anymore.....
 
Joined
Aug 27, 2012
Messages
45
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z270X-UD5
CPU
7700k @ 4.2 ghz
Graphics
NVidia GeForce GTX 760 2GB
Mac
iMac
Wow, i made the leap switched to ML and everything works perfectly! I wish i had figured that out sooner 40 hours earlier;.)
System is fast, and running great except for app store. Thanks!!
 
Top