Ersterhernd's NUCiMac G4

Discussion in 'iMac Mods' started by ersterhernd, Jun 23, 2013.

  1. ersterhernd

    ersterhernd

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,198
    Mobo:
    MSI Z77MA-G45
    CPU:
    i7-3770k @ 4.3 GHz
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte R9 280X Windforce 3GB
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jun 6, 2015 at 4:17 PM #331
    ersterhernd

    ersterhernd

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,198
    Mobo:
    MSI Z77MA-G45
    CPU:
    i7-3770k @ 4.3 GHz
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte R9 280X Windforce 3GB
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    I had serious video corruption/artifacting issues with my 20" G4. Be sure to read my 20" thread entirely before starting. I never got the Haswell NUC to work properly, ended up having to revert back to an HD4000 based NUC. Not the planned solution, but it worked.

    That Haswell NUC is now performing flawlessly in my A1076 iMac G5.


    Cheers.
     
  2. Piume

    Piume

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Mobo:
    Homemade
    CPU:
    3,5 GHz Intel Core i7
    Graphics:
    EVGA Geforce GTX 760
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Dec 27, 2015 at 6:45 PM #332
    Piume

    Piume

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Mobo:
    Homemade
    CPU:
    3,5 GHz Intel Core i7
    Graphics:
    EVGA Geforce GTX 760
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Hello,

    I hope someone has a clue. I started a project on a 1Ghz iMac G4 with 17" after i Did my 15" one. But on the 17" model I have a problem with the inverter, as it looks to me. Before i started i made a functionality check, and everything was fine, backlight, pixels etc. But now I startet on the inverter cable, I just connected the for lines. Green with one KOhm resistor to 5V, red to 5V blue to 12V and the black one to ground. The result is a very short flashing up of the display after connection the Power unit, then it is dark again. Disconnection and connection again, again a flashing, thats it, the backlight does not on permanently.

    Does anyone know what this could be?

    I would be very thankful for a hint on this.
     
  3. ersterhernd

    ersterhernd

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,198
    Mobo:
    MSI Z77MA-G45
    CPU:
    i7-3770k @ 4.3 GHz
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte R9 280X Windforce 3GB
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Dec 27, 2015 at 7:54 PM #333
    ersterhernd

    ersterhernd

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,198
    Mobo:
    MSI Z77MA-G45
    CPU:
    i7-3770k @ 4.3 GHz
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte R9 280X Windforce 3GB
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    That's odd. Have you checked your voltages with a multimeter? Or, perhaps a bad ground is the culprit. Try a different PSU if you have one. Strange.

    Ersterhernd
     
  4. MacTester57

    MacTester57

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    901
    Mobo:
    Z68MX-UD2H-B3, DQ77KB, NUC DC53427HYE, NUC D54250WYKH
    CPU:
    i5-2500K, i3-3225, i7-3770S
    Graphics:
    HD 3000, HD 4000, HD 5000
    Classic Mac:
    iMac, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Dec 27, 2015 at 8:17 PM #334
    MacTester57

    MacTester57

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    901
    Mobo:
    Z68MX-UD2H-B3, DQ77KB, NUC DC53427HYE, NUC D54250WYKH
    CPU:
    i5-2500K, i3-3225, i7-3770S
    Graphics:
    HD 3000, HD 4000, HD 5000
    Classic Mac:
    iMac, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I had the same problem. See here:
    http://www.tonymacx86.com/imac-mods/104625-mactester57s-hemimac-g4-2.html#post639656

    A good, stable GND line is very important. Do not use crocodile clips for testing.

    Good luck

    MacTester

    and BTW: I hope, that you all had merry christmas and want wish you a happy 2016!
     
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2015
  5. Piume

    Piume

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Mobo:
    Homemade
    CPU:
    3,5 GHz Intel Core i7
    Graphics:
    EVGA Geforce GTX 760
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Dec 28, 2015 at 10:41 AM #335
    Piume

    Piume

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Mobo:
    Homemade
    CPU:
    3,5 GHz Intel Core i7
    Graphics:
    EVGA Geforce GTX 760
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Thanks for the help, The Grounding was the problem on the fishing. After connecting the Cage to proper ground it works fine.

    By the way, thanks for asking, Christmas was fine within the family. All good wishes to you for 2016 as well.
     
  6. Piume

    Piume

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Mobo:
    Homemade
    CPU:
    3,5 GHz Intel Core i7
    Graphics:
    EVGA Geforce GTX 760
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Dec 28, 2015 at 10:45 AM #336
    Piume

    Piume

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Mobo:
    Homemade
    CPU:
    3,5 GHz Intel Core i7
    Graphics:
    EVGA Geforce GTX 760
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Hello, and special thanks to MacTester57

    After a good grounding to the cage it works now fine.

    Christmas was fine, and all good wishes from me to you for 2016
     
  7. Piume

    Piume

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Mobo:
    Homemade
    CPU:
    3,5 GHz Intel Core i7
    Graphics:
    EVGA Geforce GTX 760
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 6, 2016 at 3:17 PM #337
    Piume

    Piume

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Mobo:
    Homemade
    CPU:
    3,5 GHz Intel Core i7
    Graphics:
    EVGA Geforce GTX 760
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Hello MacTester57,

    Step by step my Project goes on. The compleate display is working now, backlight and dispaly itself work very fine.

    My question now, could you please explain a little more detailed your power surplies. What power supplies did you user for your mod. As I read it was the NUC power supply and in addition the PICCO. Did you throw the original one to trash?

    I understanding is, you use the original power jack from the mac, and connect the NUC supply to it on 220V line. For the 19V line you created a Y-Cable one end going to the NUC, the other end to the PICO. And for starting the Pico you used this transistor, am I correct?

    It would be greate if you could publish a little "compleate" drawing of your Mod-Power-Supply.

    Thankx for it

    Piume
     
  8. Agurri

    Agurri

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Feb 2, 2016 at 5:26 PM #338
    Agurri

    Agurri

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    What kind of wires did you guys use to go from the PSU to whatever in you iMac ? And what kind of termination did you use ? Stranded ? Solid core ? Terminated with a little pin ?
     
  9. Hack516

    Hack516

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Aug 21, 2016 at 5:44 PM #339
    Hack516

    Hack516

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    I'm in desperate need for your help guys. I had everything working, but now just get a white to black hell of a Output. Please see my video to maybe recognize what is going wrong. thanks a lot.
     
  10. P1LGRIM

    P1LGRIM Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Messages:
    8,501
    Mobo:
    Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
    CPU:
    Intel i5-4570 3.2 GHz
    Graphics:
    GeForce GT 740 2047 MB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Aug 21, 2016 at 6:24 PM #340
    P1LGRIM

    P1LGRIM Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Messages:
    8,501
    Mobo:
    Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
    CPU:
    Intel i5-4570 3.2 GHz
    Graphics:
    GeForce GT 740 2047 MB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS

     

Share This Page