Contribute
Register

Ersterhernd's NUCiMac G4

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Aug 3, 2014
Messages
2
Motherboard
Brix
CPU
i5
Graphics
intel
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Lisa
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Thx, really appreciated your prompt reply.
1. Haven't ever tried hackintosh:p, I know it for a long time, but with 15 inch screen, it isn't ideal for a mac to run. Nevertheless, I don't think I will keep this nuc 2 in the 15 inch for a long time, planning to get back the 1st again in a near future, thus, I am planning to get a platform that can easier change the system, might be able to switch in the future.
2. There is a PSU inside the imac, but I haven't read through your words yet, I prefer read and work at the same, otherwise I will be easily lost. Just planning to get 12~24v power from the PSU instead, purchasing a connector wouldn't charge me more than a dollar, but consume a long time afterwards.
3. for the vesa mount, I am planning to get a Poly plate, and drill holes to latch on the base, then put the vesa plate on the poly, well, only $3 for 8 x 10 inch, worth to try. I've removed the CD-rom and hdd, should be enough for the height. well, we'll see.
4. Regarding the connectors, as same reason in 1. I am planning to switch boards in the future, mini-itx is a right size that can be fit in there, might be a good decision, if I can get some connectors on the PCBs, easier for change boards in the future. not expensive, if I get these from China, but don't yet know how to draw PCB boards, will learn.

well, you are right, I am in the electronics field, I know many things about these, but not expert to know these enough, we'll see. might be able to provide others a good and easy ways to start with.


I actually did use a 2nd gen NUC in my other G4 17" Build. For the added cost, it was not worth it. There needs to be a patched kernel installed with most updates, too. The original NUC was much easier to get OSX running and updated.

I wouldn't put the power brick anywhere except inside the dome. It was one of the first considerations in the project to figure out a method of using internal power. The finished look of the build in my opinion MUST use only a single external power cord as supplied originally with the iMac G4. Any other external power source was simply not an option for me.

If you have ordered the 34010WYK then you may have a graphics problem, as I don't believe OSX supports Intel HD4400, at least not yet. I may be wrong on that, but if not, you likely will not get full graphics acceleration or other functionality.




There simply isnt room inside the dome to use a Vesa plate, at least not with my builds. Even as is, I only had a couple of mm of clearance.




I'm not sure exactly what you mean, but selling these computers is simply asking for trouble. The end user must have extensive knowledge of the hardware and software requirements to make one of these work properly. Hackintoshing and Modding are not typically in the common scope of the retail buyer.



Good Luck, but check into that model of NUC before it arrives, as I'm not certain its going to work in OSX.



Cheers!
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2014
Messages
9
Motherboard
iMac g4
CPU
1.25 GHz PowerPC G4
Graphics
nVidia GeForce 4 MX
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi,
im really impressed by your work!
I want to mod my iMac g4 also, I'm a 21 year student (nothing technical) from the Netherlands so it is not so easy to start with this project, also because English is not my mother language.
- the intel haswell nuc-core i5-d54250wyk works perfect inside the iMac g4? Or is the i3 still the best/stable option?
- do I need a second iMac g4, because I read something about the screen cable? (Is to short/small?)

- and where should I start?


Thanks in advance :)
 
Joined
Nov 25, 2010
Messages
1,211
Motherboard
AsRock X570M Pro4
CPU
Ryzen 3700x
Graphics
RX 580
Hi,
im really impressed by your work!
I want to mod my iMac g4 also, I'm a 21 year student (nothing technical) from the Netherlands so it is not so easy to start with this project, also because English is not my mother language.
- the intel haswell nuc-core i5-d54250wyk works perfect inside the iMac g4? Or is the i3 still the best/stable option?
- do I need a second iMac g4, because I read something about the screen cable? (Is to short/small?)

- and where should I start?


Thanks in advance :)


Hi proXify, the iMac G4 is a beautiful machine to mod. Is yours a 17" version? There are major differences between the 17 and 20 inch sizes.

I recommend the NUC DC3217IYE for the G4. It has proven to be the best one to work with so far in the five iMac mods that I've completed. The newer Haswell NUC, although it has an extra SATA port and is somewhat faster, was problematic for me to work with and was considerably more expensive at the time that I ordered it.

You don't need to buy 2 iMacs. There are 3 extra wires you need to complete the DVI. If you want to use extra TMDS wires from another machine, you can simply order another neck from an old 15" model, and take the 3 wires from that.

Another way I discovered that works is to solder the 1k Ohm resistor directly to the DVI connector at pins 14 and 16, and solder a ground wire to pin 15. This eliminates the need for the three extra wires and the extra neck or iMac. Study the photo below and you'll see what I mean. I did this in my 20" iMac G5 project. The black wire at pin 15 is actual from another iMac, but could have been any type of wire soldered directly to the pin.


IMG_5028.JPG




Good Luck, you'll have a lot of fun with it if you decide to try it. Like yourself, I knew very little about these machines when I began, but learned a lot and had a great time doing it. Follow this thread if you need any help, there's two 17" iMacs that I finished in it.


Cheers!
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2014
Messages
9
Motherboard
iMac g4
CPU
1.25 GHz PowerPC G4
Graphics
nVidia GeForce 4 MX
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Any idea of an Apple Mac Mini i7 8gb Ram 1TB Fusion drive will fit inside the iMac g4? o_O Or is this to big? :eek:
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2014
Messages
27
Motherboard
Imac
CPU
G4
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I m following and studying this thread for about 2 weeks now, waiting for my... mint by the looks of it, g4 to arrive.
As I m trying to collect all the necessary parts (pico, dvi socket etc) I came upon this little guy which unfortunately doesn't ship to Greece where I live. I m almost sure that this would be a somewhat easier method to connect the Ethernet port with an extra short lan cable. If anyone know a retailer that offers international shipping for something like that LMK.
http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B004URXP2E/?tag=tonymacx86-21
 
Joined
Nov 25, 2010
Messages
1,211
Motherboard
AsRock X570M Pro4
CPU
Ryzen 3700x
Graphics
RX 580
I had a look at the right angle Ethernet connector, and I think it would be very tough to fit in, if even possible at all. The best (and most difficult) method in my opinion is to leave the existing G4 Ethernet port in place, and solder the eight Ethernet wires directly to the traces on the bottom of the logic board.

The height and thickness of the part you linked in your post look problematic. You'll see when you get your G4 taken apart how tight the space is for the rear I/O.


Good Luck and post pics!


Cheers!
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2014
Messages
27
Motherboard
Imac
CPU
G4
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I had a look at the right angle Ethernet connector, and I think it would be very tough to fit in, if even possible at all. The best (and most difficult) method in my opinion is to leave the existing G4 Ethernet port in place, and solder the eight Ethernet wires directly to the traces on the bottom of the logic board.

The height and thickness of the part you linked in your post look problematic. You'll see when you get your G4 taken apart how tight the space is for the rear I/O.


Good Luck and post pics!


Cheers!

I most certainly will ersterhernd! You re my inspiration!

You think that the height of this connector will interfere with the concave cage or is it a matter of real estate between the ac filter and the other I/Os?
 
Joined
Nov 25, 2010
Messages
1,211
Motherboard
AsRock X570M Pro4
CPU
Ryzen 3700x
Graphics
RX 580
I most certainly will ersterhernd! You re my inspiration!

You think that the height of this connector will interfere with the concave cage or is it a matter of real estate between the ac filter and the other I/Os?

There is very little space under the G4 ethernet port. This is due to the fact that the port is soldered directly to the 8 traces that run through the logic board. The photo of the product that you linked shows a larger portion of white plastic under the port, which wont likely work.

You may have success orienting the port vertically, but I doubt it, escpecially if you want the port to be firmly seated up against the outer shell like the original is.

Trying doesnt hurt, though. In fact its the very reason there are so many success stories on the forum!


Good Luck.
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2012
Messages
10
Motherboard
Hackintosh Pro
CPU
i5
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Thought I'd finally post something here too since I've been reading the forums for years now :)

Finally found (and bought) a decent iMac 20" last week so I'll be modding that one very soon. It will be used as an office mac in my company, since the design of the old iMac is so pretty it will be all the way up front at the reception.

I've been juggling many ideas the past weeks (once I knew I'd be buying the iMac), but what are your thoughts on these:
- Gigabyte Brix (pro)
- Zotac Zbox

Or would you say that a NUC Core i3 3217U packs more than enough punch for office, light photoshopping a simple video edit every now and again?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top