Ersterhernds iMac G5 (iSight 20 A1145) Project

Discussion in 'iMac Mods' started by ersterhernd, Mar 23, 2014.

  1. blackiblax

    blackiblax

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Mobo:
    Win7
    CPU:
    Amd
    Graphics:
    460 GS
    Mac:
    iMac, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, Windows Phone
    Dec 21, 2014 at 3:19 PM #51
    blackiblax

    blackiblax

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Mobo:
    Win7
    CPU:
    Amd
    Graphics:
    460 GS
    Mac:
    iMac, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, Windows Phone
  2. ersterhernd

    ersterhernd

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,198
    Mobo:
    MSI Z77MA-G45
    CPU:
    i7-3770k @ 4.3 GHz
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte R9 280X Windforce 3GB
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Dec 21, 2014 at 3:36 PM #52
    ersterhernd

    ersterhernd

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,198
    Mobo:
    MSI Z77MA-G45
    CPU:
    i7-3770k @ 4.3 GHz
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte R9 280X Windforce 3GB
    Mobile Phone:
    Android

    Hi blackiblax, the iMac you have is probably an Intel iMac, not a G5 as I have used. The A1145 was the final model to use the TMDS display. After that, Apple went to an LVDS panel in their iMac lineup, which is radically different technology than its predecessor.

    Conversion from HDMI to LVDS is something not yet tried on this forum. It requires a custom-programmed LVDS converter that is specific to the panel it's plugging into. Not cheap either from what I know.

    You can probably still mod that machine, but it will likely require purchasing a TMDS 20" panel like came in the A1145. Then only thing you'll have to be careful about is that the bolt patterns must match the current panel so it can be screwed in properly. These panels are available but good ones are tough to find.

    The power supply and inverter in your machine can likely be re-used. See this post for help with that; I'd do it that way if I ever did an iSight model again. I used a G4 LCD cable, but if I did it again would have used the existing cable soldered to an HDMI adapter like Kiwi did. In fact I was successful in doing that in my A1076 build recently. Many thanks to Kiwi for pioneering this method. Its difficult to complete, but very clean.

    Hope this helps, but unless you can find a way to convert LVDS to HDMI, you're out of luck with that LCD panel. Thus, nobody has yet attempted it on this forum. It'll be groundbreaking when someone does.


    Cheers!
     
  3. blackiblax

    blackiblax

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Mobo:
    Win7
    CPU:
    Amd
    Graphics:
    460 GS
    Mac:
    iMac, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, Windows Phone
    Dec 21, 2014 at 3:48 PM #53
    blackiblax

    blackiblax

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Mobo:
    Win7
    CPU:
    Amd
    Graphics:
    460 GS
    Mac:
    iMac, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, Windows Phone
    so I can not directly on the display with the hdmi cable? So solder the cable directly to a hdmi cable

    I need to use one (LVDS converter) ? :confused: that is bad ...:|
     
  4. ersterhernd

    ersterhernd

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,198
    Mobo:
    MSI Z77MA-G45
    CPU:
    i7-3770k @ 4.3 GHz
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte R9 280X Windforce 3GB
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Dec 21, 2014 at 3:53 PM #54
    ersterhernd

    ersterhernd

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,198
    Mobo:
    MSI Z77MA-G45
    CPU:
    i7-3770k @ 4.3 GHz
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte R9 280X Windforce 3GB
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    If you can find success with it, new possibilities will open up for iMac mods.

    Good Luck!
     
  5. blackiblax

    blackiblax

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Mobo:
    Win7
    CPU:
    Amd
    Graphics:
    460 GS
    Mac:
    iMac, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, Windows Phone
    Dec 21, 2014 at 3:57 PM #55
    blackiblax

    blackiblax

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Mobo:
    Win7
    CPU:
    Amd
    Graphics:
    460 GS
    Mac:
    iMac, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, Windows Phone
    I will Try My best Thank you Ersterhernds :thumbup::thumbup:
     
  6. iskra

    iskra

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Mobo:
    P5Q with 2209 mBIOS
    CPU:
    L5430@3.2GHz
    Graphics:
    ASUS GT630v2 1GB Silent
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS, Other
    Dec 29, 2014 at 6:56 AM #56
    iskra

    iskra

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Mobo:
    P5Q with 2209 mBIOS
    CPU:
    L5430@3.2GHz
    Graphics:
    ASUS GT630v2 1GB Silent
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS, Other
  7. ersterhernd

    ersterhernd

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,198
    Mobo:
    MSI Z77MA-G45
    CPU:
    i7-3770k @ 4.3 GHz
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte R9 280X Windforce 3GB
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Dec 29, 2014 at 6:46 PM #57
    ersterhernd

    ersterhernd

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,198
    Mobo:
    MSI Z77MA-G45
    CPU:
    i7-3770k @ 4.3 GHz
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte R9 280X Windforce 3GB
    Mobile Phone:
    Android

    The LVDS may be possible, but fitting the mITX form factor inside an iSight iMac shell is going to be a stretch. My 4x4" NUC just barely squeezed in.

    Just a word of caution.


    Cheers!
     
  8. iskra

    iskra

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Mobo:
    P5Q with 2209 mBIOS
    CPU:
    L5430@3.2GHz
    Graphics:
    ASUS GT630v2 1GB Silent
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS, Other
    Dec 30, 2014 at 5:15 PM #58
    iskra

    iskra

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Mobo:
    P5Q with 2209 mBIOS
    CPU:
    L5430@3.2GHz
    Graphics:
    ASUS GT630v2 1GB Silent
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS, Other

    Slim mITX is 6.7x6.7" and it is not higher than NUC yet one has to be creative with cooling. I think it possible.

    And great mod you did BTW. I definitely gonna do this one and 20" iMac G4 sometimes after I will have time to do my PMG5 standing in closet before)
     
  9. kiwisincebirth

    kiwisincebirth

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    777
    Mobo:
    GA-Z68MX / DQ77KB
    CPU:
    i7-2600 / i7-3770S
    Graphics:
    GTX 650 Ti / HD4000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Dec 31, 2014 at 1:53 AM #59
    kiwisincebirth

    kiwisincebirth

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    777
    Mobo:
    GA-Z68MX / DQ77KB
    CPU:
    i7-2600 / i7-3770S
    Graphics:
    GTX 650 Ti / HD4000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
  10. iCubeFan

    iCubeFan

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    171
    Mobo:
    Intel Nuc
    CPU:
    Intel Core I3
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4000
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 22, 2015 at 12:44 AM #60
    iCubeFan

    iCubeFan

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    171
    Mobo:
    Intel Nuc
    CPU:
    Intel Core I3
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4000
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Hi ersterhernd

    I'd like to try Clover in my DC3217BY but I can't find a specific guide for this model.
    I tried this one http://www.tonymacx86.com/yosemite-desktop-guides/144426-how-install-os-x-yosemite-using-clover.html with no success.
    Could you please post a brief summary of the process you followed and the issues you encountered?

    Edit:It would be great if you could post your config.plist file

    Many thanks
    F
     

Share This Page