"Error Loading Operating System" on boot screen

Discussion in 'El Capitan Desktop Support' started by autobioo, Jan 1, 2016.

  1. autobioo

    autobioo

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Jan 1, 2016 at 7:32 AM #1
    autobioo

    autobioo

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Hi guys,

    I just finished building my computer yesterday (its an Intel Skylake build), and now I am trying to install El Capitan on it.

    Motherboard: MSI Z170A Krait Edition
    CPU: Intel i5 6500
    Graphics card: EVGA GTX 750 Ti

    I used Unibeast and installed El Capitan on it using my macbook, but when I plug it into my computer, the message I get on the boot screen is:"Error loading operating system_". Also, I couldn't find how to Load optimized defaults on my BIOS screen on my motherboard, not sure if that's required or relevant.

    What do you guys think I should do? I should also say that I am new to the Hackintosh world. Any help would be appreciated!
     
  2. linuxrox

    linuxrox

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    Messages:
    648
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte Z97N-Wifi
    CPU:
    i7-4790K
    Graphics:
    HD4600
    Jan 1, 2016 at 4:46 PM #2
    linuxrox

    linuxrox

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    Messages:
    648
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte Z97N-Wifi
    CPU:
    i7-4790K
    Graphics:
    HD4600
    recreate your USB, use a 16G USB thumb drive.
     
  3. zenoVH

    zenoVH

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Motherboard:
    MSI
    CPU:
    Intel I7 4790K
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GTX 970
    Jan 21, 2016 at 6:51 PM #3
    zenoVH

    zenoVH

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Motherboard:
    MSI
    CPU:
    Intel I7 4790K
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GTX 970
    Hi,


    Im having the same problem, also i have a similar mother board (z97 sli krait edition).
    Maybe something MoBo related ?? Hopefully someone can help me cause i suck at these kind of things...
    Thanks :)
     
  4. harveyfamily2001

    harveyfamily2001

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Motherboard:
    MSI Mortar Z170m
    CPU:
    Core i5-6500
    Graphics:
    nVidia GTS 450
    Jan 21, 2016 at 7:39 PM #4
    harveyfamily2001

    harveyfamily2001

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Motherboard:
    MSI Mortar Z170m
    CPU:
    Core i5-6500
    Graphics:
    nVidia GTS 450
    I have an MSI Mortar Z170m board with the GUI based BIOS. Can you turn off the IOAPIC? I don't have that option in mine at all.
     
  5. ammulder

    ammulder Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    Messages:
    3,354
    Motherboard:
    GA-H87N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Core i7-4790S
    Graphics:
    GT 740
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 23, 2016 at 12:39 AM #5
    ammulder

    ammulder Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    Messages:
    3,354
    Motherboard:
    GA-H87N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Core i7-4790S
    Graphics:
    GT 740
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    A z97 board is a very different proposition than a Skylake board, so please don't think the boards are similar.

    The first thing I would try is using your BIOS hotkey to select a boot device, and from the menu it gives you, select either UEFI:YourUSBDrive or UEFI:YourSystemDrive, depending on whether you're trying to start the installer or boot to the installed system. (This assumes you selected UEFI from UniBeast/MultiBeast, which you should have for a 97 board.)

    harveyfamily2001, IOAPIC is not relevant to non-Skylake boards, and a 97 board would not have that setting.
     
  6. harveyfamily2001

    harveyfamily2001

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Motherboard:
    MSI Mortar Z170m
    CPU:
    Core i5-6500
    Graphics:
    nVidia GTS 450
    Jan 23, 2016 at 1:59 AM #6
    harveyfamily2001

    harveyfamily2001

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Motherboard:
    MSI Mortar Z170m
    CPU:
    Core i5-6500
    Graphics:
    nVidia GTS 450

    My Z170 board does not have a way to disable IOAPIC in the BIOS. I'm hoping the patch for it will disable it but I am wondering if the fact that I can't disable it in BIOS is the reason that it's a crap shoot for the USB stick to even boot correctly?
     
  7. inecrafter

    inecrafter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte Gaming Z170-SLI
    CPU:
    i7 6700K
    Graphics:
    MSI GTX 970 GAMING 4G
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Feb 14, 2016 at 12:12 PM #7
    inecrafter

    inecrafter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte Gaming Z170-SLI
    CPU:
    i7 6700K
    Graphics:
    MSI GTX 970 GAMING 4G
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I have the exact same problem on my Gigabyte motherboard with no way to disable the IOAPIC. I asked customers support about it two weeks ago, still waiting for a reply. I tried using all kinds of skylake starter guides and patches, but nothing works.
     
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2016
  8. magssss

    magssss

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Motherboard:
    Asus Maximus gene viii
    CPU:
    I5-6500
    Graphics:
    Intel 530
    Jun 16, 2016 at 6:22 PM #8
    magssss

    magssss

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Motherboard:
    Asus Maximus gene viii
    CPU:
    I5-6500
    Graphics:
    Intel 530
    I have the same problem with asus gene VIII and i5-6500. I followed all the instructions but I get the same error loading from the usb drive
     
  9. matte23n

    matte23n

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    20
    Motherboard:
    American MegaTrends
    CPU:
    Intel i7-4700HQ
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 850M
    Oct 23, 2016 at 5:54 PM #9
    matte23n

    matte23n

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    20
    Motherboard:
    American MegaTrends
    CPU:
    Intel i7-4700HQ
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 850M
    Hey man did u fix this problem? i'm having the same :(
     
  10. F1234567

    F1234567

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2017
    Messages:
    22
    Motherboard:
    Z170MX Gaming 5
    CPU:
    i7 6700k OC 4.6 Ghz
    Graphics:
    GTX 980 Ti 6Gb
    Mac:
    iMac
    Jan 19, 2017 at 6:32 AM #10
    F1234567

    F1234567

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2017
    Messages:
    22
    Motherboard:
    Z170MX Gaming 5
    CPU:
    i7 6700k OC 4.6 Ghz
    Graphics:
    GTX 980 Ti 6Gb
    Mac:
    iMac
    Have the same problem after buying everything the setup guide suggested. Even bought the USB drive from the setup guide :)

    "Error loading operating system"

    Tried rebuilding the thumb drive a bunch of times.

    Is there any reason the Supersonic 16 GB would not work?
     
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2017

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice