Contribute
Register

erik's "Tiny But Mighty" HTPC: ASRock Z370M-ITX/ac - i5-8400 - UHD 630 Graphics - High Sierra

Joined
Jan 21, 2012
Messages
35
Motherboard
Asrock Fatal1ty Z370 Gaming-ITX/ac-Clover
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
Radeon VII + UHD 630
I have an Asrock Fatal1ty Z370 Gaming ITX/AC and I have it working pretty solidly except that my computer wakes from sleep due to XDCI. Bluetooth and Wifi work with no issues for me. My Mighty Mouse stutters if I connect to my 2G network but on 5G it works nicely.

I'll post for you all if it helps. Looking at it, it's pretty similar to the others posted except I have my bluetooth on port HS14 where others seem to have it on HS13. Works for me though...


erik, how is your computer when it goes to sleep? Does it wake automatically once the fans shut down and keep powering on and sleeping in a vicious cycle?
 

Attachments

Joined
Feb 8, 2018
Messages
1
Motherboard
ASRock Z370M-ITX/ac
CPU
i5-8600K
Graphics
Intel UHD 630
Hey guys,

I've got everything up and running with a few exceptions. I'd greatly appreciate it if anyone can help point me in the right direction. Thanks in advance!

My build is basically the same except I have an i5-8600K processor and have not bought the Broadcom card. I also have an extra chassis fan. Here are the problems I'm facing:

1. Graphics hiccups despite full acceleration
  • Chrome does not render at all. I tried setting the defaults through terminal (not even the settings page works so I had to use terminal) to disable the gpu acceleration on chrome with no luck. I thought it might be an HTML5 issue but I tested html5 sites in safari with success. I also tested webGL, which also works in safari. Netflix, however, gives me an error (potential HDCP error?)
  • Sleep sometimes causes graphics glitches on wakeup. I tried generating a new ssdt using ssdtPRGen.sh (followed the guide) but cannot successfully run because I have an 'unknown processor model'. I tried the commands './ssdtPRGen.sh -p 'i5-8600K' -f 3600 -turbo 4300' and './ssdtPRGen.sh -p 'i5-6600K' -f 3600 -turbo 4300' but both failed with the same error.
    UPDATE: I did as RehabMan said in his first reply to this post: https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/guide-generate-ssdt-for-coffee-lake-cpu.238311/ and checked PluginType in Clover Configurator. I let my computer sleep for ~1 hour and it did not crash. I'll update again if the issue seems to be fixed after a little more testing.
    UPDATE 2: I let my computer sleep over night and it crashed / restarted. Anybody know if there's anything else I might need to do in addition to checking PluginType in Clover Configurator?
  • Occasional Random graphics crash – it has only happened once so it may be an anomaly, but I'd guess that's unlikely considering my other issues. The screen seems to stop updating in certain places and flickers – I restart to fix the problem.
    UPDATE: This hasn't happened again – maybe it was just an anomaly. I'll update again if this presents itself again. For now, looks like this was an anomaly or something I fixed without realizing it.
  • The middle of the screen tears on the startup load page with the apple logo (not sure if this is normal or not)
2. Unknown Processor
  • about this Mac recognizes that my processor is 3.6GHz but the model is unknown, which also seems to be preventing me from producing a new SSDT file, as mentioned above
3. Missing User folder / Name in top right
  • Finder does not show my user folder on the left sidebar. My name is also missing from the top right section of the menu bar UPDATE: I didn't realize there was a system preference setting to fix the user name issue (#3); that was a simple fix, sorry!

I've attached my config.plist and my ioreg. Please let me know if there are any additional files I should add.

SIDE NOTE: I used MultiBeast to set everything up initially. I also did not have the correct CLOVER folder in the EFI partition on install, but have since updated it with the original post's attachment.
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Apr 16, 2018
Messages
5
Motherboard
ASRock Z370m-ITX/ac
CPU
Intel i5 8400
Graphics
IGPU: Intel UHD 630
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
I got exactly the same hardware like erik. However, nearly everything seems to work on High Sierra 10.13.4 with the files from the first post, except for the Displayport. Has anyone the same problem? While connected through the displayport, I can reach 2/3 from the boot before my display (DELL P2415Q) complains about no input. HDMI works. Due to technical limitations of the integrated Intel UHD630 GPU, I need to use Displayport for 4K@60Hz. I also updated all included Kexts to the recent versions, unfortunately without any change. Any help is really appreciated!
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 23, 2013
Messages
112
Motherboard
ASRock Z370M-iTX/ac
CPU
i5-8400
Graphics
RX570
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
I got nearly the same hardware like erik, the only difference is my motherboard: ASRock Z370m-ITX/AC. However, nearly everything seems to work with the files from the first post on High Sierra 10.13.4, except for the Displayport. Has anyone the same problem? While connected through the displayport, I can reach 2/3 from the boot before my display (DELL P2415Q) complains about no input. HDMI works. Due to technical limitations of the integrated Intel UHD630 GPU, I need to use Displayport for 4K@60Hz. I also updated all included Kexts to the recent versions, unfortunately without any change. Any help is really appreciated!
Please fill in your profile details.

Also, erik did use the ASRock Z370m-ITX/AC motherboard.
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2018
Messages
5
Motherboard
ASRock Z370m-ITX/ac
CPU
Intel i5 8400
Graphics
IGPU: Intel UHD 630
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Please fill in your profile details.

Also, erik did use the ASRock Z370m-ITX/AC motherboard.
Done. Has anyone an idea what I could try to get the Displayport working?
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2013
Messages
112
Motherboard
ASRock Z370M-iTX/ac
CPU
i5-8400
Graphics
RX570
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Done. Has anyone an idea what I could try to get the Displayport working?
Please attach your current EFI folder. Also, please include a screenshot of your /Library/Extensions/ folder (not your /System/Library/Extensions folder.
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2018
Messages
5
Motherboard
ASRock Z370m-ITX/ac
CPU
Intel i5 8400
Graphics
IGPU: Intel UHD 630
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Please attach your current EFI folder. Also, please include a screenshot of your /Library/Extensions/ folder (not your /System/Library/Extensions folder.
Really appreciate your help! :)

Edit: The attached EFI folder is the one from the efi partition, not that one visible on the screenshot inside /Library/.
 

Attachments

Joined
Dec 23, 2013
Messages
112
Motherboard
ASRock Z370M-iTX/ac
CPU
i5-8400
Graphics
RX570
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
1. Install the USBInjectALL kext to /L/E using KextBeast
2. Replace you entire EFI with the one attached.
3. Reboot and go into your BIOS.
4. Reset BIOS to defaults and see if it boots.

Good luck!
 

Attachments

Joined
Apr 16, 2018
Messages
5
Motherboard
ASRock Z370m-ITX/ac
CPU
Intel i5 8400
Graphics
IGPU: Intel UHD 630
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
1. Install the USBInjectALL kext to /L/E using KextBeast
2. Replace you entire EFI with the one attached.
3. Reboot and go into your BIOS.
4. Reset BIOS to defaults and see if it boots.

Good luck!
Thank you, the Displayport works now! :) Unfortunately I can still only choose non-HiDPI 1440p in the display preferences menu. See the attached screenshot ('niedrige Auflösung' means 'low resolution'). Any idea how I can get the 4k Resolution scaled with factor (2/3) to get a scaled HiDPI 1440p resolution? I already googled a bit and tried this tutorial without success.
 

Attachments

Top