Contribute
Register

erik's "Tiny But Mighty" HTPC: ASRock Z370M-ITX/ac - i5-8400 - UHD 630 Graphics - High Sierra

Joined
May 31, 2016
Messages
114
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170X UD5 TH
CPU
I7-6700K
Graphics
VEGA 64
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
I'm not erik, but I have an SSDT that works perfectly. Make sure you have USBInjectAll.kext in Other/kexts and put this in Clover/ACPI/patched

BTW, you don't need the raise port limit patch or any _excludes in Clover Configurator.
Hi Doc,
I have the same configuration except for the GPU that I'm planning to buy. With my config.plist it sleeps and wakes up without problems. I followed the guide made by Kphs.
My question is: is there a way to make the onboard wi-fi to work? Did you change the chip with the broadcom too?
Thanks!
A.
 

Attachments

Joined
Aug 11, 2012
Messages
258
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 570
Hi Doc,
I have the same configuration except for the GPU that I'm planning to buy. With my config.plist it sleeps and wakes up without problems. I followed the guide made by Kphs.
My question is: is there a way to make the onboard wi-fi to work? Did you change the chip with the broadcom too?
Thanks!
A.
The included wifi/bluetooth chip will not work.
I used the Broadcom BCM94352Z NGFF which is an exact replica but takes a little work to install. And of course you must add some kexts to make it work.
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2013
Messages
4
Hey there,

I've been setting the same configuration as Erik's except for the processor which is an I7-8700 in my case.

For some unknown reason I have to add the cpus=10 boot flag for my computer to work properly.

If i don't, the computer crashes at High Sierra login screen (I type my password and press Enter -> the computer crashes).

To be more exact:
  • cpus=1, cpus=2, ..., cpus=10 work (and I had to use one of these flag to perform the install).
  • cpus=11, cpus=12 or no cpus flag crash at login
Enclosed is my CLOVER folder. It's basically the same as Erik's except fot the lilu.kext that I updated to the latest version.

Does anyone have of what could cause this problem?

Any help would be appreciated!
 

Attachments

Joined
Aug 11, 2012
Messages
258
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 570
Hi Doc,
I have the same configuration except for the GPU that I'm planning to buy. With my config.plist it sleeps and wakes up without problems. I followed the guide made by Kphs.
My question is: is there a way to make the onboard wi-fi to work? Did you change the chip with the broadcom too?
Thanks!
A.
I tried your config...still no sleep. Can you upload your EFI?
Thanks
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2012
Messages
258
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 570
Hey there,

I've been setting the same configuration as Erik's except for the processor which is an I7-8700 in my case.

For some unknown reason I have to add the cpus=10 boot flag for my computer to work properly.

If i don't, the computer crashes at High Sierra login screen (I type my password and press Enter -> the computer crashes).

To be more exact:
  • cpus=1, cpus=2, ..., cpus=10 work (and I had to use one of these flag to perform the install).
  • cpus=11, cpus=12 or no cpus flag crash at login
Enclosed is my CLOVER folder. It's basically the same as Erik's except fot the lilu.kext that I updated to the latest version.

Does anyone have of what could cause this problem?

Any help would be appreciated!
Have you checked your BIOS settings? That's my only idea....
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2012
Messages
258
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 570
Under IOService I see the same thing (am going down to Apple USB Host Resources). I see all items that are plugged in, and nothing else. Maybe this is what I am supposed to see?

Thanks.
Not sure what AppleHost Resources is. Look for XHC@14 (at least that's my number.) Under that you should see all the ports that are available. With just USBInjectall.kext and the port limit patch, you should see 24 or 26 ports.
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2012
Messages
258
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 570
Under IOService I see the same thing (am going down to Apple USB Host Resources). I see all items that are plugged in, and nothing else. Maybe this is what I am supposed to see?

Thanks.
This what I see after creating my SSDT and removing the port limit patch...
Screen Shot 2018-02-26 at 7.04.50 PM.png
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2013
Messages
4
Have you checked your BIOS settings? That's my only idea....
Thanks Doc for your input.

I did come back to the default BIOS settings then disabled the Vd-t and chose onboard as Primary Graphics Adapter but the behavior remained the same.

I'm currently using BIOS version 1.80 which is very recent, I'll come back to version 1.60 and see what happen.

I just hope my CPU is not faulty.
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2013
Messages
4
OK, I downgraded the BIOS to v1.60 -> The computer still crashes at login.

Then I removed the cpu, sprayed a little of dry air of the socket and the cpu, remounted everything -> The computer still crashes at login.

I do have another computer running on Windows with I5-8400. So i took some time and swaped the cpus.
-> The Windows computer seems to work OK with the I7-8700.
-> The High Sierra one no more crashes at login =).


I would be interested to know if this kind of behavior is normal or surprising.

Anyway, I think I'm gonna stick like that for now. Thanks Erik for the guide the Clover folder.
 
Joined
May 31, 2016
Messages
114
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170X UD5 TH
CPU
I7-6700K
Graphics
VEGA 64
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
The included wifi/bluetooth chip will not work.
I used the Broadcom BCM94352Z NGFF which is an exact replica but takes a little work to install. And of course you must add some kexts to make it work.
Hi Doc, and all. Since I didn't want to work around the wifi card I tried an USB Wifi Dongle and after a research of the right drivers (still Sierra version) now works very well. I tried the Dootoper AC1200 (I think is based on realtek board) and paid it on Amazon Italy € 15.
Now I'm looking for a RX580 at a fair price (not now).
Thanks!
Alex
 
Top