Contribute
Register

Enabling CUDA on Yosemite After Effects Raytracing GTX 970

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jun 1, 2014
Messages
23
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-Gaming 7
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
GTX 970
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Well as of now I have my EVGA GTX 970 working with adobe premier with open cl and my CUDA Driver Version: 7.0.36 and GPU Driver Version: 10.3.7 (346.01.02f04). However my main question is does anyone know if Raytracing is working in AE. I have tried editing the raytracing textdoc like so many tutorials said to do but not dice. Also the GPU works with other adobe cc suite like photoshop, premier etc and Maya 2015 but AE is a no go. If anyone can point me to a tut on how to fix this and enable it and also what is the diffrence between CUDA and OpenCL and if this affects anything. Any useful links would be helpful. I love to read and learn and thats one of the main reasons I built my hackintosh and thanks to this website and you guys I haven't had any problem I haven't been able to solve by researching on here. :thumbup:
 

slim.jim

Moderator
Joined
Dec 17, 2014
Messages
4,222
Motherboard
MSI Z97 Gaming 9 AC
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Well as of now I have my EVGA GTX 970 working with adobe premier with open cl and my CUDA Driver Version: 7.0.36 and GPU Driver Version: 10.3.7 (346.01.02f04). However my main question is does anyone know if Raytracing is working in AE. I have tried editing the raytracing textdoc like so many tutorials said to do but not dice. Also the GPU works with other adobe cc suite like photoshop, premier etc and Maya 2015 but AE is a no go. If anyone can point me to a tut on how to fix this and enable it and also what is the diffrence between CUDA and OpenCL and if this affects anything. Any useful links would be helpful. I love to read and learn and thats one of the main reasons I built my hackintosh and thanks to this website and you guys I haven't had any problem I haven't been able to solve by researching on here. :thumbup:

I don't use AE but I have AE CS6 installed (haven't bit the bullet for CC yet) and I it appears to be enabled in settings:

Screen Shot 2015-06-08 at 1.14.11 AM.png

The only thing I did was add "GeForce GTX 970" to the raytracer_supported_cards.txt
 

slim.jim

Moderator
Joined
Dec 17, 2014
Messages
4,222
Motherboard
MSI Z97 Gaming 9 AC
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Follow Slim.Jims guide, thats the one I used. Also if you need to troubleshoot follow pirrples guide I too used that one to troubleshoot my Yosemite boot. I recommend a fresh install of your OS I tried doing the update and that just took too long and had me going bonkers. Just back up your data in time machine if you can. Best of Luck.

Slim.Jim I have tried doing that for AE CC but it still does not work. Did you reboot afterwards, and was there a particular order in which you put the name of the card lol! :lol: These may sound like stupid questions but it sucks that I have a powerful card and can't use it for one of the main 4 programs I use.

I just added it as the last card in the list, don't remeber doing anything special or rebooting at a specific time. I think it just might be different with CS6 vs CC.
 
Joined
Sep 4, 2014
Messages
7
Motherboard
Generic Notebook
CPU
i7-4700MQ
Graphics
IntelHD4600 hybrid GTX870M
Mac
  1. iMac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Well as of now I have my EVGA GTX 970 working with adobe premier with open cl and my CUDA Driver Version: 7.0.36 and GPU Driver Version: 10.3.7 (346.01.02f04). However my main question is does anyone know if Raytracing is working in AE. I have tried editing the raytracing textdoc like so many tutorials said to do but not dice. Also the GPU works with other adobe cc suite like photoshop, premier etc and Maya 2015 but AE is a no go. If anyone can point me to a tut on how to fix this and enable it and also what is the diffrence between CUDA and OpenCL and if this affects anything. Any useful links would be helpful. I love to read and learn and thats one of the main reasons I built my hackintosh and thanks to this website and you guys I haven't had any problem I haven't been able to solve by researching on here. :thumbup:

Did u put the right card name?
To make sure, run the sniffer
/Applications/Adobe After Effects CC 2014/Adobe After Effects CC 2014.app/Contents/GPUSniffer.app/Contents/MacOS/GPUSniffer

Take just the Renderer Name without Vendor and Engine
e.g.
--- OpenGL Info ---
Vendor: NVIDIA Corporation
Renderer: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 870M OpenGL Engine

In this case, just "GeForce GTX 870M"

and as slim.jim says, add to the end of list.

raytracer_supported_cards.txt
opencl_supported_cards.txt

if some of these files missing, create it.
 
Joined
Jun 1, 2014
Messages
23
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-Gaming 7
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
GTX 970
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Well I updated to AE CC15 just to see if maybe that would fix it but no dice. Adobe cc15 does not have raytracer txt file. Also this is what I'm seeing on my adobe system, it see the card but says CUDA driver is not updated even though it it. Enclosed are the images for AE 15 and CUDA also it was the same thing showing in AE14
adobe.pngcuda.pngscreen1.png
 
Joined
Jun 1, 2014
Messages
23
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-Gaming 7
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
GTX 970
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
So I guess NVIDIA released CUDA 7.56 because as soon as I updated my after effects recognized the gpu as unknow. So I followed the steps and now both premiere and after effects hace accelerated gpu cuda available. I reverted back to AE 14 since 15 may not work and I really don't feel like fuzzing with it due to the lack of time I have. Thanks for the help y'all. :thumbup:
ae14.pngp14.png
 

slim.jim

Moderator
Joined
Dec 17, 2014
Messages
4,222
Motherboard
MSI Z97 Gaming 9 AC
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I am not having any problems with AE 15 recognizing my GTX 970 after adding "GeForce GTX 970" to the raytracer_supported_cards.txt file. I am running 10.10.4 with the 346.01.03f01 driver and CUDA 7.0.52

Screen Shot 2015-07-05 at 12.53.16 AM.png
 
Joined
Jun 1, 2014
Messages
23
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-Gaming 7
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
GTX 970
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
:thumbup: tried it on AE 15 and it works flawlessly, took me some time to find the folder with the raytracer file lol thx for the help and keep hackintoshing.:headbang:
 
Joined
Mar 20, 2012
Messages
451
Motherboard
GA-Z170Z-UD3
CPU
Intel Core i5 6600K
Graphics
Integrated graphics
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I am not having any problems with AE 15 recognizing my GTX 970 after adding "GeForce GTX 970" to the raytracer_supported_cards.txt file. I am running 10.10.4 with the 346.01.03f01 driver and CUDA 7.0.52



and the CUDA is actually working in after effects?im asking you because i added my video card to the raytracer_supported_cards.txt file and i can see my video card on the after effects display setting,but today when i rendering a 3 minutes after effects project,after effects did the rendering in 1 hour and 30 minutes,same time it took my other hackintosh with the Intel HD Graphics 4600 to do the rendering to same after effects project
 

slim.jim

Moderator
Joined
Dec 17, 2014
Messages
4,222
Motherboard
MSI Z97 Gaming 9 AC
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Well, I tried running a AE Ray Tracing benchmark project got some errors and did some more research. Turns out it is a Maxwell issue. This explains a lot: http://www.studio1productions.com/blog/?p=346

I don't normally use AE so I hadn't tested it fully.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top