Contribute
Register

Enabling Bluetooth for P8P67 * boards and BT-211

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
May 7, 2011
Messages
15
Motherboard
Dell Vostro 3350
CPU
i3-2310
Graphics
HD3000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks! I'll try it.

Your terminal command gives me

Bluetooth USB Host Controller:

Product ID: 0x3002
Vendor ID: 0x0cf3 (Atheros Communications, Inc.)
Version: 0,01
Speed: Up to 12 Mb/sec
Location ID: 0x1a140000 / 3
Current Available (mA): 500
Current Required (mA): 100
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2011
Messages
79
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
macsimum said:
Thanks! I'll try it.

Your terminal command gives me
Product ID: 0x3002

You sure it's after clean boot, so BT is not detected with Mac OS X? Please be sure to turn your laptop completely off (with desktop it requires unplugging it, or turning switch on PSU).
 
Joined
May 7, 2011
Messages
15
Motherboard
Dell Vostro 3350
CPU
i3-2310
Graphics
HD3000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
No luck.
"Unable to claim interface", and no difference is it cold boot and unrecognized BT, or restart from Windows with recognized and working BT.

It would be great at least to make BT stay working after sleep, I don't restart to often, but after sleep, BT icon is crosse? and BT doesn't work.
 
Joined
May 7, 2011
Messages
15
Motherboard
Dell Vostro 3350
CPU
i3-2310
Graphics
HD3000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I think the problem that my BT is not a USB as it seems to be. It's located on the same Dell Wireless 1702 and I think that it's connected through miniPCIe.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2011
Messages
79
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
macsimum said:
No luck.
"Unable to claim interface", and no difference is it cold boot and unrecognized BT, or restart from Windows with recognized and working BT.

You mean it's 3002 regardless of cold boot?

It would be great at least to make BT stay working after sleep, I don't restart to often, but after sleep, BT icon is crossed and BT doesn't work.

I have no idea how to do that :(
Does it get initialized from Linux? You can try Ubuntu from VMWare Fusion (see my experiments at the very beginning of this thread).
If Linux can handle this, in theory we can also port the initialization code to Mac OS. If not, a USB sniffer to intercept initialization commands from windows looks like the only option.

I think the problem that my BT is not a USB as it seems to be. It's located on the same Dell Wireless 1702 and I think that it's connected through miniPCIe.

I'm not a hardware guy, but if Mac OS sees it as USB, then it should be USB (at least, it responds to USB commands). I think, MiniPCIe board can have it's own USB controller (or in a simpler way).
 
Joined
May 7, 2011
Messages
15
Motherboard
Dell Vostro 3350
CPU
i3-2310
Graphics
HD3000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
drcrack said:
You mean it's 3002 regardless of cold boot?
Yes, always 3002.
I have no idea how to do that :(
Does it get initialized from Linux? You can try Ubuntu from VMWare Fusion (see my experiments at the very beginning of this thread).
If Linux can handle this, in theory we can also port the initialization code to Mac OS. If not, a USB sniffer to intercept initialization commands from windows looks like the only option.
I'll try and post results here.
I'm not a hardware guy, but if Mac OS sees it as USB, then it should be USB (at least, it responds to USB commands). I think, MiniPCIe board can have it's own USB controller (or in a simpler way).
Just a thought. I'll post later - after trying linux.
 
Joined
May 7, 2011
Messages
15
Motherboard
Dell Vostro 3350
CPU
i3-2310
Graphics
HD3000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
robwoodward said:
Ok I feel really dumb but I cannot get "sudo ./install" to work. after I enter my password it just says "./install : command not found. What am I doing wrong?
you need to cd to the directory where your patch is located.
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2011
Messages
12
Motherboard
GA-Z68X-UD3H
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
GT 710
macsimum said:
robwoodward said:
Ok I feel really dumb but I cannot get "sudo ./install" to work. after I enter my password it just says "./install : command not found. What am I doing wrong?
you need to cd to the directory where your patch is located.

Pretty sure I am:

robs-mac-pro:ath3k-firmware-uploader Rob$ ls
ath3k-1.fw install
ath3k-firmware-uploader local.ath3k-firmware-uploader.plist
robs-mac-pro:ath3k-firmware-uploader Rob$ sudo ./install
Password:
sudo: ./install: command not found

Any other ideas?
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2011
Messages
79
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
robwoodward said:
sudo: ./install: command not found

Any other ideas?

Maybe this will help:

chmod +x ./install

then
sudo ./install
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top