Contribute
Register

Enabling AMD RX 4XX cards in Sierra.

Joined
May 15, 2016
Messages
4,626
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z170M D3H
CPU
i5-6500
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
iMac
Hi Gigamaxx, have you tried two RX 480 cards at the same time? In my skylake system I can boot with one card and it works fine. I was trying with two identical cards but I get black screen at the end of the boot..
Try inject Intel and not injecting ATI. There is no crossfire support in OsX but you can double your open CL scores/performance in apps like Luxmark Ball benchmark.

Luxmark crossfire.png this is an old bench with 2 RX 480s
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2015
Messages
43
Motherboard
z77x-ud3h
CPU
i7 3770k
Graphics
RX 480
Mobile Phone
iOS
I have 10.12.2 up and running. This time I have gone clover modification method. Have followed the steps as per carpentryplus25 post 272. And I have also patched according to Mork_vom_Ork's clover patch. everything's working well. Now it shows rx 480 8gb, and acceleration works but luxmark shows only 16 cu active. Do I have to do something else to make more cu active?
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2013
Messages
11
Motherboard
MSI Z170 G43 Plus
CPU
Intel i7 6700K
Graphics
XFX Radeon RX 480 RS 4GB
My rx 480 running good with blackscreen boot way, but now I can't boot with my hd 530, even the power pin of rx 480 unplugged, my pc won't boot up with my hd 530. I need to instal windows, and get dual booting, and now I need to change my bios setting but my Pc wont boot into bios with hd 530. Help me, what should I do?
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2015
Messages
43
Motherboard
z77x-ud3h
CPU
i7 3770k
Graphics
RX 480
Mobile Phone
iOS
My rx 480 running good with blackscreen boot way, but now I can't boot with my hd 530, even the power pin of rx 480 unplugged, my pc won't boot up with my hd 530. I need to instal windows, and get dual booting, and now I need to change my bios setting but my Pc wont boot into bios with hd 530. Help me, what should I do?
To install windows, just change "init display" to auto or pcie in bios and unplug display out from motherboard and connect it only to graphics card. You will have boot screen and graphics card also. No need of removing the graphics card power.
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2013
Messages
11
Motherboard
MSI Z170 G43 Plus
CPU
Intel i7 6700K
Graphics
XFX Radeon RX 480 RS 4GB
To install windows, just change "init display" to auto or pcie in bios and unplug display out from motherboard and connect it only to graphics card. You will have boot screen and graphics card also. No need of removing the graphics card power.
I can't boot into bios, I don't know why, when I boot with hdmi plug to MoBo it just blackscreen
 
Joined
May 15, 2016
Messages
4,626
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z170M D3H
CPU
i5-6500
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
iMac
I can't boot into bios, I don't know why, when I boot with hdmi plug to MoBo it just blackscreen
Disconnect your Ssd/hdd and boot it should clear and go to bios screen. Turnoff plug drive back in and boot to bios by pressing " delete" key during start up
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2015
Messages
43
Motherboard
z77x-ud3h
CPU
i7 3770k
Graphics
RX 480
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hey gigamaxx, I have patched clover plist as on this thread - post 272, and that clover patch by mork_vom_ork. Gpu works alright but I can't get 36 cu active, only 16. Do I need to do something else? Also fcpx 10.3.1 is crashing at start now, in 12.1 , I followed your guide and fcpx was working well. Are you facing similar things?
 
Top