Contribute
Register

Enabling AMD RX 4XX cards in Sierra.

Joined
Nov 18, 2015
Messages
46
Motherboard
z77x-ud3h
CPU
i7 3770k
Graphics
RX 480
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have 10.12.2 up and running. This time I have gone clover modification method. Have followed the steps as per carpentryplus25 post 272. And I have also patched according to Mork_vom_Ork's clover patch. everything's working well. Now it shows rx 480 8gb, and acceleration works but luxmark shows only 16 cu active. Do I have to do something else to make more cu active?
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2013
Messages
11
Motherboard
MSI Z170 G43 Plus
CPU
Intel i7 6700K
Graphics
XFX Radeon RX 480 RS 4GB
My rx 480 running good with blackscreen boot way, but now I can't boot with my hd 530, even the power pin of rx 480 unplugged, my pc won't boot up with my hd 530. I need to instal windows, and get dual booting, and now I need to change my bios setting but my Pc wont boot into bios with hd 530. Help me, what should I do?
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2015
Messages
46
Motherboard
z77x-ud3h
CPU
i7 3770k
Graphics
RX 480
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
My rx 480 running good with blackscreen boot way, but now I can't boot with my hd 530, even the power pin of rx 480 unplugged, my pc won't boot up with my hd 530. I need to instal windows, and get dual booting, and now I need to change my bios setting but my Pc wont boot into bios with hd 530. Help me, what should I do?
To install windows, just change "init display" to auto or pcie in bios and unplug display out from motherboard and connect it only to graphics card. You will have boot screen and graphics card also. No need of removing the graphics card power.
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2013
Messages
11
Motherboard
MSI Z170 G43 Plus
CPU
Intel i7 6700K
Graphics
XFX Radeon RX 480 RS 4GB
To install windows, just change "init display" to auto or pcie in bios and unplug display out from motherboard and connect it only to graphics card. You will have boot screen and graphics card also. No need of removing the graphics card power.
I can't boot into bios, I don't know why, when I boot with hdmi plug to MoBo it just blackscreen
 

Gigamaxx

Moderator
Joined
May 15, 2016
Messages
6,129
Motherboard
GIGABYTE X470 Arous Gaming 7 WiFi
CPU
Ryzen R9 3900X
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
  1. iMac
I can't boot into bios, I don't know why, when I boot with hdmi plug to MoBo it just blackscreen

Disconnect your Ssd/hdd and boot it should clear and go to bios screen. Turnoff plug drive back in and boot to bios by pressing " delete" key during start up
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2015
Messages
46
Motherboard
z77x-ud3h
CPU
i7 3770k
Graphics
RX 480
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hey gigamaxx, I have patched clover plist as on this thread - post 272, and that clover patch by mork_vom_ork. Gpu works alright but I can't get 36 cu active, only 16. Do I need to do something else? Also fcpx 10.3.1 is crashing at start now, in 12.1 , I followed your guide and fcpx was working well. Are you facing similar things?
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2012
Messages
218
Motherboard
Gigabyte z390 Aorus Ultra
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
amd vega64 frontier edition 16 gb, amd RX 480
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Screen Shot 2017-01-08 at 00.19.35.png
 
Top