Contribute
Register

Enabling AMD RX 4XX cards in Sierra.

Gigamaxx

Moderator
Joined
May 15, 2016
Messages
6,215
Motherboard
GIGABYTE X470 Arous Gaming 7 WiFi
CPU
Ryzen R9 3900X
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
  1. iMac
I have installed 10.12.2 on my PC (i7 6700k, msi z170a g43 plus, and the XFX RX 480 RS 4gb) I did the instructions, one is yours @Gigamaxx and the config.plist method, my gpu already detected correctly on about mac, but it can't do anything, no qe/ci, glitchy and laggy, please tell me what must I do to make my gpu works well? What should I do?

Did you use the 67FF1002, or 67EF1002 definition? The 67EO1002 definition may not be working anymore. What kext tool are you using? I use Kextwizzard form another site because I find it works everytime.
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2013
Messages
11
Motherboard
MSI Z170 G43 Plus
CPU
Intel i7 6700K
Graphics
XFX Radeon RX 480 RS 4GB
Did you use the 67FF1002, or 67EF1002 definition? The 67EO1002 definition may not be working anymore. What kext tool are you using? I use Kextwizzard form another site because I find it works everytime.
I use 67DF1002 replacing 67EO1002 in info.plist I use kextwizard, and so what must I do now? Replace back the original info.plist and config.plist than try to re-edit again? Or anything else? I think I did your video instructions many times. Please guide me specifically to make my rx 480 works. thankyou @Gigamaxx
 

Gigamaxx

Moderator
Joined
May 15, 2016
Messages
6,215
Motherboard
GIGABYTE X470 Arous Gaming 7 WiFi
CPU
Ryzen R9 3900X
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
  1. iMac
I use 67DF1002 replacing 67EO1002 in info.plist I use kextwizard, and so what must I do now? Replace back the original info.plist and config.plist than try to re-edit again? Or anything else? I think I did your video instructions many times. Please guide me specifically to make my rx 480 works. thankyou @Gigamaxx

Yes go back and change the First definition back to 67EO1002, and then change the 67FF1002 to 67DF1002 and then place back in the contents folder of the 4100kext. You can do it all at the same time just make sure to drag the info.plist to the desktop make the changes then replace it to the folder. Afterwards don't forget to run kext utility to seek repair permissions.

I've just noticed that the EO definition isn't working as of 12.12.1 I will need to change the first page to reflect that.
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2013
Messages
11
Motherboard
MSI Z170 G43 Plus
CPU
Intel i7 6700K
Graphics
XFX Radeon RX 480 RS 4GB
Yes go back and change the First definition back to 67EO1002, and then change the 67FF1002 to 67DF1002 and then place back in the contents folder of the 4100kext. You can do it all at the same time just make sure to drag the info.plist to the desktop make the changes then replace it to the folder. Afterwards don't forget to run kext utility to seek repair permissions.

I've just noticed that the EO definition isn't working as of 12.12.1 I will need to change the first page to reflect that.

What about config.plist? Should I make it default again? and what version of kextwizard?
 

Gigamaxx

Moderator
Joined
May 15, 2016
Messages
6,215
Motherboard
GIGABYTE X470 Arous Gaming 7 WiFi
CPU
Ryzen R9 3900X
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
  1. iMac
What about config.plist? Should I make it default again? and what version of kextwizard?

The info.plist is in the 4100kext folder. The config.plist is in your EFI partition in clover. The info.plist is in Mac OS in Sysyem/Libraries/Extensions/AMD4100.kext. If you have an original copy of it you can replace it and then make the fix, it dont forget to use a kext tool.

Kextwizzard can be found on google, it's from another forum for hackintosh. You may have to join to get it. It shouldn't matter which version as long as its recently acquired.
 

Gigamaxx

Moderator
Joined
May 15, 2016
Messages
6,215
Motherboard
GIGABYTE X470 Arous Gaming 7 WiFi
CPU
Ryzen R9 3900X
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
  1. iMac
Were you able to get the XFX RX 480 working? If so how did you do it?

Set motherboard bios to igpu or IGFX as primary display output (integrated graphics mode) and set IGFX dedicated memory allocation to 64mb, and then make a definition change in Sierra AMD4100kext.
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2013
Messages
11
Motherboard
MSI Z170 G43 Plus
CPU
Intel i7 6700K
Graphics
XFX Radeon RX 480 RS 4GB
Set motherboard bios to igpu or IGFX as primary display output (integrated graphics mode) and set IGFX dedicated memory allocation to 64mb, and then make a definition change in Sierra AMD4100kext.

Thanks @Gigamaxx
It's Working now..
But I must boot with Intel HD530 until the login screen then I plug the HDMI to rx 480. It's exhaust me. Is there any method to boot dirrctly with my VGA?
 

Attachments

  • tmp_6004-IMG_20170104_1211391009767047.jpg
    tmp_6004-IMG_20170104_1211391009767047.jpg
    3 MB · Views: 84

Gigamaxx

Moderator
Joined
May 15, 2016
Messages
6,215
Motherboard
GIGABYTE X470 Arous Gaming 7 WiFi
CPU
Ryzen R9 3900X
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
  1. iMac
Thanks @Gigamaxx
It's Working now..
But I must boot with Intel HD530 until the login screen then I plug the HDMI to rx 480. It's exhaust me. Is there any method to boot dirrctly with my VGA?

Download "Clover Configurator" google it.
Download EFI mounter use search tool on this site.
1). Open EFI mounter and select disk0s1 if you only have one Ssd or hdd connected in Sierra.
2). Open the EFI folder that appears, and then open clover folder, then drag your config.plist to desktop.
3). Right click on config.plist on desktop and select "open with" Clover configurator should appear as an option. If not open clover configurator and then close it again, then repeat the " open with" process until you get the clover configurator option.
4). When you open it go to SMBios and check to see if your system specs are there.
Then choose Boot from the menu bar. There is a bar that has "Default Boot Volume" click on the blue tab and select Last booted Volume if you have only one Ssd or hdd, or you can select the name of your Ssd or hdd.
5). Below it there's a "Timeout" tab, this sets the automatic boot start time, 0 will give you no chance to see the clover screen and make adjustments, 5 is default and is a 5 second delay so you have time to stop the process if you need to make any adjustments in clover. Leave it at 5 is the best option.
6). Save changes and close clover, then drag the desktop config.plist (edited) to you clover folder and make sure you get the "replace" prompt and that it goes back to its original location.
7). Reboot and it should autoboot on its own without you hitting enter. If all goes well and you get to log in screen then you can try it with the cable only connected to the RX card.

This is called the black screen boot method, it is not a problem as long as you have your clover configuration ready and don't need to make any last second changes before booting. You will know if it's working because the RX card will rev up the fans before you see any screen action, if you hear that you should get to log in screen.

If you want to remove password requirement you can go to "System Preferences" and select "Users and Groups" hit the unlock button on bottom of window and then select "log in options" you can select auto login and your system will boot from black screen to Sierra without needing a password.

*** if you're ok with security and not worried about anyone else accessing your computer then this works great. If you don't want anyone else to have access then don't use auto login.
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2013
Messages
11
Motherboard
MSI Z170 G43 Plus
CPU
Intel i7 6700K
Graphics
XFX Radeon RX 480 RS 4GB
Download "Clover Configurator" google it.
Download EFI mounter use search tool on this site.
1). Open EFI mounter and select disk0s1 if you only have one Ssd or hdd connected in Sierra.
2). Open the EFI folder that appears, and then open clover folder, then drag your config.plist to desktop.
3). Right click on config.plist on desktop and select "open with" Clover configurator should appear as an option. If not open clover configurator and then close it again, then repeat the " open with" process until you get the clover configurator option.
4). When you open it go to SMBios and check to see if your system specs are there.
Then choose Boot from the menu bar. There is a bar that has "Default Boot Volume" click on the blue tab and select Last booted Volume if you have only one Ssd or hdd, or you can select the name of your Ssd or hdd.
5). Below it there's a "Timeout" tab, this sets the automatic boot start time, 0 will give you no chance to see the clover screen and make adjustments, 5 is default and is a 5 second delay so you have time to stop the process if you need to make any adjustments in clover. Leave it at 5 is the best option.
6). Save changes and close clover, then drag the desktop config.plist (edited) to you clover folder and make sure you get the "replace" prompt and that it goes back to its original location.
7). Reboot and it should autoboot on its own without you hitting enter. If all goes well and you get to log in screen then you can try it with the cable only connected to the RX card.

This is called the black screen boot method, it is not a problem as long as you have your clover configuration ready and don't need to make any last second changes before booting. You will know if it's working because the RX card will rev up the fans before you see any screen action, if you hear that you should get to log in screen.

If you want to remove password requirement you can go to "System Preferences" and select "Users and Groups" hit the unlock button on bottom of window and then select "log in options" you can select auto login and your system will boot from black screen to Sierra without needing a password.

*** if you're ok with security and not worried about anyone else accessing your computer then this works great. If you don't want anyone else to have access then don't use auto login.

I often face this fail screen when booting, do you know why it happens? and now I can't boot up without spending time on clover bootloader menu before I choose the HFS drive. I
have followed Your @Gigamaxx config.plist boot setting, but it's not work, I got black screen.

Can You specifically tell me all setting in config.plist? Should I inject ati or inject intel?

Oya, I have tried change R9 xxx to RX 480 in 9500controller.kext but it makes my PC won't work/run via rx 480, when I plug the HDMI to rx 480 it just black screen, when I boot with hd 530, in system report graphics rx 480 show as PCI-e.

I'm so curious, how to make my PC run perfectly, fully working.
 

Attachments

  • tmp_19941-mac-prohibit-symbol-screen-icon430651119.png
    tmp_19941-mac-prohibit-symbol-screen-icon430651119.png
    3.8 KB · Views: 57
Top