Contribute
Register

Enabling AMD RX 4XX cards in Sierra.

Gigamaxx

Moderator
Joined
May 15, 2016
Messages
6,270
Motherboard
GIGABYTE X470 Arous Gaming 7 WiFi
CPU
Ryzen R9 3900X
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
  1. iMac
Hello guys, I am following all your advices on installing RX480 on my ASRock Fatality Z170 i7 system with Saphire RX480 Nitro+ OC and Intel 530 onboard graphics. I have successfuly installed Sierra and connected 2 monitors, one to onboard 530 graphics port and one to double DP ports on RX480.
My setup and install was easy thanks to great tools provided - I created USB stick with unibeast, installed Sierra and both monitors are runing OOTB right after Sierra first boot. During Sierra boot only monitor connected to Intel 530 onboard graphics is running. After boot both monitors are nice and shine.
Problem is acceleration of course. As soon as I edit 4100 kext file, change value to 0x67DF as required, and reboot, apple logo appears and boot process stops at around 60%. I have reinstalled Sierra several times already just to be able to get back into the OS, trying something else, but as soon as kext is edited, system hangs at boot.
I believe I have edited .plist file the right way – copied it to desktop, edited and then copied back in kext overwriting old one. I have used both Kext Utility and Kext Wizard after edit. See attached file for CLOVER GPU info at boot time if it gives you any idea.
So far i avoided using Multibeast because after using it, Intel 530 glitch appears. With OOTB install, no problem with Intel 530 on Sierra 10.12.2, network and displays running without a glitch.
Any ideas why system freezes at 60% during boot after kext is edited? Am I doing something wrong?
Thanks in advance.

Try this in clover graphics settings. Set Intel to inject =false, or uncheck it. Use Intel fake ID 0x19120003, set ig to 0a206080 and inject ATI.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2015
Messages
201
Motherboard
H81
CPU
i3-4360
Graphics
Intel HD4600
I have a Gigabyte RX 460 "no 6pin power" and a Pentium g3258 Haswell with HD 4200 graphics. I loaded EMUvariable, and Osioptifix not the osioptifix2 version in 64EFI drivers folder in clover. I set boot arguments to Dart=O, darkwake=8. My sleep functions work like this, after deep sleep "overnight" I hit the keyboard and the screen gets a grey blink then I lightly press power button and the screen pops up with whatever I had the night before and mouse works. It's similar to my real MacBook but may be different from Nvidia wake mode. RX cards don't have sound worked out yet, but I use a USB Sabrient sound card and it works after wake. Onboard sound should work as well. One thing that can hang you up is your wifi/Bluetooth during wake depending on specs.
Thanks for you sharing!
Going to buy one :D
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2012
Messages
217
Motherboard
Gigabyte z390 Aorus Ultra
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
amd vega64 frontier edition 16 gb, amd RX 480
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Hello everyone...Is there a way I can boot into Windows and Mac without changing cables or taking them out ..Any progress regarding this .Why is the clover boot screen not showing when cable is in the Rx 480 GPU .
 
Joined
Sep 28, 2016
Messages
10
Motherboard
Dell XPS 8500
CPU
Intel I7-3770
Graphics
Nvidia GT 620
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Gigamaxx -

I have my MSI RX 480 Gaming X 4gb card working with no other modifications save the 4100.kext. I'm running three monitors, 2 with HDMI and 1 with DVI with full acceleration.

I did not make any mods to the config.info at all beyond multibeast.

It's not in your video, but I had to run Kext Utility to fix the permissions before it would work. That made me tear my hair out for several days.
 
Joined
Sep 28, 2016
Messages
10
Motherboard
Dell XPS 8500
CPU
Intel I7-3770
Graphics
Nvidia GT 620
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I should mention I'm running Sierra with a Gigabyte H170-D3H motherboard.

(edit: spelling)
 
Last edited:

Gigamaxx

Moderator
Joined
May 15, 2016
Messages
6,270
Motherboard
GIGABYTE X470 Arous Gaming 7 WiFi
CPU
Ryzen R9 3900X
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
  1. iMac
Gigamaxx -

I have my MSI RX 480 Gaming X 4gb card working with no other modifications save the 4100.kext. I'm running three monitors, 2 with HDMI and 1 with DVI with full acceleration.

I did not make any mods to the config.info at all beyond multibeast.

It's not in your video, but I had to run Kext Utility to fix the permissions before it would work. That made me tear my hair out for several days.

I think its mentioned in the guide, you need to fix repair permissions using kext utility. Glad its working for you.

Check out the "Enabling all cores in And fury cards" thread.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2016
Messages
2
Hello! I have been banging my head against the wall for the past week or so trying to figure my hackintosh, I am very new to this. I followed the install guide on the website and everything booted, but all the animations were slow. I have an MSI 480 4gb, and when I go to open FCPX I get the no graphics acceleration message. I went to follow your guide (very well done and easy to follow by the way) but I got lost at the system file. The reason is I dont have the system file, durring the install was I supposed to copy files over? Or can I download them? I appreciate any advice. Again I have a strong working knowledge of computer, and windows, but this is my first build, so direction would GREATLY appreciated.

The other option that I was thinking about is either downgrading to a 460 or get a 280x, but seeing that all the drivers and such are in that file, I believe I'm most likely going to run into the same problem.
Thanks!
 

Gigamaxx

Moderator
Joined
May 15, 2016
Messages
6,270
Motherboard
GIGABYTE X470 Arous Gaming 7 WiFi
CPU
Ryzen R9 3900X
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
  1. iMac
Hello! I have been banging my head against the wall for the past week or so trying to figure my hackintosh, I am very new to this. I followed the install guide on the website and everything booted, but all the animations were slow. I have an MSI 480 4gb, and when I go to open FCPX I get the no graphics acceleration message. I went to follow your guide (very well done and easy to follow by the way) but I got lost at the system file. The reason is I dont have the system file, durring the install was I supposed to copy files over? Or can I download them? I appreciate any advice. Again I have a strong working knowledge of computer, and windows, but this is my first build, so direction would GREATLY appreciated.

The other option that I was thinking about is either downgrading to a 460 or get a 280x, but seeing that all the drivers and such are in that file, I believe I'm most likely going to run into the same problem.
Thanks!

On the top tool bar select GO, scroll down to "Computer", open. Select disk that has Sierra and open. Select "System" then "Libraries" (not to be confused with the other Libraries which is before "System). Open Libraries and scroll to "Extensions" and open. Right click on AMD4100kext and choose "show package contents". A "Contents" folder should appear click on tab to open. Drag the info.plist to desktop and then open it using Xcode or other textedit tool. Open the IOKitpersonalities tab and do the 0x67FF1002 to 0x67DF1002 change, go to file on top tool bar and hit save. Drag the info.plist to contents folder and make sure you get the Authenticate and replace prompts, then use a kext tool and select repair permissions. Reboot.
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2015
Messages
317
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-H67MA-USB3-B3
CPU
i7-2600
Graphics
GTX 1050 Ti
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
This looks pretty cool. I watched the video (thank you for that by the way) and it seems pretty easy to enable RX cards! I also saw you got the RX 480 working, and I've been looking at buying that little beast, do you think it's worth it??! Is it pretty stable in MacOS?
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2013
Messages
11
Motherboard
MSI Z170 G43 Plus
CPU
Intel i7 6700K
Graphics
XFX Radeon RX 480 RS 4GB
I have installed 10.12.2 on my PC (i7 6700k, msi z170a g43 plus, and the XFX RX 480 RS 4gb) I did the instructions, one is yours @Gigamaxx and the config.plist method, my gpu already detected correctly on about mac, but it can't do anything, no qe/ci, glitchy and laggy, please tell me what must I do to make my gpu works well? What should I do?
 
Top