Contribute
Register

Enabling AMD RX 4XX cards in Sierra.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Nov 22, 2011
Messages
163
Motherboard
Mac Pro
CPU
Core i5 SandyBridge
Graphics
GeForce Gt 9500
Here is my Unigine valley benchmark. I have a XFX RX 480 OC Edition 8GB DDR5
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2016-12-16 at 12.50.02 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2016-12-16 at 12.50.02 PM.png
    264.3 KB · Views: 288
Joined
Sep 20, 2012
Messages
217
Motherboard
Gigabyte z390 Aorus Ultra
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
amd vega64 frontier edition 16 gb, amd RX 480
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
I would love to be able to however that requires having the hardware however I can guide you guys on how to patch the info.plist on the fly at boot up time and keep your kexts in S/L/E vanilla and live through an update with out having to reinstall any modified older versions of some kext you have on your desktop. The only thing this will depend on is apple not removing the Baffin line from the kext like they did in one previous update however we can still fool macOS by patching multiples at a time expecting them to move it else where.

To do so all we need is the deviceIDs and VendorID for that given card which is easily acquired via DPCIManger which is available here. Then we open our efi/clover/config.plist with clover configurator which is available here and click on the kernel and kext patches in the left hand pane. In the window hit the + sign under the kext to patch box and add these entries to to it for yours Gigamaxx and anyone else who uses the same deviceIDs and VendorIDs as you do.

Name
AMDRadeonX4100

Find
67E01002

Replace
67DF1002

Then tick the info.plist patch box on the right.

I like to tick the debug box above the kext to patch box to see the patching at boot up in verbose to see if it did patch it or not. Although this isn't needed but i like to do it until i got it how I like it.

Then make sure you have your FakeID in the devices section 0x67EF1002

Then it looks like you need to inject ATI so on the graphics section tick injectATI and it should work with the native vanilla AMDRadeonX4100.kext

To test make these changes and change your AMDRadeonX4100.kext/Contents/info.plist back to it original.



Then you won't have this kind of problem.

For others with a similar GPU using the Baffin card but maybe have different DeviceIDs simply gather that info from DPCIManger and change the replace value in Kexts to patch section

Hope this help and keeps your systems up to date without the break
Happy Hacking
Carpentry
within next few days I will try to do what you said I also want to keep the vanilla kexts the way they are and do tweaks only in clover ...tolive through an update but I need to learn more on this if u have time to elaborate each step then it is easier ....maybe next week I can try ..I am moving in a new flat so shifting also my build and other equipment so had to rush through to get this system up and running which was great to get it working ..but I also would like to go this way where I can live through apple update ..hopefully this can also work ..
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2012
Messages
217
Motherboard
Gigabyte z390 Aorus Ultra
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
amd vega64 frontier edition 16 gb, amd RX 480
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
It's ok to use multi monitors or single monitor with a cable in igpu and RX and then pull the igpu cable after boot. The benchmarks lose a little bit but it's not that bad of a loss. Check into "System Preferences" displays and check out options you can select screens, mirror screens etc... take sometime to play with it and make a backup if you can on a spare Ssd or hdd and make change as needed. Don't worry too much about the dsdt fixes if your system is running this good, take your time and experiment.
I have a backup thanks .. next week I want to try clover tweaks so that I can keep vanilla kexts as they are and only us ekexts to patch ..but need more training and help for it ..would you also want to
 
Joined
Jan 26, 2014
Messages
1,344
Motherboard
Asus P5LP-LE
CPU
Core 2 Duo
Graphics
Nvidia GeForce GT 640
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
within next few days I will try to do what you said I also want to keep the vanilla kexts the way they are and do tweaks only in clover ...tolive through an update but I need to learn more on this if u have time to elaborate each step then it is easier ....maybe next week I can try ..I am moving in a new flat so shifting also my build and other equipment so had to rush through to get this system up and running which was great to get it working ..but I also would like to go this way where I can live through apple update ..hopefully this can also work ..
do you currently have it working the way it has been described here by modifying the info.plist inside AMDRadeonX4100.kext if so then i know your deviceID and VendorID and can just do the patch for you if you upload your config.plist and all you'll have to do is revert AMDRadeonX4100.kext back to its original vanilla state and move the config.plist into place

Please provide a screen shot of DPCIManger pci page and config.plist and i'll do what i can to help you
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2012
Messages
217
Motherboard
Gigabyte z390 Aorus Ultra
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
amd vega64 frontier edition 16 gb, amd RX 480
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
do you currently have it working the way it has been described here by modifying the info.plist inside AMDRadeonX4100.kext if so then i know your deviceID and VendorID and can just do the patch for you if you upload your config.plist and all you'll have to do is revert AMDRadeonX4100.kext back to its original vanilla state and move the config.plist into place

Please provide a screen shot of DPCIManger pci page and config.plist and i'll do what i can to help you
yes I have done exactly that and my rx 480 has full metal support .. can u wait for few days becase I am moving to new flat packed my system already and other stuff don't know if I have internet there ... as I have no wifi card or else I could use internet from mobile ..maybe in 2 to 3 days ...I will attach my config and yes I have copy or original kext also to put back I have a backup ..allways backup to an external hdd or or internal or ssd ..i will attach file later right now just msging from another source .. looking forward to make this happen
 
Joined
Jan 26, 2014
Messages
1,344
Motherboard
Asus P5LP-LE
CPU
Core 2 Duo
Graphics
Nvidia GeForce GT 640
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
yes I have done exactly that and my rx 480 has full metal support .. can u wait for few days becase I am moving to new flat packed my system already and other stuff don't know if I have internet there ... as I have no wifi card or else I could use internet from mobile ..maybe in 2 to 3 days ...I will attach my config and yes I have copy or original kext also to put back I have a backup ..allways backup to an external hdd or or internal or ssd ..i will attach file later right now just msging from another source .. looking forward to make this happen
I'm in no hurry I'm just here to help you guys understand the newest way we are now hackitoshing I don't have any of that hardware so i'm just here to help the only ATI card I have is an old ATI Radeon HD5870 mac edition which always works oob although metal isn't supported with it and it's getting about time to upgrade
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2012
Messages
217
Motherboard
Gigabyte z390 Aorus Ultra
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
amd vega64 frontier edition 16 gb, amd RX 480
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
I'm in no hurry I'm just here to help you guys understand the newest way we are now hackitoshing I don't have any of that hardware so i'm just here to help the only ATI card I have is an old ATI Radeon HD5870 mac edition which always works oob although metal isn't supported with it and it's getting about time to upgrade
yes indeed its good if you can be daring enough to make efforts to bring good support for new hardware .. it can help many people me included i hope i can also help so i will post those things soon enough you can try going back few posts and see i actually had attached my config ...but i can update with new one soon ..but i wonder if you are suggesting kexts to patch i wonder why not everyone else is doing it ...is there a guide anywhere that i can read can you link me up
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2012
Messages
217
Motherboard
Gigabyte z390 Aorus Ultra
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
amd vega64 frontier edition 16 gb, amd RX 480
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
btw i forgot to report an important thing i have open gl and open cl benchs ..but when i had tried to run them last night they didn't run for some reason i think they still detect the gpu as a prototype or something why is this so need to test this also in future
 
Joined
Jan 26, 2014
Messages
1,344
Motherboard
Asus P5LP-LE
CPU
Core 2 Duo
Graphics
Nvidia GeForce GT 640
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
yes indeed its good if you can be daring enough to make efforts to bring good support for new hardware .. it can help many people me included i hope i can also help so i will post those things soon enough you can try going back few posts and see i actually had attached my config ...but i can update with new one soon ..but i wonder if you are suggesting kexts to patch i wonder why not everyone else is doing it ...is there a guide anywhere that i can read can you link me up
See here for kext to patch info.plist info and a great deal of other things can be learned from there. Its written by slice the main clover developer.
btw i forgot to report an important thing i have open gl and open cl benchs ..but when i had tried to run them last night they didn't run for some reason i think they still detect the gpu as a prototype or something why is this so need to test this also in future

Its not really needed people just wanna see how well there systems and cards are performing. You can check for metal support in system profiler(information).If it doesn't say metal when selecting your graphics then it isn't supported. Additionally you can check for Core image support in the screen saver section of the system preferences if you see images in the right hand pane after selecting an image on the right then its working. To check for Quartz Extreme support open dvd player and select help from the menu bar and hit supported features if it says supported then well it is. CI/QE are the graphics accelerations in macOS.
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2010
Messages
94
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170X Gaming 5
CPU
Intel i7 6700K
Graphics
ASUS ROG NVIDIA GTX 1070 8GB OC
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I would love to be able to however that requires having the hardware however I can guide you guys on how to patch the info.plist on the fly at boot up time and keep your kexts in S/L/E vanilla and live through an update with out having to reinstall any modified older versions of some kext you have on your desktop. The only thing this will depend on is apple not removing the Baffin line from the kext like they did in one previous update however we can still fool macOS by patching multiples at a time expecting them to move it else where.

To do so all we need is the deviceIDs and VendorID for that given card which is easily acquired via DPCIManger which is available here. Then we open our efi/clover/config.plist with clover configurator which is available here and click on the kernel and kext patches in the left hand pane. In the window hit the + sign under the kext to patch box and add these entries to to it for yours Gigamaxx and anyone else who uses the same deviceIDs and VendorIDs as you do.

Name
AMDRadeonX4100

Find
67E01002

Replace
67DF1002

Then tick the info.plist patch box on the right.

I like to tick the debug box above the kext to patch box to see the patching at boot up in verbose to see if it did patch it or not. Although this isn't needed but i like to do it until i got it how I like it.

Then make sure you have your FakeID in the devices section 0x67EF1002

Then it looks like you need to inject ATI so on the graphics section tick injectATI and it should work with the native vanilla AMDRadeonX4100.kext

To test make these changes and change your AMDRadeonX4100.kext/Contents/info.plist back to it original.



Then you won't have this kind of problem.

For others with a similar GPU using the Baffin card but maybe have different DeviceIDs simply gather that info from DPCIManger and change the replace value in Kexts to patch section

Hope this help and keeps your systems up to date without the break
Happy Hacking
Carpentry

That is how I have been doing it. And yes I can confirm that it works for my ASUS ROG RX480 8G. One additional step that I would add is; after checking InfoPlistPatching, change the "Type/key" to DATA.
 

Attachments

  • Untitled.jpeg
    Untitled.jpeg
    103.5 KB · Views: 337
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top