Contribute
Register

Enabling AMD RX 4XX cards in Sierra.

Joined
Sep 29, 2013
Messages
34
Motherboard
GA-z97x-gaming 7
CPU
4790 @ 4.4ghz
Graphics
dual XFX RX 480 8gb
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
My problem is FCPX and iMovie. Both crash immediately upon opening.
My setup:
GA-z97x gaming 7 mobo
4790k
2 x XFX AMD RX 480 8gb

I did the edits to the 4100 Kexts. ATI injected in clover. It boots up fine. Everything works well, even the benchmarks look good. 3 monitor setup is great. My only problem is FCPX. FCPX works fine if only IGFX is used. It worked with GTX 770 before. Crashing happens if either or both RX 480 cards are used. I can even boot with just the IGFX, start FCPX, and then plug in the RX 480 card, drag FCPX window to the AMD connected monitor and it works. But, quit FCPX and reopen... crashes.
Any clues where to look next?
Figured it out.
Changed system def to 15,1 (from 14,2). The 15,1 more closely fits my hardware. Also, changed config.plist to "false" for inject ATI & Intel. Just did the 4100 kext edit alone.
Now FCPx and iMovie work fine. I have dual XFX RX480 cards driving 3 monitors in MacOS Sierra 10.12.1.
DP = 4k monitor
HDMI to DP adapter = 1080p monitor
HDMI = 1080p monitor
Scaling works beautifully. I have all 3 monitors plugged into a single card right now and in Win 10 can run crossfire. I keep the IGFx DVI to HDMI plugged into a second port on my 4k monitor and use the Picture in Picture feature to see the IGFx during boot.

BruceX test = 11.7 seconds

Screen Shot 2016-11-19 at 18.09.28.png Screen Shot 2016-11-19 at 18.16.12.png
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 15, 2016
Messages
8
Hello I just got my mackintosh to work but I am running on a rx 480 gaming x 4g from msi but it is showing as a r9. My screen is flickering to really bad. Also I can not find system/library/extensions... can I enable that or what can I do about al those things.

i hopen you guys can help me.

bjarne
 
Joined
Oct 24, 2015
Messages
12
Motherboard
Asrock Z68 Extreame4
CPU
i7 2600
Graphics
GTX 1080 Ti
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
Hello!
For a week I suffer with my new ASUS ROG Strix RX 480. Spoofing does not help, as before a black screen.

There are chances to make it or get in the future?
 
Joined
Feb 5, 2014
Messages
106
Motherboard
Asus X-99 Pro USB 3.1
CPU
i7 5820K
Graphics
GTX 960
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
Joined
Dec 26, 2012
Messages
16
Figured it out.
Changed system def to 15,1 (from 14,2). The 15,1 more closely fits my hardware. Also, changed config.plist to "false" for inject ATI & Intel. Just did the 4100 kext edit alone.
Now FCPx and iMovie work fine. I have dual XFX RX480 cards driving 3 monitors in MacOS Sierra 10.12.1.
DP = 4k monitor
HDMI to DP adapter = 1080p monitor
HDMI = 1080p monitor
Scaling works beautifully. I have all 3 monitors plugged into a single card right now and in Win 10 can run crossfire. I keep the IGFx DVI to HDMI plugged into a second port on my 4k monitor and use the Picture in Picture feature to see the IGFx during boot.

BruceX test = 11.7 seconds

View attachment 221565 View attachment 221566
Which version(s) of the XFX RX480 8GB do you have?
There are 4 versions: OC, RS, GTR and GTR Black edition
 
Joined
May 4, 2016
Messages
24
I have i5 6500 Skylake, I don't have NVME ram and I use EMUVariable, and OSAptiofix (1, not2), in clover 64efi folder configuration. Boot arguments = dart=O darkwake=8. It sleeps overnight and when I hit a any key it wakes. I also set bios settings in power management to to allow power up from any key. If you have multi monitors the igpu works with sleep, and the card wakes as well. Right now with 1 monitor connected to card only after a long sleep it wakes by hitting power button. It pops right up, I don't have HDMI or DP sound I use the Sabrient USB external sound device with a powered speaker set.
I have dual Rx480s that I am trying to get to work. I can get one to work with no problem. Two of them and I just get a black screen. Can you answer three questions for me. I really appreciate it.

1) Can you attach your clover config?
2) Are you using modified 4100 kext or are you using the inject IDs?
3) With two Rx480s, do you still need intel enabled?
4) Lastly, if you were to do a fresh Sierra install, how would you do it?
 
Joined
May 15, 2016
Messages
4,493
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z170M D3H
CPU
i5-6500
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
iMac
I have dual Rx480s that I am trying to get to work. I can get one to work with no problem. Two of them and I just get a black screen. Can you answer three questions for me. I really appreciate it.

1) Can you attach your clover config?
2) Are you using modified 4100 kext or are you using the inject IDs?
3) With two Rx480s, do you still need intel enabled?
4) Lastly, if you were to do a fresh Sierra install, how would you do it?
I use the 4100kext mod, no Intel inject (I use fake id 0x19120003, and ig 0a206080) no inject ATI.
Do you have an Intel Skylake? These settings should work for it. I've used them on a Mac pro 6.1, 5.1 def, iMac 14.2, 17.1 def and MacBook Pro 9.1.

If you used multibeast to inject HD 530 you may need to make a new config.plist and replace it in EFI partition as well as the backup EFI folder in your main partition.

6.1 config.plist

The 2 cards work only in open CL like the Luxmark benchmark app. Open GL only uses one so Uningine Benchmarks don't increase over using one card. Try this if you want and if it doesn't work you may try injecting intel with it. I've had mixed results injecting intel, sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't. Also, look into using a SSDT for your CPU and add it to ACPI folder in clover in patched folder. You can find SSDTs ready made in Toleda threads. If you have a i5 6500 here is one. SSDT-SB-i5.aml
 

Attachments

Joined
May 4, 2016
Messages
24
I use the 4100kext mod, no Intel inject (I use fake id 0x19120003, and ig 0a206080) no inject ATI.
Do you have an Intel Skylake? These settings should work for it. I've used them on a Mac pro 6.1, 5.1 def, iMac 14.2, 17.1 def and MacBook Pro 9.1.

If you used multibeast to inject HD 530 you may need to make a new config.plist and replace it in EFI partition as well as the backup EFI folder in your main partition.

6.1 config.plist

The 2 cards work only in open CL like the Luxmark benchmark app. Open GL only uses one so Uningine Benchmarks don't increase over using one card. Try this if you want and if it doesn't work you may try injecting intel with it. I've had mixed results injecting intel, sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't. Also, look into using a SSDT for your CPU and add it to ACPI folder in clover in patched folder. You can find SSDTs ready made in Toleda threads. If you have a i5 6500 here is one. SSDT-SB-i5.aml
I do have a skylake, but its a 6700. Not sure if the SSDT will be right.

I'm still running into black screens on both. I've reinstalled Sierra just so I can get a fresh start. One card works well, but I need to inject ATI and intel both to make it work. If I inject neither, I can only boot to the Intel 530. Once I add the second card, injection will cause it to hang completely. And if I don't inject, I won't get graphics on any of the cards.

I must be missing something. It does work in Windows 10, so I know I don't have a hardware issue. I am using 17,1 since it matches skylake. What do you think I should do next?
 
Top