Contribute
Register

Enable Trim in Mojave?

Joined
Apr 9, 2013
Messages
17
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
I have just performed a clean install of Mojave and finished up with MultiBeast 10.4.0 and everything seems to be working fine. The guide didn't mention anything about enabling Trim afterwards?
I thought I read somewhere that Trim is no longer needed with APFS?
Do I need to enable Trim?

Thanks
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2011
Messages
570
Motherboard
Z390 AORUS PRO
CPU
i7-8700K OC 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 64 + eGPU: 2 x RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS, Other
I have just performed a clean install of Mojave and finished up with MultiBeast 10.4.0 and everything seems to be working fine. The guide didn't mention anything about enabling Trim afterwards?
I thought I read somewhere that Trim is no longer needed with APFS?
Do I need to enable Trim?

Thanks
Hi @thegreatnorth. APFS includes Trim support as standard. If you open your "System Information' app, and look either in the 'SATA/SSD Express' or 'NVMExpress' sections, you should see that Trim Support is enabled.
 
Joined
Apr 9, 2013
Messages
17
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi @thegreatnorth. APFS includes Trim support as standard. If you open your "System Information' app, and look either in the 'SATA/SSD Express' or 'NVMExpress' sections, you should see that Trim Support is enabled.
Trim Support is showing "No" in SATA/SATA Express
Should I enable it manually with the command?
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2011
Messages
570
Motherboard
Z390 AORUS PRO
CPU
i7-8700K OC 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 64 + eGPU: 2 x RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS, Other
Trim Support is showing "No" in SATA/SATA Express
Should I enable it manually with the command?
Hi, I'm now confused as I went and did some checking of other posts regarding Trim and APFS.

I'm NOT using APFS, as I had problems with it in the early days where it took forever to boot. I now believe this was because I had enabled Trim.

From digging around on this forum I found a few comments on whether you should or shouldn't enable trim.
I'm no expert on this though, but @vulgo is a very experienced user, so I respect his opinion. If in doubt, start a new post.
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2012
Messages
150
Motherboard
ASUS H61M-K
CPU
i5-2500
Graphics
GT 610
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
Android
The Issue with Trim and APFS on 3rd party SSDs seems to be caused by Trimming taking place as the computer is booting so the more data you had on your SSD the longer your boot would take. It's better to do the routine everyone knows by now to go back to HFS+ and enable trim, or the not recommended option, stay on APFS and disable trim.
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2017
Messages
10
Motherboard
Asus B85M-E
CPU
i5-4440
Graphics
HD 4600
Mac
Mac mini
Classic Mac
PowerBook
Mobile Phone
Android
I activated the trim on APFS and it's ok for me, no slowdown at startup.
Kingston A400 120GB, add entry manually on clover config.plist, MacOS 10.14.1

 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 10, 2015
Messages
61
Motherboard
Z370 AORUS Gaming 3
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
RX 580
Mobile Phone
iOS
I used the command of
Code:
sudo trimforce enable
and the system partition was gradually corrupted within a half of day in my SATA SSD (Lite-On MU3 ROCK 120 GB released in 2017). This happened from both of my first (Sierra) and second (Mojave) builds.
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2016
Messages
66
Motherboard
ASUS Z170m plus_br (clover)
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
HD 530
Mobile Phone
Android
I used the command of
Code:
sudo trimforce enable
and the system partition was gradually corrupted within a half of day in my SATA SSD (Lite-On MU3 ROCK 120 GB released in 2017). This happened from both of my first (Sierra) and second (Mojave) builds.
O.O
What SSD are you running please?
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2017
Messages
10
Motherboard
Asus B85M-E
CPU
i5-4440
Graphics
HD 4600
Mac
Mac mini
Classic Mac
PowerBook
Mobile Phone
Android
Have you tested your SSD with smartmontools (smartctl) to see if it's not the problem?

 
Top