Contribute
Register

El Capitan Beta with Dell XPS 13 9343 (Early 2015 Model)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Apr 2, 2013
Messages
420
Motherboard
Dell XPS 13 (9360)
CPU
i7-8550u (8th Generation) Kalby Lake - R
Graphics
Intel UHD 620
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Patched AppleHDA does not work from Clover/kexts. Must be installed to the system volume.

Thanks RhM. Maybe I wasn't clear, I do have the patched AppleHDA kext in S/L/E. The only kext I have in Clover/kexts is the RealtekALC kext. I read in one of the guides that it may be needed. Do you think that it should be removed? Just to be noted, I've tried with and without this installed and the sound still goes out.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
184,624
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks RhM. Maybe I wasn't clear, I do have the patched AppleHDA kext in S/L/E. The only kext I have in Clover/kexts is the RealtekALC kext. I read in one of the guides that it may be needed. Do you think that it should be removed? Just to be noted, I've tried with and without this installed and the sound still goes out.

Do not mix solutions.

RealtekALC.kext is used as an AppleHDA injector (sometimes called dummyHDA), which requires vanilla AppleHDA (+Clover patches, normal ACPI edits). Patched AppleHDA.kext works by replacing the entire AppleHDA with a new one (already has the patches).

Read the FAQ for information regarding DSDT patches required.
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2013
Messages
420
Motherboard
Dell XPS 13 (9360)
CPU
i7-8550u (8th Generation) Kalby Lake - R
Graphics
Intel UHD 620
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Do not mix solutions.

RealtekALC.kext is used as an AppleHDA injector (sometimes called dummyHDA), which requires vanilla AppleHDA (+Clover patches, normal ACPI edits). Patched AppleHDA.kext works by replacing the entire AppleHDA with a new one (already has the patches).

Read the FAQ for information regarding DSDT patches required.

Okay, I'll remove the RealtekALC kext.

I've patched the DSDT with the 3 layout. I'll look again to see if I missed something in the FAQ.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
184,624
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Okay, I'll remove the RealtekALC kext.

I've patched the DSDT with the 3 layout. I'll look again to see if I missed something in the FAQ.

"IRQ Fix"?

Did you verify your patched AppleHDA uses layout-id 3?
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
184,624
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Yes, IRQ Fix applied to DSDT. Not sure how to verify that, but I did use the patcher and the provided ALC288 folder (info) to do the patch.

You would have to look at your DSDT to see if the patch is applied.

No idea what you mean by "but I did use the patcher and the provided ALC288 folder (info)"...

You didn't answer my question about layout-id.
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2013
Messages
420
Motherboard
Dell XPS 13 (9360)
CPU
i7-8550u (8th Generation) Kalby Lake - R
Graphics
Intel UHD 620
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
You would have to look at your DSDT to see if the patch is applied.

No idea what you mean by "but I did use the patcher and the provided ALC288 folder (info)"...

You didn't answer my question about layout-id.

I was referring to not sure how to verify the layout-id.

I did take a look at the info.plist of the patched AppleHDA and found a reference to layout:

<key>IOKitPersonalities</key>
<dict>
<key>HDA Driver</key>
<dict>
<key>CFBundleIdentifier</key>
<string>com.apple.driver.AppleHDA</string>
<key>IOClass</key>
<string>AppleHDADriver</string>
<key>IOProviderClass</key>
<string>AppleHDACodec</string>
<key>InputSampleLatency</key>
<integer>0</integer>
<key>MultiDisplayPorts</key>
<array>
<integer>32</integer>
<integer>35</integer>
<integer>66</integer>
</array>
<key>OutputSampleLatency</key>
<integer>0</integer>
<key>SampleOffsetPad</key>
<integer>0</integer>
<key>SystemSpecificSampleOffsetPad</key>
<array>
<dict>
<key>LayoutID</key>
<integer>8</integer>
<key>SampleOffsetPad</key>
<integer>260</integer>
</dict>
</array>
</dict>
<key>HDA Generic Codec Driver</key>
<dict>
<key>CFBundleIdentifier</key>
<string>com.apple.driver.AppleHDA</string>
<key>IOClass</key>
<string>AppleHDACodecGeneric</string>
<key>IOHDACodecFunctionGroupType</key>
<integer>1</integer>
<key>IOProviderClass</key>
<string>IOHDACodecFunction</string>
</dict>
</dict>


It shows 8 here. Is that a correct means of checking, or am I looking in the wrong place? Obviously, the layout should be 3 for this machine...
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2013
Messages
420
Motherboard
Dell XPS 13 (9360)
CPU
i7-8550u (8th Generation) Kalby Lake - R
Graphics
Intel UHD 620
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
I found this at AppleHDA.kext/Contents/PlugIns/AppleHDAHardwareConfigDriver.kext/Contents/Info.plist

(Which is the proper codecID for alc288):


<key>IOKitPersonalities</key>
<dict>
<key>HDA Hardware Config Resource</key>
<dict>
<key>CFBundleIdentifier</key>
<string>com.apple.driver.AppleHDAHardwareConfigDriver</string>
<key>HDAConfigDefault</key>
<array>
<dict>
<key>AFGLowPowerState</key>
<data>
AQAAAA==
</data>
<key>CodecID</key>
<integer>283902600</integer>
<key>ConfigData</key>
<data>
ASccEAEnHQABJx6gAScfkAE3HCABNx0AATce
AAE3H0ABRxwwAUcdAAFHHhcBRx+QAYccQAGH
HRABhx6BAYcfAgHXHFAB1x2AAdceZQHXH0AC
FxxgAhcdEAIXHiECFx8BAUcMAg==
</data>
<key>FuncGroup</key>
<integer>1</integer>
<key>LayoutID</key>
<integer>3</integer>
</dict>

Is it safe to say AppleHDA is in fact using the correct layout-id (3)?
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
184,624
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I was referring to not sure how to verify the layout-id.

Verifying layout-id is covered in the ACPI patching guide.

It shows 8 here. Is that a correct means of checking, or am I looking in the wrong place? Obviously, the layout should be 3 for this machine...

You are looking in the wrong place.
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2013
Messages
420
Motherboard
Dell XPS 13 (9360)
CPU
i7-8550u (8th Generation) Kalby Lake - R
Graphics
Intel UHD 620
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Verifying layout-id is covered in the ACPI patching guide.



You are looking in the wrong place.


Yes, I had subsequently found that information in the guide and my next post was that result:

"I found this at AppleHDA.kext/Contents/PlugIns/AppleHDAHardwareConfigDriver.kext/Contents/Info.plist

(Which is the proper codecID for alc288):


<key>IOKitPersonalities</key>
<dict>
<key>HDA Hardware Config Resource</key>
<dict>
<key>CFBundleIdentifier</key>
<string>com.apple.driver.AppleHDAHardwareConfigDri ver</string>
<key>HDAConfigDefault</key>
<array>
<dict>
<key>AFGLowPowerState</key>
<data>
AQAAAA==
</data>
<key>CodecID</key>
<integer>283902600</integer>
<key>ConfigData</key>
<data>
ASccEAEnHQABJx6gAScfkAE3HCABNx0AATce
AAE3H0ABRxwwAUcdAAFHHhcBRx+QAYccQAGH
HRABhx6BAYcfAgHXHFAB1x2AAdceZQHXH0AC
FxxgAhcdEAIXHiECFx8BAUcMAg==
</data>
<key>FuncGroup</key>
<integer>1</integer>
<key>LayoutID</key>
<integer>3</integer>
</dict>

Is it safe to say AppleHDA is in fact using the correct layout-id (3)?"

There were several codecs listed in this section, but this was the first in the list. Should I edit the info.plist and remove the unneeded codec references, or is that not necessary?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top