Contribute
Register

El Capitan Beta with Dell XPS 13 9343 (Early 2015 Model)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jun 19, 2015
Messages
7
Motherboard
Dell XPS 13 2015 3200 X 1800
CPU
i7-5500
Graphics
Intel HD 5500 QHD+
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hi Loburi, I got the problem. There were some folders (within framework) missing. I changed your plist and added the EDID from my Ubuntu (I am using triple boot WIN8, Ubuntu, 10.11 and extracted EDID from there). Now I am able to use different resolution. The standard resolution is 1600x900. Every thing works without any DVMT prealloc. Now I am working one different minor problems (e.g. the sound and the USB changed from boot to boot, some times on sometimes off). Thanks, JayJayF.
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2011
Messages
66
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H
CPU
Intel i5 3570K
Graphics
Gigabyte GTX 650ti Boost
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hi Loburi, I got the problem. There were some folders (within framework) missing.

I've never paid attention to that so I really don't know what's missing. The USB and sound problem that has happening to me as well. If I boot from OSX to Windows 10 the sound still works but if I reboot back to windows after that the sound is gone. I have to boot to BIOS and disable sound click Apply, enable sound click apply then reboot back to windows that fixed the problem for me.
If I boot from Windows 10 to OSX some time I lost both USB and sound some time just sound. If I lost both USB and sound all I have to do is reboot back to OSX again will fixed the problem. If just sound that lost I have to boot to BIOS and do disable and enable sound and boot back to OSX to fixed the problem. I don't have enough Knowledge to fix all that so I just live with it.
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2015
Messages
7
Motherboard
Dell XPS 13 2015 3200 X 1800
CPU
i7-5500
Graphics
Intel HD 5500 QHD+
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hi, I forgot two problems. When I boot, the first display is like vertical slices, if I close my cover and wait for some seconds, unfold it, the display is O.K. Do you know if there is any way to refresh the display using Clover? Within Clover I use the parameter VRAM, showing 1536 MB in system information and if I told, it is not necessary to use DVMT realloc.
The second problem: I cannot see any SD card.
But these are minor problems and I can work with my Dell. Have a nice day, JayJayF.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
184,014
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi, I forgot two problems. When I boot, the first display is like vertical slices, if I close my cover and wait for some seconds, unfold it, the display is O.K. Do you know if there is any way to refresh the display using Clover? Within Clover I use the parameter VRAM, showing 1536 MB in system information and if I told, it is not necessary to use DVMT realloc.
The second problem: I cannot see any SD card.
But these are minor problems and I can work with my Dell. Have a nice day, JayJayF.

Enable CSM/legacy boot in BIOS.

PCIe SD card readers are generally not supported.
 
Joined
Jun 6, 2014
Messages
4
Motherboard
UD5H
CPU
i5
Graphics
8800GT
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Did anyone give bios A07 a shot ? Unsure if the setvars command would be the same as A05 ..
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2013
Messages
421
Motherboard
Dell XPS 13 (9360)
CPU
i7-8550u (8th Generation) Kalby Lake - R
Graphics
Intel UHD 620
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
I'm not sure what's happened... My Bluetooth and stopped working, touchscreen is gone, webcam isn't there either. All of these were working fine. The only thing I can think of was that I updated all of the kexts I had installed. I'm not confident that's the source, but I can't think of anything that might have caused this. All of the mentioned components were detected, activated and properly working. Now, none are even detected. Frustrating.

I have tried to Time Machine backwards, but of course that didn't help.

I also receive an error message at the end of updating Clover to 3330, so I remain at 3320. Any help would be appreciated! Thanks.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
184,014
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I'm not sure what's happened... My Bluetooth and stopped working, touchscreen is gone, webcam isn't there either. All of these were working fine. The only thing I can think of was that I updated all of the kexts I had installed. I'm not confident that's the source, but I can't think of anything that might have caused this. All of the mentioned components were detected, activated and properly working. Now, none are even detected. Frustrating.

I have tried to Time Machine backwards, but of course that didn't help.

I also receive an error message at the end of updating Clover to 3330, so I remain at 3320. Any help would be appreciated! Thanks.

Sounds like a USB problem...

http://www.tonymacx86.com/el-capitan-laptop-support/173616-guide-10-11-usb-changes-solutions.html
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2013
Messages
421
Motherboard
Dell XPS 13 (9360)
CPU
i7-8550u (8th Generation) Kalby Lake - R
Graphics
Intel UHD 620
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro



Thanks, I thought the same. Not sure why I needed the kext now, but USBInjectall was needed and things are up and running again.

On another note, is there anyway to reduce or rid the unresponsiveness that occurs with every start? It seems this starts after the iokit patching for graphics. This behavior occurs for about 15-20 seconds after a start (cold or restart).
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
184,014
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
...
On another note, is there anyway to reduce or rid the unresponsiveness that occurs with every start? It seems this starts after the iokit patching for graphics. This behavior occurs for about 15-20 seconds after a start (cold or restart).

Not something I'm familiar with... You'll need to determine more details about the nature of the unresponsiveness.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top