Contribute
Register

El Capitan Beta with Dell XPS 13 9343 (Early 2015 Model)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Mar 28, 2011
Messages
66
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H
CPU
Intel i5 3570K
Graphics
Gigabyte GTX 650ti Boost
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Joined
Mar 28, 2011
Messages
66
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H
CPU
Intel i5 3570K
Graphics
Gigabyte GTX 650ti Boost
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
@ egore,

Sorry I couldn't reply you PM because I don't have enough posts to PM anyone. You can download my EFI folder that I posted earlier on post #234. You can use any files that you want to see they will help you to get machine running stable. I had almost every thing working including Sleep and wake and my CPU identify correctly as i7 but my Model Identifier still wrong and shown as MacBookAir7.
I couldn't get Camera(Sonix), Brightness keys(Brightness slider in Display works), SD card reader to work. I attached all the kexts that I used in case you want to use them as well. I recommend that you start fresh and let me know if you have questions for me.

Good luck,
 

Attachments

  • Kexts.zip
    5.4 MB · Views: 82
Joined
Jun 19, 2015
Messages
7
Motherboard
Dell XPS 13 2015 3200 X 1800
CPU
i7-5500
Graphics
Intel HD 5500 QHD+
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hi Lopburi,

thank you for your files and your work. I have the same laptop (Dell 9343, I7, UHD) and i could install El Captain using your EFI and kexts. Most things are working!
I have the problem, that I only have the resolution 3200x1800. This is very small, I want to have 1440x900 too. If I set Intel_true, the laptop will not boot (using CLOVER of you). Do you see any way?
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
183,933
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi Lopburi,

thank you for your files and your work. I have the same laptop (Dell 9343, I7, UHD) and i could install El Captain using your EFI and kexts. Most things are working!
I have the problem, that I only have the resolution 3200x1800. This is very small, I want to have 1440x900 too. If I set Intel_true, the laptop will not boot (using CLOVER of you). Do you see any way?

You need Inject/Intel=true in order to load graphics drivers.

Did you set DVMT-prealloc as required?
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2011
Messages
66
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H
CPU
Intel i5 3570K
Graphics
Gigabyte GTX 650ti Boost
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hi Lopburi,

thank you for your files and your work. I have the same laptop (Dell 9343, I7, UHD) and i could install El Captain using your EFI and kexts. Most things are working!
I have the problem, that I only have the resolution 3200x1800. This is very small, I want to have 1440x900 too. If I set Intel_true, the laptop will not boot (using CLOVER of you). Do you see any way?

Inside Kexts.zip there a file "IOKit Patch.txt" open the Terminal copy and paste those 3 commands one by one start from the top. After you are done make sure to set Inject/Intel=True and reboot. If you did it right but still doesn't work you will have to set DVMT-prealloc as required as RM suggested . For some reason I didn't have to set DVMT-prealloc I just run IOKit patch and it works maybe I'm lucky.

Good Luck,
 
Joined
Feb 16, 2013
Messages
45
Motherboard
XPS 13 (x2)
CPU
i5 - 5200 / i5 - 5500
Graphics
HD5500
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hey RehabMan, I did a clean install without using unibeast and used your guide instead. However, i could not use HFSplus.efi and thus I used VBoxHfs-64.efi and deleted the flag on your config.plist to enable VBoxHfs-64.ef, but I'm still getting the SIMBIOS problem. Is it possible that using VBoxHfs-64 is causing the problem?
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
183,933
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hey RehabMan, I did a clean install without using unibeast and used your guide instead. However, i could not use HFSplus.efi and thus I used VBoxHfs-64.efi and deleted the flag on your config.plist to enable VBoxHfs-64.ef, but I'm still getting the SIMBIOS problem. Is it possible that using VBoxHfs-64 is causing the problem?

SMBIOS not related to VboxHfs/HfsPlus.
 
Joined
Feb 16, 2013
Messages
45
Motherboard
XPS 13 (x2)
CPU
i5 - 5200 / i5 - 5500
Graphics
HD5500
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Ah well then I have no idea what's causing the SMBIOS issue...
 
Joined
Nov 19, 2015
Messages
4
Motherboard
Dell XPS 13 2015 3200x1800 touchscreen
CPU
i7-5500u
Graphics
Intel HD 5500
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Inside Kexts.zip there a file "IOKit Patch.txt" open the Terminal copy and paste those 3 commands one by one start from the top. After you are done make sure to set Inject/Intel=True and reboot. If you did it right but still doesn't work you will have to set DVMT-prealloc as required as RM suggested . For some reason I didn't have to set DVMT-prealloc I just run IOKit patch and it works maybe I'm lucky.

Good Luck,

I tried this, no luck
Also tried manually seaching for the hex code in the file, couldn't find it.
I'm using 10.11.1, I guess I'll have to play with the DVMT prealloc :(
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top