Eerie Blue Glow. My second G5 Mod

Discussion in 'PowerMac G5' started by chaosdesigns, Aug 4, 2012.

  1. Koalaman

    Koalaman

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,873
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 8, 2012 at 5:06 AM #31
    Koalaman

    Koalaman

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,873
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Beautiful.
     
  2. Foolishness

    Foolishness

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Mobo:
    EP45-UD3P-FB
    CPU:
    Quad core Xeon
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce 9800
    Mac:
    Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    128K, 512K, Apple, Power Mac, Workgroup Server
    Jan 31, 2013 at 3:03 AM #32
    Foolishness

    Foolishness

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Mobo:
    EP45-UD3P-FB
    CPU:
    Quad core Xeon
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce 9800
    Mac:
    Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    128K, 512K, Apple, Power Mac, Workgroup Server
    This particular build is a year old so naturally things have changed.

    I have a handfull of cables that I bought for less than a fiver from Amazon. The SATA drive cables have eight connectors in a cable about sixteen inches long.
    I also have a bunch of power cables from Amazon that have nine Molex connectors in less than a foot (by memory. They are appropriate for eight drives in a tower. They also sell four drive versions of both cables.)
     
  3. chaosdesigns

    chaosdesigns

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    Messages:
    348
    Mobo:
    See my signature
    CPU:
    See my signature
    Graphics:
    See my signature
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, Centris, LC, Plus, Power Mac, PowerBook, SE
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Feb 2, 2013 at 6:45 AM #33
    chaosdesigns

    chaosdesigns

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    Messages:
    348
    Mobo:
    See my signature
    CPU:
    See my signature
    Graphics:
    See my signature
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, Centris, LC, Plus, Power Mac, PowerBook, SE
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Thanks for the info. I purchased a bunch of SATA power connectors from ebay and now I make my own power cables. Works way better!

    chaos
     
  4. chaosdesigns

    chaosdesigns

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    Messages:
    348
    Mobo:
    See my signature
    CPU:
    See my signature
    Graphics:
    See my signature
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, Centris, LC, Plus, Power Mac, PowerBook, SE
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 17, 2014 at 4:59 PM #34
    chaosdesigns

    chaosdesigns

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    Messages:
    348
    Mobo:
    See my signature
    CPU:
    See my signature
    Graphics:
    See my signature
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, Centris, LC, Plus, Power Mac, PowerBook, SE
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Update:
    It was time to upgrade to Mavericks! Also, I have removed the graphics card and am now running with HD4000 directly from the CPU.

    Here is my install procedure:

    1) Built Unibeast Installer using Mavericks 10.9.1 and Unibeast 10.9.1
    2) Connect monitor to hdmi port on video card
    3) Connect USB stick to USB 2.0 port on back of computer
    4) Boot USB stick (F12)
    5) Install Mavericks to fresh hard drive
    6) Boot into Mavericks install
    7) Run Multibeast and install
    Drivers->Disk->3rdPartySATA
    Drivers->Misc->ElliottForceLegacyRTC
    Drivers->Misc->EvOreBoot
    Drivers->Misc->FakeSMC
    Drivers->Misc->FakeSMC PlugIns
    Drivers->Misc->FakeSMC HWMonitorApp
    Drivers->Misc->NullCPUPowerManagement
    Drivers->Misc->USB3.0 Universal
    Drivers->Network->Atheros Shailua's ALXEthernet
    Drivers->System->AppleRTCPatch for CMOS Reset
    BootLoaders->Chimera 2.2.1
    BootLoaders->Boot Options->Basic Boot Options
    BootLoaders->Boot Options->GenerateCPUStates (slows down boot?)
    BootLoaders->Boot Options->Use Kernel Cache
    BootLoaders->Boot Options->1080p Display
    BootLoaders->System Definition->Mac Pro 3,1
    BootLoaders->Themes->tonymacx86 Black

    ** Could not get audio to work.... Use USB Audio


    8) Run ChameleonWizard
    Edit SMBIOS
    Randomize Serial and Set MacPro 3.1 designation

    9) Copy Modules/FileNVRAM.dylib to Extras folder
     
  5. chaosdesigns

    chaosdesigns

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    Messages:
    348
    Mobo:
    See my signature
    CPU:
    See my signature
    Graphics:
    See my signature
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, Centris, LC, Plus, Power Mac, PowerBook, SE
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jun 21, 2016 at 5:25 AM #35
    chaosdesigns

    chaosdesigns

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    Messages:
    348
    Mobo:
    See my signature
    CPU:
    See my signature
    Graphics:
    See my signature
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, Centris, LC, Plus, Power Mac, PowerBook, SE
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Time to install El Capitan.

    A minor hardware upgrade:
    1) Added 2x8 DDR3-1600 DRAMS, for a total of 24GB
    2) Added a Kingston 120GB SSD for startup

    BIOS Settings
    Flashed to F22
    Load Defaults
    Numlock -> Disabled
    Sata Mode -> AHCI
    Super IO -> Disabled

    Installation
    1) Built Unibeast Installer with El Capitan on my MacBook Pro.
    2) Install El Capitan to erased SSD
    3) Boot into El Capitan install
    4) Run Multibeast and install
    Quick Start > UEFI Boot Mode
    Drivers > Audio > Universal > VoodooHDA v2.8.8
    Drivers > Misc > FakeSMC v6.18-313-g671f31c.1707
    Drivers > Misc > FakeSMC Plugins v6.18-313-g671f31c.1707
    Drivers > Misc > FakeSMC HWMonitor Application v6.18-313-g671f31c.1707
    Drivers > USB > 7/8/9 Series USB Support
    Bootloaders > Clover v2.3k r3423 UEFI Boot Mode
    Customize > System Definitions > Mac Mini 6,2
    5) Used KextBeast to install AtherosL1cEthernet.kext for Network

    NOTE: Sound not working, but since it is a server, I don't need sound.
     
  6. chaosdesigns

    chaosdesigns

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    Messages:
    348
    Mobo:
    See my signature
    CPU:
    See my signature
    Graphics:
    See my signature
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, Centris, LC, Plus, Power Mac, PowerBook, SE
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 4, 2017 at 7:11 PM #36
    chaosdesigns

    chaosdesigns

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    Messages:
    348
    Mobo:
    See my signature
    CPU:
    See my signature
    Graphics:
    See my signature
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, Centris, LC, Plus, Power Mac, PowerBook, SE
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Photobucket decided that hosting my images was costing them too much money and so asked me to upgrade my free account to one that would cost $400 per year. I decided to remove my 250 or so photos from Photobucket and host them myself. So... photos have been restored! :)

    - chaos
     
    agcormier likes this.
  7. agcormier

    agcormier

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2017
    Messages:
    24
    Mobo:
    HP Maho Bay
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5-3470T @ 2.9GHz
    Graphics:
    GT 710
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 10, 2017 at 2:16 AM #37
    agcormier

    agcormier

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2017
    Messages:
    24
    Mobo:
    HP Maho Bay
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5-3470T @ 2.9GHz
    Graphics:
    GT 710
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    How is your machine running after all this time?
     
  8. chaosdesigns

    chaosdesigns

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    Messages:
    348
    Mobo:
    See my signature
    CPU:
    See my signature
    Graphics:
    See my signature
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, Centris, LC, Plus, Power Mac, PowerBook, SE
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 27, 2017 at 6:04 AM #38
    chaosdesigns

    chaosdesigns

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    Messages:
    348
    Mobo:
    See my signature
    CPU:
    See my signature
    Graphics:
    See my signature
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, Centris, LC, Plus, Power Mac, PowerBook, SE
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    My machine is running perfectly! I use it as a plex server as well as a web server, In fact, all the photos that you see in my posts are served from that computer :)
     
    agcormier likes this.

Share This Page