Edison Touch Sensor Wireing

Discussion in 'PowerMac G4 Cube' started by l0cKy, Jun 1, 2015.

  1. l0cKy

    l0cKy

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Jun 1, 2015 at 9:00 PM #1
    l0cKy

    l0cKy

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Hello,
    i've started my first G4 Cube mod a few weeks ago and it's almost finished. Yeah :)
    The project is nothing special... it's mostly a rebuild of sleppeks 2.1 Cube.
    (http://www.tonymacx86.com/golden-bu...-z77n-wifi-16gb-ram-500gb-ssd-ati-6670-a.html)
    There is just one question left: how do i have to connect the Edison Touch sensor with the motherboard ?
    Especially: the sensor has 3 wires while the blue connector on sleppeks pics has only 2 pins.
    (i know there is a tutorial for reusing the original touch sensor and another for how to connect the edison sensor with a custom solution header online but none for this use case... Maybe this question sounds a bit stupid but i don't have any electric knowledge)

    l0cKy
     
  2. ersterhernd

    ersterhernd

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,199
    Mobo:
    MSI Z77MA-G45
    CPU:
    i7-3770k @ 4.3 GHz
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte R9 280X Windforce 3GB
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jun 2, 2015 at 3:44 AM #2
    ersterhernd

    ersterhernd

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,199
    Mobo:
    MSI Z77MA-G45
    CPU:
    i7-3770k @ 4.3 GHz
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte R9 280X Windforce 3GB
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
  3. l0cKy

    l0cKy

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Jun 27, 2015 at 12:36 AM #3
    l0cKy

    l0cKy

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Hey, thanks for your reply.
    You are also using the custom solution header of your mainboard.
    My, and also sleppeks mainboard does not have any...
    I know, that there has been asked the question of the wireing in the build section of his cube, and he also answered it, but his post is really old, so the picture with the explanation seems to be lost.
    (i talk about post #40 http://www.tonymacx86.com/powermac-...a-h67n-usb3-b3-16gb-ram-ssd-4.html#post370345 )
    Once again, i think its quite a trivial answer but i just want to be sure not to burn my motherboard.

    l0cKy
     
  4. l0cKy

    l0cKy

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Sep 4, 2015 at 9:23 PM #4
    l0cKy

    l0cKy

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    can anyone help me please ?
    even a hint or a link would be nice.

    l0cKy
     
  5. kiwisincebirth

    kiwisincebirth

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    777
    Mobo:
    GA-Z68MX / DQ77KB
    CPU:
    i7-2600 / i7-3770S
    Graphics:
    GTX 650 Ti / HD4000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 5, 2015 at 12:31 PM #5
    kiwisincebirth

    kiwisincebirth

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    777
    Mobo:
    GA-Z68MX / DQ77KB
    CPU:
    i7-2600 / i7-3770S
    Graphics:
    GTX 650 Ti / HD4000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Hi IOcKY, From sleppek's build.

    What this means is that:
    The Edison sensor requires a constant 5V, even when the computer is turned off. The only place this comes from is pin 9 of the ATX power cable. A GND signal for the Edison sensor can come from the ATX power cable also, this can be pins any of 3,5,7,15,17,18,19, or 24. The last pin of the Edison senior is the actual switch, this needs to be connected to the motherboard on the standard power switch pin.

    Kiwi
     
  6. human66

    human66

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Mobo:
    B150-HD3
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-6700
    Graphics:
    MSI GTX 1060 6GB
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jan 10, 2017 at 6:21 AM #6
    human66

    human66

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Mobo:
    B150-HD3
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-6700
    Graphics:
    MSI GTX 1060 6GB
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    uh, I am having problem that locky is having too, motherboards without custom solutions header require (+) and (-) side of power button connected to motherboard header. but, Edison sensor only has one pin. then how do I connect this sensor to motherboard?
     
  7. human66

    human66

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Mobo:
    B150-HD3
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-6700
    Graphics:
    MSI GTX 1060 6GB
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jan 18, 2017 at 4:46 PM #7
    human66

    human66

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Mobo:
    B150-HD3
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-6700
    Graphics:
    MSI GTX 1060 6GB
    Mobile Phone:
    Android

Share This Page