Contribute
Register

Easy Way to make a Bootable Clone of your macOS System Drive

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
12,924
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
As a side note, I downloaded the Hiren's version and made a bootable thumb drive but the version on the Hiren's would not let me complete the clone - saying that that feature was not available with that ATI version installed....
Thanks for reporting that. I made my clone with the 2017 version from Kyhi's WinPE drive. That completed for me. I haven't actually cloned a drive with the 2018 version on Hiren's. We'll have to look into that more. Can you post a screenshot of exactly what the message says ?

In testing the Hiren's 2018 version of ATI it lets me get to the point where I would click next to install. I don't want to erase that drive though. Did you at least get this far when using it ?

Capture.PNG
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 25, 2012
Messages
1,283
Motherboard
Asus Z270 Maximus IX HERO
CPU
i7 7700k
Graphics
EVGA GTX 1080 Ti FTW3
Mac
Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Did you at least get this far when using it ?
Yes it got that far but when I hit the "Next" button it barfed at me... I'll see what I can do about a screenshot but in the decades that I've been using DOS/Windows I can't say that I've EVER done a screen shot with Windows. OS X is great at it (even including a drop shadow) but Windows... not sure.
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
12,924
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
I can't say that I've EVER done a screen shot with Windows. OS X is great at it (even including a drop shadow) but Windows... not sure.
Use the Snipping Tool App which is right in the Task Bar (bottom) section of the desktop.
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2018
Messages
60
Motherboard
MSI Z370 PC PRO
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
I'm interested in this method. I've a duel boot machine running off one SSD. Sounds like this will clone all of my partitions? Mac OS / EFI / Win 10 NTSF? I've read you can build your own version of Win10PE SE: http://win10se.cwcodes.net/Compressed/index.php and add Acronis "personalizing it by adding your own application Plugins". How would you go about adding the paid windows version into the bootable USB drive? Thanks
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
12,924
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
Joined
Mar 7, 2018
Messages
60
Motherboard
MSI Z370 PC PRO
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
There are two posts in the thread by Kyhi that mention how to do that. They are by: "NavyLCDR" about halfway down the page.
Must be this then: I mounted a Windows 10 installation ISO file and then copied all the files and folders from the mounted ISO file to the 6 GB partition. With that in mind would it just be a case of me installing Acronis on to my current windows installation, then copy this (from the program files) to the USB with Win10PE SE on? Sorry just not quite sure what I'm doing....
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
12,924
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
Must be this then: I mounted a Windows 10 installation ISO file and then copied all the files and folders from the mounted ISO file to the 6 GB partition. With that in mind would it just be a case of me installing Acronis on to my current windows installation, then copy this (from the program files) to the USB with Win10PE SE on? Sorry just not quite sure what I'm doing....
I have not attempted this myself as I'm not a big fan of Windows 10. You could post for help in that Windows 10 forum to get further details on how to do that.
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2018
Messages
60
Motherboard
MSI Z370 PC PRO
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
I have not attempted this myself as I'm not a big fan of Windows 10. You could post for help in that Windows 10 forum to get further details on how to do that.
Sure I'm not a big fan of Windows either haha. Well makes sense to try the free version that's included in the Win10PE SE build first. I just thought maybe there is reduced functionality that means you'd be better off buying Acronis but if you can clone successfully on the free version maybe there's no point. Unless you know of other reasons why you can't just use the Win10PE SE version?
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
12,924
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
Sure I'm not a big fan of Windows either haha. Well makes sense to try the free version that's included in the Win10PE SE build first. I just thought maybe there is reduced functionality that means you'd be better off buying Acronis but if you can clone successfully on the free version maybe there's no point. Unless you know of other reasons why you can't just use the Win10PE SE version?
As my first post says, I used the Kyhi version with Acronis 2017 and it worked with no problems to make a bootable clone. It's by far the easiest way to clone your macOS boot drive.
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
12,924
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
Top