Easy, Repeatable Dell 8700 Clover Install Guide (Yosemite OS X 10.10)

Discussion in 'Yosemite Desktop Guides' started by praneeth22, Oct 18, 2014.

  1. Turbojugend

    Turbojugend

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Aug 21, 2015 at 3:56 PM #51
    Turbojugend

    Turbojugend

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    I have the same Dell as Crazyfish and have been trying different things all morning with no success yet. Would it be an option to try installing it without the Nvidia 745, using onboard video?
     
  2. MustyHustla

    MustyHustla

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Mobo:
    Dell
    CPU:
    Intel® Core i7-4790 Processor 3.6GHz
    Graphics:
    4GB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 745
    Classic Mac:
    Apple
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 20, 2015 at 4:50 AM #52
    MustyHustla

    MustyHustla

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Mobo:
    Dell
    CPU:
    Intel® Core i7-4790 Processor 3.6GHz
    Graphics:
    4GB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 745
    Classic Mac:
    Apple
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I'm in the same boat...Ffperson tip got me out of the continuous restart loop to a spinning beach ball on a gray screen.
     
  3. Stork

    Stork Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    9,637
    Mobo:
    ASUS MAXIMUS VIII GENE Z170
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 950 2GB OC WindForce 2X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 20, 2015 at 2:44 PM #53
    Stork

    Stork Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    9,637
    Mobo:
    ASUS MAXIMUS VIII GENE Z170
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 950 2GB OC WindForce 2X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Link or post #?
     
  4. MustyHustla

    MustyHustla

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Mobo:
    Dell
    CPU:
    Intel® Core i7-4790 Processor 3.6GHz
    Graphics:
    4GB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 745
    Classic Mac:
    Apple
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 20, 2015 at 3:11 PM #54
    MustyHustla

    MustyHustla

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Mobo:
    Dell
    CPU:
    Intel® Core i7-4790 Processor 3.6GHz
    Graphics:
    4GB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 745
    Classic Mac:
    Apple
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    It's post number 46 in this thread.

    While using the verbose command, it seems to hang on the Ethernet (something like "en0 1 gigabit") before moving on the gray screen with the beach ball.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 21, 2015
  5. zztest007

    zztest007

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Mobo:
    gateway
    CPU:
    intel
    Graphics:
    nvidia
    Oct 9, 2015 at 1:52 AM #55
    zztest007

    zztest007

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Mobo:
    gateway
    CPU:
    intel
    Graphics:
    nvidia
    I've got it working well with Yosemite 10.10. Now that El Capitan OS X 10.11 is out, will I be able to just update it? Will everything still work as it does now? What steps do I need to take to ensure a smooth transition?
     
  6. IkeaDeluxe

    IkeaDeluxe

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Mobo:
    Dell (Intel Z97 based)
    CPU:
    i7 4770
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GTX 650 Ti
    Nov 14, 2015 at 12:13 PM #56
    IkeaDeluxe

    IkeaDeluxe

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Mobo:
    Dell (Intel Z97 based)
    CPU:
    i7 4770
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GTX 650 Ti
    Hello,

    this is my first post in this forum, and I wanted to give some feedback. I just completed an installation of El Capitan 10.11.1 on the Dell XPS 8700 using the instructions from this thread. My model is mid-2103 and has i7 4770 and GTX 650 Ti.

    The instructions worked just fine with El Capitan. Kext files need to be copied into 10.11 folder, not 10.10. After the installation I had to copy all kext files manually into EFI/CLOVER/kexts/10.11 . Otherwise the PC crashed while booting from HDD.

    After installation Audio didn't work, the machine didn't play any sounds, no audio input or output devices were found. Looking at the device ID, my system seems to have a Realtek ALC899 chip - not the 898 chip which other people reported. I've got it working using the VoodooHDA.kext . The audio volume is a bit low, other than that it's OK.

    IkeaDeluxe
     
  7. NazariyUA

    NazariyUA

    Joined:
    May 18, 2013
    Messages:
    74
    Mobo:
    GIGABYTE H77M-D3H
    CPU:
    I5 3570K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4000
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Dec 7, 2015 at 6:10 AM #57
    NazariyUA

    NazariyUA

    Joined:
    May 18, 2013
    Messages:
    74
    Mobo:
    GIGABYTE H77M-D3H
    CPU:
    I5 3570K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4000
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I have a 745 aswell, 16gb, w/the gpu im getting a bootloop, I'm going to try it out without the gpu.
     
  8. nosmokingbandit

    nosmokingbandit

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Mar 30, 2016 at 9:37 PM #58
    nosmokingbandit

    nosmokingbandit

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks for this guide, it has been very helpful. Everything works great except for when I change to uefi. It seems to boot normally, but gets stuck after "Missing Bluetooth Controller Transport" which - from what I've read - means a gpu problem.

    My gpu is a GTX 750ti, which works great when booting in legacy mode. I had to install the nvidia web drivers to get it working, but it works 100%. I've always have nvda_drv=1, but I've tried it without that, with nv_disable=1, graphicsenabler=no, and various combinations of the two. Now that I finally have a uefi board I really want to take advantage of it. Any suggestions?
     
  9. tamirhosh

    tamirhosh

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Mobo:
    Windows
    Graphics:
    GT 720
    May 11, 2016 at 4:48 AM #59
    tamirhosh

    tamirhosh

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Mobo:
    Windows
    Graphics:
    GT 720
    Sleep working for you ?
     
  10. IkeaDeluxe

    IkeaDeluxe

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Mobo:
    Dell (Intel Z97 based)
    CPU:
    i7 4770
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GTX 650 Ti
    May 11, 2016 at 6:44 AM #60
    IkeaDeluxe

    IkeaDeluxe

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Mobo:
    Dell (Intel Z97 based)
    CPU:
    i7 4770
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GTX 650 Ti
    Yes, sleep mode works fine.

    As an update, the sound driver was crashing several times and I'm using a USB sound card now.
     

Share This Page