Contribute
Register

dyuhas' Dual-boot Bitfenix Phenom-M (mATX) Build - i7-4770K, GA-Z87MX-D3H, 16GB 2400Mhz Memory, GTX

Joined
Jan 18, 2012
Messages
53
Motherboard
Prodigy-M
CPU
i7 4770k
Graphics
Gigabyte GTX650Ti 2GB Boost
Mac
Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Android
No, no Wi-Fi on this one. I actually don't need it at all, although I had it in some of my other builds just to see how well it worked. I used the TP-Link TL-WDN4800 and it always worked great. So now I know what to use if I ever do need Wi-Fi.
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2011
Messages
592
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77-DS3H-F11a
CPU
i5-3570K OC @ 4.2GHz
Graphics
HD 4000
Mobile Phone
Android
osxmix: Sorry. I do not have Apple TV, so I can not test that. I did, however, load XBMC on the system, and it runs great. Not sure if that helps you, though.
did you run XBMC in OS X Mavericks because i have not been able to use XBMC (12.2 Frodo) since upgrading to Mavericks as XBMC just will not load :banghead:
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2012
Messages
53
Motherboard
Prodigy-M
CPU
i7 4770k
Graphics
Gigabyte GTX650Ti 2GB Boost
Mac
Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Android
Robbish,

12.2 Frodo crashes in Mavericks. The XBMC team have been aware of it and have come up with a new beta that works (at least it did for me). Here is a screenshot of XBMC running on this current system:

Screen Shot 2013-12-19 at 6.34.26 PM.jpg

Also, here is the link to the page on the XBMC site where you can get the 12.3 beta:

http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=176721

I hope this helps. Please report back if it does. I know I just can't build a system without XBMC, and when I wasn't able to load 12.2, I had to go on an R&D mission to make it work.
 
Joined
May 14, 2011
Messages
20
Motherboard
Small Monkey
CPU
QC 9660
Graphics
Radeon 6450
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hi dyuhas,

Great work!
How noisy is the CoolerMaster pump?? i hear contradictory stories... .
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2012
Messages
53
Motherboard
Prodigy-M
CPU
i7 4770k
Graphics
Gigabyte GTX650Ti 2GB Boost
Mac
Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Android
Panzerino: I chose the 120M for it's very quiet operation. The pump behaves pretty much like a case fan. The harder you use it, the louder it gets. Now I know a lot of people state that you must run the pump at full speed no matter what, but I have found this to not be true. On the GA-Z87MX-D3H, there are headers for the CPU fan and CPU Opt. fan (usually for the pump on a liquid cooler setup). The only problem is in the bios, there is only one setting that controls both headers together. I don't like that, so I hooked my pump to System fan 1 and the fan on the radiator to CPU fan. That way I can crank up the pump if I want to without affecting the radiator fan. I also found that just setting the pump and fan to "Normal" in the bios works just fine, but it's not for overclocking. Obviously if/when I overclock, I crank everything up to full speed. But actually, I rarely overclock my systems. I do it once in a while, and I will do it initially just to see how far I can push the Geekbench score, but I don't run it like that during normal conditions.

mareko2: Yes, I am on the F5 bios revision. I always build dual-boot machines because I'm a 20+ year Windows user. I tried two different methods for overclocking:

1. Bios: Under the MIT area of the bios, you can simply choose "CPU upgrade" for an i7-4770K 4.3Ghz. This, I believe, sets the clock rate at 4.3Ghz no matter what.
2. Gigabyte utility (EasyTune) in Windows: setting the overclock speed in this utility simply raises the ceiling on the the turbo mode of the CPU, so idling is still at 3.5Ghz. I like this option the best and is what I use for overclocking.

Geekbanch scores seemed to be the same no matter which method I used.
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2011
Messages
592
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77-DS3H-F11a
CPU
i5-3570K OC @ 4.2GHz
Graphics
HD 4000
Mobile Phone
Android
Robbish,

12.2 Frodo crashes in Mavericks. The XBMC team have been aware of it and have come up with a new beta that works (at least it did for me). Here is a screenshot of XBMC running on this current system:

View attachment 77174

Also, here is the link to the page on the XBMC site where you can get the 12.3 beta:

http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=176721

I hope this helps. Please report back if it does. I know I just can't build a system without XBMC, and when I wasn't able to load 12.2, I had to go on an R&D mission to make it work.
thanks for the link Dyuhas,

i tried an an earlier version of XBMC Beta when Mavericks 10.9.0 was released but that beta was terribly buggy and unusable so i deleted it. Luckily the xbmc developers have been working hard with Mavericks and this recent beta you have linked for me works great on OS X 10.9.1

It's good to have XBMC back man - thanks :thumbup:
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2013
Messages
5
Motherboard
CustoMac mATX Dec. 13
CPU
i5-4670K
Graphics
Gigabyte GeForce GTX 760 4GB GDDR5
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
2 sec. snowing screen when wake up

Hello, Thanks for your post, it was very interesting to read! I've built a very similar one.

When running Mavericks, I'm sometimes experiencing a "snowing" screen for 2 seconds or so when waking up from sleep. After that, everything returns normal.

Has anyone of you noticed that?

Cheers!
 

ATB

Joined
Jun 5, 2013
Messages
549
Motherboard
4930K + G.SKILL Ripjaws Z Series 32GB
CPU
same as above
Graphics
EVGA GeForce GTX770 4GB 04G-P4-3774-KR
Nice build! Very clean and pleasant to look at. Very nice.

Did you have any trouble getting the 4GB GTX 770 to work with OSX?

I was considering MSI GTX 770 4GB card, do you think it would it work also?

thank you

...again NICE build!
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2012
Messages
53
Motherboard
Prodigy-M
CPU
i7 4770k
Graphics
Gigabyte GTX650Ti 2GB Boost
Mac
Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Android
dooni: I haven't experienced snow on the screen, but I have noticed a slight hiss coming from the TV speakers that I am using as my monitor (see build description). I only notice this during the boot process, then it goes away as soon as I'm on the desktop. This is also only with OS-X, not Windows.

ATB: No problems at all. Actually, I had the GTX 770 hooked up all the way through the installation process of both operating systems. Both recognized it 100% natively (well, Windows needed the Nvidia driver).

Hope this helps out both of you.

Thanks,

David
 
Top