Duke's G3 B&W case mod

Discussion in 'PowerMac G3 B&W' started by Duke.polymtl, Jun 16, 2011.

  1. Duke.polymtl

    Duke.polymtl

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Mobo:
    Mac OS 10.8
    CPU:
    intel core i7 2600k
    Graphics:
    HD 6870
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS, Other
    Aug 9, 2011 at 4:36 PM #11
    Duke.polymtl

    Duke.polymtl

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Mobo:
    Mac OS 10.8
    CPU:
    intel core i7 2600k
    Graphics:
    HD 6870
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS, Other
    You were right, I managed to update OSX to 10.6.7, I tried the 10.6.8 update which failed... I have to start all over again, yeay !!!
     
  2. eelhead

    eelhead Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    3,537
    Mobo:
    Asus Sabertooth X58
    CPU:
    i7 950 3.06GHz
    Graphics:
    Zotac GeForce GTX 670
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    iMac, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Aug 9, 2011 at 4:46 PM #12
    eelhead

    eelhead Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    3,537
    Mobo:
    Asus Sabertooth X58
    CPU:
    i7 950 3.06GHz
    Graphics:
    Zotac GeForce GTX 670
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    iMac, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Yeah for some reason, I know others know lol, 10.6.8 changed a lot and they removed support for some items so I would hunt down what stuff on your mobo is still supported or not supported.
    I wish I knew off the top of my head :/
     
  3. Duke.polymtl

    Duke.polymtl

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Mobo:
    Mac OS 10.8
    CPU:
    intel core i7 2600k
    Graphics:
    HD 6870
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS, Other
    Aug 9, 2011 at 6:06 PM #13
    Duke.polymtl

    Duke.polymtl

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Mobo:
    Mac OS 10.8
    CPU:
    intel core i7 2600k
    Graphics:
    HD 6870
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS, Other
    Well I've reinstalled 10.6.7, and it works. However... I tried to make OSX recognize my HD6870 with this http://www.groths.org/?p=431 and now I get no graphics at all...
     
  4. eelhead

    eelhead Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    3,537
    Mobo:
    Asus Sabertooth X58
    CPU:
    i7 950 3.06GHz
    Graphics:
    Zotac GeForce GTX 670
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    iMac, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Aug 9, 2011 at 6:34 PM #14
    eelhead

    eelhead Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    3,537
    Mobo:
    Asus Sabertooth X58
    CPU:
    i7 950 3.06GHz
    Graphics:
    Zotac GeForce GTX 670
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    iMac, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Multibeast with Chimera and the ATI FakeSMC plugins a no go?


    http://tonymacx86.blogspot.com/2011/07/ ... pdate.html
    Changed Drivers & Bootloaders -> Kexts & Enablers -> Miscellaneous -> FakeSMC Plugins to a menu choice.
    Added to FakeSMC Plugins -> Motherboard Plugins which only installs the motherboard plugins.
    Added to FakeSMC Plugins -> AMD RADEON Plugin which only installs the AMD RADEON GPU plugin.
     
  5. Duke.polymtl

    Duke.polymtl

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Mobo:
    Mac OS 10.8
    CPU:
    intel core i7 2600k
    Graphics:
    HD 6870
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS, Other
    Aug 12, 2011 at 8:58 AM #15
    Duke.polymtl

    Duke.polymtl

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Mobo:
    Mac OS 10.8
    CPU:
    intel core i7 2600k
    Graphics:
    HD 6870
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS, Other
    Hi guys,
    here's a little step by step of my G4/G3 mod.
    There were a lot of drilling and cutting involved so a dremel-like drill is THE tool to possess !
    As you can see in the previous posts, I was unsure whether a full ATX motherboard would fit or not: it does ! Here's what I did:

    First you've got to clear the case in order to put the new MB

    [​IMG]
    DSC00274 par duke.polymtl, sur Flickr

    Obviously drilled holes to secure the G4 MB with screws are not at the right place and new ones must be drilled. Old support tubes should also be removed as seen on the previous picture (their base is well welded and you have to cut them as close as possible to the metal case).
    My goal was to place the new MB in such a position that current slots for extension PCI cards could be used as is.

    [​IMG]
    DSC00277 par duke.polymtl, sur Flickr

    So first you've got to build new "tubes" to support the motherboard:
    You must be really precise while drilling new holes and be sure about the MB's place on the case. Then a simple and efficient way to fix the MB is to place small bolts and secure the MB on them:

    [​IMG]
    DSC00282 par duke.polymtl, sur Flickr

    [​IMG]
    DSC00291 par duke.polymtl, sur Flickr

    However in order to do so, you've got to place the MB as close as possible to the case otherwise it will prevent you from closing it:

    [​IMG]
    DSC00278 par duke.polymtl, sur Flickr

    Because the MB is square and the side case corners are cut, you must also cut one corner of the rear case (and sandpaper it, a lot...)

    [​IMG]
    DSC00290 par duke.polymtl, sur Flickr

    [​IMG]
    DSC00279 par duke.polymtl, sur Flickr

    After doing that, I discovered that the plastic insulation under the MB was also used to open and close the case itself. The new support bolts blocked it and prevented closing the case.

    [​IMG]
    DSC00283 par duke.polymtl, sur Flickr

    So don't forget to cut a racetrack shaped hole around each bolt !

    [​IMG]
    DSC00296 par duke.polymtl, sur Flickr


    Once you've finished that, you may think that you're done, you're not !
    The motherboard's power supply wires are also preventing you from closing the case as they are blocked by the optical drive... :mrgreen:

    Whole lotta drillin' !!!
    [​IMG]
    DSC00293 par duke.polymtl, sur Flickr

    [​IMG]
    DSC00294 par duke.polymtl, sur Flickr

    Still I thought that it was the end, I was wrong, again !
    There are two things I didn't notice before everything was plugged in :
    1) I can only put one RAM module else you've got to remove the internal optical drive (I chose to keep the internal OD which is a MUST for installing the OS... and re-installing it many times ...)
    2) The "very convenient" power button on the MB was blocked by the OD case when closing the case... :banghead:
    So I had to cut half of the internal OD case !

    [​IMG]
    DSC00300 par duke.polymtl, sur Flickr

    That was not enough to get rid of this issue.
    I also had to lower the MB a bit by removing one support nut on the support bolt closest to the power button. However you must be careful because the screws securing the plastic open/close system get very close to the MB, and only one nut should be removed. The MB is slightly twisted but works fine, and now you can close the case.

    That's it, you're done for the most part !
    I was not yet able to figure out how the original Apple On/Off - Led - Reset card works and connect it to the relevant pins on the MB. As a result the only way to start is the Power button on the MB itself... If someone has an idea ;)

    [​IMG]
    DSC00304 par duke.polymtl, sur Flickr


    I have to say that it was really fun to undertake this case mod, I cannot say the same about OSX's installation... I currently have no sound and no way to boot without iBoot, any help would also be greatly appreciated !!!
    If you've got any question (I may have forgotten to mention intermediate steps) don't hesitate !

    a+
    Duke
     
  6. Duke.polymtl

    Duke.polymtl

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Mobo:
    Mac OS 10.8
    CPU:
    intel core i7 2600k
    Graphics:
    HD 6870
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS, Other
    Mar 21, 2012 at 11:50 PM #16
    Duke.polymtl

    Duke.polymtl

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Mobo:
    Mac OS 10.8
    CPU:
    intel core i7 2600k
    Graphics:
    HD 6870
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS, Other
    Hi guys,
    it's been a long time since I last checked this topic, I just wanted to update things: the hackintosh is working great !!! I got rid of the O.D. in order to put 8Gb of ram, however my GPU isn't recognized as a HD8670 but since I have little need of GPU power, I didn't do anything about that.

    a+
    Duke

    Edit: the original power button is working too !
     
  7. marmotta

    marmotta

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Mobo:
    Asus p8z68 v-pro
    CPU:
    i5 2400
    Graphics:
    Amd HD6870
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 27, 2013 at 12:54 AM #17
    marmotta

    marmotta

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Mobo:
    Asus p8z68 v-pro
    CPU:
    i5 2400
    Graphics:
    Amd HD6870
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I am in the same situation, i need to cut the lower corner to fit the motherboard. But the problem is the the plastic lower handle, this touching the motherboard! How you solved?
     
  8. Duke.polymtl

    Duke.polymtl

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Mobo:
    Mac OS 10.8
    CPU:
    intel core i7 2600k
    Graphics:
    HD 6870
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS, Other
    Feb 27, 2013 at 10:57 PM #18
    Duke.polymtl

    Duke.polymtl

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Mobo:
    Mac OS 10.8
    CPU:
    intel core i7 2600k
    Graphics:
    HD 6870
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS, Other
    Hummm strange... I don't recall having any problem with the handle. If you don't screw it on the MB side it should work.
     
  9. ItsNotReallyMe

    ItsNotReallyMe

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Mobo:
    Z68-XP-UD4
    CPU:
    i7 2600K
    Graphics:
    XFX 5870 1GB
    Mac:
    MacBook
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Aug 15, 2013 at 1:50 AM #19
    ItsNotReallyMe

    ItsNotReallyMe

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Mobo:
    Z68-XP-UD4
    CPU:
    i7 2600K
    Graphics:
    XFX 5870 1GB
    Mac:
    MacBook
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    hey I have the XFX 5870 Black Edition to fix the card being recognised as radeon 5000 series I changed graphics enabler to yes this also fixed the problem with halved video performance after sleep! hope this helps :)

    ah sorry i see what you did... i believe that the 6870 is having problems with more recent versions of osx however i may be mistaken
     
  10. shibirian

    shibirian

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Messages:
    851
    Aug 15, 2013 at 9:17 AM #20
    shibirian

    shibirian

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Messages:
    851
    Very nice work. :)

    Check out my sig for my G4 B/W mod, too, about the RAM slot problem of yours. ;)
     

Share This Page