Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
  2. Other
Hi guys,
As summer's coming, I thought I could use my spare time between sunbathing (and other summer stuffs) and build a hackintosh out of an old G3 B&W case (the G4-like) !

This is my first build, but with all the impressive work that was made on tonymacx86, this will probably not be an issue !
I've seen some amazing G5 case mods (cf eelhead's G5 Case Mod), that made me thinking about my poor old G3 !

Here's the config I'm thinking about:
(I've chosen some components that were recommended by tonymacx86)

- Since the G3 is more of a mini tower, I'm thinking about the GA-H55M-UD2H motherboard because I think the others won't fit.

- As for the CPU I'm not sure yet but I hesitate between those two: the Intel Core i5-760 2.8 GHz or the Intel Core i7-870 2.93 GHz (I'm not sure about the second one for heat reasons, but this may not be an issue ?)

- The GPU will probably be Gigabyte ATI Radeon HD 5770 1GB but is the 5870 that better?

I'm going to start the mod in late July but I want to know your opinion on the config first.

Sincerely,
Duke.

Edit: I saw on amazon that the HD6870 wasn't that expensive so I guess I'll take that GPU.

Nice! Board has a DSDT file here, I'm not sure about the CPU though. I would go with the i7, me thinks if you don't O.C. it temps wont be an issue.
I would make sure that 5870 is a solid running card, I know the 5770 works OOB.
All in all good so far. Cant wait till you get more and get some pics posted :D