Contribute
Register

Dualboot problem.

Joined
Aug 6, 2019
Messages
5
Motherboard
P8Z77V-PRO
CPU
i7-2600
Graphics
GTX 1060
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
CPU: i7 2600 4.2Ghz (Sandy Bridge)
RAM: 16GB 4x4GB (HyperX Genesis)
GPU: Palit GTX1060 6GB SuperJetStream
HDD: 2x1TB Seagate Barracuda
SSD: 2x120GB HyperX (Raid0)
SSD: 1x480GB Sabrent

So I have successfully installed macOS Sierra 10.13, everything works smooth, no problems at all.
My macOS is installed to separate SSD 480GB Sabrent, Other two HDD's are for Storage and Games, other 2 SSD's are in Raid0 for Windows,
I tried installing Windows alongside macOS it installed but Windows bootloader installed in macOS EFI partition (somehow) I removed Windows bootloader from macOS but don't know how to make Windows install bootloader into SSD I'm installing it on?

What I want is macOS as default OS as is now , but also boot into windows by manually selecting Windows SSD from BootMenu. ( I dont want Windows boot entry in clover)
I can't figure out how to do it, tired after configuring mac so my brain is not working LOL.
 
Last edited:

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
21,029
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
HD 4600
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Moved to Multi Booting.
 

Going Bald

Moderator
Joined
Aug 14, 2010
Messages
22,527
Motherboard
GA-X58A-UD7 Rev.1 BIOS F7
CPU
Intel Xeon W3670
Graphics
RX580
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
iMac
CPU: i7 2600 4.2Ghz (Sandy Bridge)
RAM: 16GB 4x4GB (HyperX Genesis)
GPU: Palit GTX1060 6GB SuperJetStream
HDD: 2x1TB Seagate Barracuda
SSD: 2x120GB HyperX (Raid0)
SSD: 1x480GB Sabrent

So I have successfully installed macOS Sierra 10.13, everything works smooth, no problems at all.
My macOS is installed to separate SSD 480GB Sabrent, Other two HDD's are for Storage and Games, other 2 SSD's are in Raid0 for Windows,
I tried installing Windows alongside macOS it installed but Windows bootloader installed in macOS EFI partition (somehow) I removed Windows bootloader from macOS but don't know how to make Windows install bootloader into SSD I'm installing it on?

What I want is macOS as default OS as is now , but also boot into windows by manually selecting Windows SSD from BootMenu. ( I dont want Windows boot entry in clover)
I can't figure out how to do it, tired after configuring mac so my brain is not working LOL.
Remove/disconnect any drives not to have Windows installed (or disable SATA port drives connected to in UEFI/BIOS.
With Windows-to-be drives only connected, install Windows.

Reconnect other drives, boot to UEFI and set your default boot drive as first in BBS boot order.

For not having the Windows drives show up in Clover, see the Hide drives instructions in Clover Wiki.

Alternate method: Can you install a trayless hotswap bay like this:

or, if you have 3.5" HDD, like this:

in empty optical bays in your case? If you can, then only insert the Windows drives when you want to boot Windows.
 
Joined
Aug 6, 2019
Messages
5
Motherboard
P8Z77V-PRO
CPU
i7-2600
Graphics
GTX 1060
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Remove/disconnect any drives not to have Windows installed (or disable SATA port drives connected to in UEFI/BIOS.
With Windows-to-be drives only connected, install Windows.

Reconnect other drives, boot to UEFI and set your default boot drive as first in BBS boot order.

For not having the Windows drives show up in Clover, see the Hide drives instructions in Clover Wiki.

Alternate method: Can you install a trayless hotswap bay like this:

or, if you have 3.5" HDD, like this:

in empty optical bays in your case? If you can, then only insert the Windows drives when you want to boot Windows.

Thanks a lot, as I said my brain was off at the moment, great and simple solution ! Thanks, I have already hidden other Drives in Clover it shows only MacOS and RecoveryHD , so I will disable all other drives ! Huge thanks
 

Going Bald

Moderator
Joined
Aug 14, 2010
Messages
22,527
Motherboard
GA-X58A-UD7 Rev.1 BIOS F7
CPU
Intel Xeon W3670
Graphics
RX580
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
iMac
Thanks a lot, as I said my brain was off at the moment, great and simple solution ! Thanks, I have already hidden other Drives in Clover it shows only MacOS and RecoveryHD , so I will disable all other drives ! Huge thanks
If Windows is already installed and drives hidden in CLover, no need to disable drives.
Disable/disconnect is only for installing Windows.
 
Joined
Aug 6, 2019
Messages
5
Motherboard
P8Z77V-PRO
CPU
i7-2600
Graphics
GTX 1060
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Found out solution myself LOL, now I have perfect boot menu.

Removed unwanted boot entries from clover ( GUI > added UUID to hide drive )
Then added two Custom Entries > Windows 10 and macOS
For those whose entries wont save, I struggled around an hour before I figured it out. ...

When creating custom entry , after entering the UUID and Entry name you should also select type of os it's going to boot, then it will save, otherwise .plist wont save those values for Custom Entries.
 
Top