I7 3770K @ 4,50 GHz
Graphics
GTX780
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I'm a video editor/ex-IT guy.
Beginning last month I bought a ASUS GTX 780 DCII OC.
Everything worked great, then I read this:
http://www.barefeats.com/tube02.html

Here are my scores for a single GTX 780:
- FCPX Gaussian blur: 24 sec.
- Triple fx: 45 sec.
- Luxmark: 1382

Today my second GTX 780 arrived, took the first one out and put the new one in.
Opened some images in Preview, Fast look, all worked, so didn't seem like a GK110B chip.
I've put my first card back in slot 1, and the new card in slot 2b of the Maximus V extreme.
Plugged extra power in the EZPlug just to be sure... I have a AX1200i psu so that's good.

Here are my scores for dual GTX 780:
- FCPX Gaussian blur: 40 sec.
- Triple fx: 75 sec.
- Luxmark: wouldn't start !

To do some testing I did the same tests with only the new gtx 780,
here's the results:

- FCPX Gaussian blur: 26 sec.
- Triple fx: 40 sec.
- Luxmark: wouldn't start

With any of the 2 cards FCPX renderstimes are good, but with the 2 cards together render times are x 1,5!

And if luxmark doesn't start, does that mean that it does have a GK110B chip?
But why do Preview, Quicklook and Pacifist work?
I don't see the VBIOS of the cards anywhere, so I can't check if it's 80.10 or not...

Any ideas?

Would love to get involved with Dual GPU configuration. What are your other specs? I am running gigabyte X79 UD3, i7 3930k, GTX670. I was excited because from the beginning the point of FCPX seemed to be that it would eventually be able to take advantage of dual CPU's...eventually is now here with mavericks and FCPX 10.1.

Wondering if you think I am out of luck with sandy bridge rig and what you did to get the dual GPU's up and running. I have 1000 watt PSU. I could always just purchase another smaller PSU to be dedicated to the other card...or do I simply need a PSU with more power (I would assume the latter).