Contribute
Register

Dual booting on two separate m.2 drives

jaymonkey

Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
2,689
Motherboard
ASRock-Z97 EX6
CPU
i7-4790K OC @ 4.8GHz
Graphics
Vega 64LC + HD4600
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Do you still need to install W10 on a GPT formatted NVMe drive?
If your booting Clover from EFI and want to select Windows 10 from the Clover menu then Windows really needs to boot using EFI. In order to install Windows 10 as EFI you need to the format the target as GPT ..... (You can also convert Windows to GPT if its already installed on a legacy partition)

Also, what is the advantage of Clover vs the motherboard boot menu?
A Motherboard Boot Menu can boot Windows 10 if its installed as Legacy Boot Sector/MBR or as EFI, however you normally have to press a hotkey during boot to get to the motherboards boot menu So most users tend to auto boot Clover and use that to select the OS. A motherboard menu can not boot MacOS directly it must first boot Clover so it makes sense to use Clover as to boot/select Windows 10.

Cheers
Jay
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2011
Messages
28
Motherboard
Asus Prime Z370-A
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
EVGA GTX 1080 FTW2 DT
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
Android
That's the best explanation I have read anywhere since starting my hackintosh research. So thank you! Since this was a brand new build, I went back and wiped my Win10 drive and followed the instructions. Now my dual boot is working great, except for two issues. I have no audio in High Sierra and I don't understand the instructions to fix it (cause I'm a noob). And my GTX1080 card is working with the Web drivers, but the GPU fans aren't spinning even while running Cinebench. I don't think this is a hackintosh specific issue though.
 

jaymonkey

Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
2,689
Motherboard
ASRock-Z97 EX6
CPU
i7-4790K OC @ 4.8GHz
Graphics
Vega 64LC + HD4600
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
I have no audio in High Sierra and I don't understand the instructions to fix it (cause I'm a noob).
Without knowing what codec you have its hard to say but my recommendation would be to try AppleALC ver 1.2.7 (versions later than 1.2.7 use a layout re-mapping feature for Mojave support but its still WIP so stick with 1.2.7 for High Sierra) you will also need to install the Latest version of Lilu.

Make sure AppleHDA is vanilla and remove all other audio injectors, dummy hda kext's and all Clover HDA patches and install AppleALC and Lilu in /L/E. You you will need to use Clover to inject a layout-id. If you know which codec you have then you can look at the AppleALC sources on git hub to see which layout-id's are supported.

And my GTX1080 card is working with the Web drivers, but the GPU fans aren't spinning even while running Cinebench. I don't think this is a hackintosh specific issue though.
Cant really help you with that one, it could be that the card is not being utilised enough to make the fans come on, try running the Heaven Benchmark .. that should give your GPU a good workout and see if the fans switch on.

Cheers
Jay
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2011
Messages
28
Motherboard
Asus Prime Z370-A
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
EVGA GTX 1080 FTW2 DT
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
Android
Without knowing what codec you have its hard to say but my recommendation would be to try AppleALC ver 1.2.7 (versions later than 1.2.7 use a layout re-mapping feature for Mojave support but its still WIP so stick with 1.2.7 for High Sierra) you will also need to install the Latest version of Lilu.

Make sure AppleHDA is vanilla and remove all other audio injectors, dummy hda kext's and all Clover HDA patches and install AppleALC and Lilu in /L/E. You you will need to use Clover to inject a layout-id. If you know which codec you have then you can look at the AppleALC sources on git hub to see which layout-id's are supported.



Cant really help you with that one, it could be that the card is not being utilised enough to make the fans come on, try running the Heaven Benchmark .. that should give your GPU a good workout and see if the fans switch on.

Cheers
Jay
I really wish I could understand what you're trying to tell me. I truly appreciate you taking the time to answer my questions, but this is over my head. I don't know what the codec is, dummy kexts, /L/E, or layout ids. I'll do some research to see if I can figure this all out. I really need a tutorial about kexts and everything else first.

As for the Heaven benchmark, that I can certainly do. Great idea. Thanks again.
 

jaymonkey

Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
2,689
Motherboard
ASRock-Z97 EX6
CPU
i7-4790K OC @ 4.8GHz
Graphics
Vega 64LC + HD4600
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
I don't know what the codec is, dummy kexts, /L/E, or layout ids.
@Budge72,

As per the sites rules in order for us to help you anymore you need to put the complete details of your system in your signature.
If the system is the Asus Prime Z370-A that is listed underneath your avatar then the codec listed in the specifications on the Asus website is Realtek® S1220A, in other words ALCS1220A.

This codec is supported by AppleALC since version 1.2.5 and the supported layout-id's are 1,2,5 & 7.

As previously stated download the release versions of Lilu 1.2.6 & AppleALC 1.2.7 kexts from the links i provided you.
Unzipp and place the kext's on the desktop. Download KextBeast from this website, unzip and run kextbeast.pkg.
Click continue a few times and accept the agreement, then select /Library/Extensions as the install target. This will install AppleALC and Lilu in /L/E on exit i suggest you click on 'Keep' rather than delete so that you can use kextbeast again in the future.

Use Clover Configurator to mount your EFI partition and load your config.plist, on the devices section on the Audio tab next to inject try each of the supported layout-id's (1,2,5,7)

Screen Shot 2018-08-15 at 11.30.25.png

Save your updated config and reboot between each test.

Test the Audio after each reboot.

As long as you have everything else set up correctly then one of those layout-id should work for you.
If it does not work then this issue is off-topic for this thread so you should post a new thread in the relevant section of the forums

Good Luck
Cheers
Jay
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2011
Messages
28
Motherboard
Asus Prime Z370-A
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
EVGA GTX 1080 FTW2 DT
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
Android
Jay, if I can't do it now with those instructions, then it can't be done. THANK YOU. I will let you know how it goes.

UPDATE: I got audio as soon as I rebooted after using KextBeast! :clap: But "Sound" under System Preferences shows that I only get sound using Internal Speakers instead of Line Out. I thought that was odd, so tried layouts 1,2,5, and 7. I got the same results with 1 and 2, but no sound at all on 5 and 7. I'm not sure if this is normal, or whether I could get a mic to work using Line In, but I'm happy to have sound none the less. Thank you again. I never would have figured out where to find the tools or what to do with them. Hopefully I can help someone else in the future. Thanks again.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 10, 2013
Messages
39
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD3H
CPU
i5-4570S
Graphics
Intel HD4600
Mac
MacBook
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Android
@lentife,

I have two Nvme drives on my main video edit (White Knight) Build ... 2 x Samsung Evo 960 NVMe SSD's High Sierra on one, Windows 10 on the other .... rather than use a EFI partition on one of the NVMe drives for Clover i bought a 8GB SATA SSD for just a few pounds ... similar to this one:-

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/SANDISK-SDSA5AK-008G-8GB-SATA-6-0-Gbps-SOLID-STATE-DRIVE-SSD/183192654959?hash=item2aa722146f:g:Iy0AAOSwNkxa3aCr

Its 8GB but 4GB or even 2GB will do just fine. I formatted it as GTP and installed Clover on to the EFI partition on that and configured the BIOS to boot form it.

The advantage is that if anything ever happens to your OSX or Clover configuration its easy to remove and and play with on anther machine ... in my case i usually connect it to my laptop using a USB to SATA adapter Y cable ....

You can use the rest of the 8GB drive as an installer and recovery drive or just a small data drive ...

This method has saved me several times in the past ... these days now that HS supports 3rd party NVMe drives its not so important but if you have spare/unused SATA controller i think booting the system from a small capacity dedicated boot SDD makes good sense.

Just thought i'd share my method
Cheers
Jay
Hi Jay!!

You can explain this process in more detail.
If I have not misunderstood it, you have installed Clover and the EFI partition on that small SATA disk.

But, I guess the steps you took were the following: (If I'm wrong, please tell me the process step by step).

1- Install OSX on one of the SSD m2 disks.
2- Inside OSX install the Clover BootLoader in the small hard SSD SATA DIsco.
3- Install Windows 10, on the second hard drive m2 SSD.
4- Inside OSX with Clover Configuration, program so that always start OSX or Windows, etc, etc.

Is this the process?

Thank you so much!!
 

jaymonkey

Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
2,689
Motherboard
ASRock-Z97 EX6
CPU
i7-4790K OC @ 4.8GHz
Graphics
Vega 64LC + HD4600
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
If I have not misunderstood it, you have installed Clover and the EFI partition on that small SATA disk.
Correct ...

But, I guess the steps you took were the following: (If I'm wrong, please tell me the process step by step).

1- Install OSX on one of the SSD m2 disks.
2- Inside OSX install the Clover BootLoader in the small hard SSD SATA DIsco.
3- Install Windows 10, on the second hard drive m2 SSD.
4- Inside OSX with Clover Configuration, program so that always start OSX or Windows, etc, etc.

Is this the process?

Thank you so much!!
That process should work, however i used a SATA -> USB adapter and configured the small SSD on my laptop hackingtosh. By using a USB adapter you can treat the Small SSD just like you would a normal USB memory stick. So there are multiple ways of going about the process. You could even use UniBeast to generate an installer on it and use it to Install OSX from.

The main benefit (for me) is that if i screw up Clover or the EFI partition its very easy for me to repair it on another machine with worrying about the M.2 drives. You have to remember that before High Sierra Apple did not support 3rd party M.2 SSD's so it required a custom kext and Spoof SSDT being able to repair these without having to access the Nvme drives made it easier for me to maintain the system.

Cheers
Jay
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2013
Messages
39
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD3H
CPU
i5-4570S
Graphics
Intel HD4600
Mac
MacBook
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Android
Correct ...



That process should work, however i used a SATA -> USB adapter and configured the small SSD on my laptop hackingtosh. By using a USB adapter you can treat the Small SSD just like you would a normal USB memory stick. So there are multiple ways of going about the process. You could even use UniBeast to generate an installer on it and use it to Install OSX from.

The main benefit (for me) is that if i screw up Clover or the EFI partition its very easy for me to repair it on another machine with worrying about the M.2 drives. You have to remember that before High Sierra Apple did not support 3rd party M.2 SSD's so it required a custom kext and Spoof SSDT being able to repair these without having to access the Nvme drives made it easier for me to maintain the system.

Cheers
Jay

@lentife,

I have two Nvme drives on my main video edit (White Knight) Build ... 2 x Samsung Evo 960 NVMe SSD's High Sierra on one, Windows 10 on the other .... rather than use a EFI partition on one of the NVMe drives for Clover i bought a 8GB SATA SSD for just a few pounds ... similar to this one:-

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/SANDISK-SDSA5AK-008G-8GB-SATA-6-0-Gbps-SOLID-STATE-DRIVE-SSD/183192654959?hash=item2aa722146f:g:Iy0AAOSwNkxa3aCr

Its 8GB but 4GB or even 2GB will do just fine. I formatted it as GTP and installed Clover on to the EFI partition on that and configured the BIOS to boot form it.

The advantage is that if anything ever happens to your OSX or Clover configuration its easy to remove and and play with on anther machine ... in my case i usually connect it to my laptop using a USB to SATA adapter Y cable ....

You can use the rest of the 8GB drive as an installer and recovery drive or just a small data drive ...

This method has saved me several times in the past ... these days now that HS supports 3rd party NVMe drives its not so important but if you have spare/unused SATA controller i think booting the system from a small capacity dedicated boot SDD makes good sense.

Just thought i'd share my method
Cheers
Jay
Thanks very much Jay!!
 
Top