Dual booting on two separate m.2 drives

Discussion in 'Multi Booting' started by lentife, Jul 22, 2018.

  1. lentife

    lentife

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD3H
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5 4570 3,2GHz LGA1150
    Graphics:
    GTX 980 Ti - MSI Gaming 6G
    Mac:
    MacBook
    Classic Mac:
    iBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 22, 2018 at 4:25 PM #1
    lentife

    lentife

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD3H
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5 4570 3,2GHz LGA1150
    Graphics:
    GTX 980 Ti - MSI Gaming 6G
    Mac:
    MacBook
    Classic Mac:
    iBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Hi folks, I plan on building my second Mac/Win10 dual boot Hackintosh from scratch and am looking for advice.

    My intention is to use two separate Samsung 970 evo 500GB m.2 drives, one for the Mac and one for the Windows partition.

    As for the motherboard, I am looking at the Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Ultra Gaming, which has 2x m.2 slots and a 1151-v2 socket for 8th gen intel processors.


    Do you have any advice regarding compatibility and performance of two m.2 drives in a dual boot setup? Is this a good idea or do you recommend another setup (one single m.2 drive with larger capacity w/ two partitions)?

    Looking forward to your opinions. Thanks a lot!
     
    Mariovn likes this.
  2. Going Bald

    Going Bald Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    22,308
    Motherboard:
    GA-X58A-UD7 Rev.1 BIOS F7
    CPU:
    i7-920
    Graphics:
    Sapphire HD5770
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Jul 22, 2018 at 6:37 PM #2
    Going Bald

    Going Bald Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    22,308
    Motherboard:
    GA-X58A-UD7 Rev.1 BIOS F7
    CPU:
    i7-920
    Graphics:
    Sapphire HD5770
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    There is no technical reason why you cannot dual boot on 2 separate m.2 drives so far as I am aware. Since I do not have the hardware to do it I cannot definitively state as a fact that it works or not. Try it and find out, then let the forum know.
     
  3. Budge72

    Budge72

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Motherboard:
    Asus Prime Z370-A
    CPU:
    i7-8700K
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 1080 FTW2 DT
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jul 24, 2018 at 7:14 PM #3
    Budge72

    Budge72

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Motherboard:
    Asus Prime Z370-A
    CPU:
    i7-8700K
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 1080 FTW2 DT
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    This is exactly what I'm planning as well. Have you got it working yet?
     
    Mariovn likes this.
  4. jaymonkey

    jaymonkey Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,918
    Motherboard:
    ASRock-Z97 Ext-6
    CPU:
    i7-4790K O/C @ 4.7GHz
    Graphics:
    Vega 64 LC + HD4600
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Jul 24, 2018 at 7:42 PM #4
    jaymonkey

    jaymonkey Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,918
    Motherboard:
    ASRock-Z97 Ext-6
    CPU:
    i7-4790K O/C @ 4.7GHz
    Graphics:
    Vega 64 LC + HD4600
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    @lentife,

    I have two Nvme drives on my main video edit (White Knight) Build ... 2 x Samsung Evo 960 NVMe SSD's High Sierra on one, Windows 10 on the other .... rather than use a EFI partition on one of the NVMe drives for Clover i bought a 8GB SATA SSD for just a few pounds ... similar to this one:-

    https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/SANDISK-...654959?hash=item2aa722146f:g:Iy0AAOSwNkxa3aCr

    Its 8GB but 4GB or even 2GB will do just fine. I formatted it as GTP and installed Clover on to the EFI partition on that and configured the BIOS to boot form it.

    The advantage is that if anything ever happens to your OSX or Clover configuration its easy to remove and and play with on anther machine ... in my case i usually connect it to my laptop using a USB to SATA adapter Y cable ....

    You can use the rest of the 8GB drive as an installer and recovery drive or just a small data drive ...

    This method has saved me several times in the past ... these days now that HS supports 3rd party NVMe drives its not so important but if you have spare/unused SATA controller i think booting the system from a small capacity dedicated boot SDD makes good sense.

    Just thought i'd share my method
    Cheers
    Jay
     
    cachiputi and lentife like this.
  5. Budge72

    Budge72

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Motherboard:
    Asus Prime Z370-A
    CPU:
    i7-8700K
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 1080 FTW2 DT
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jul 24, 2018 at 9:32 PM #5
    Budge72

    Budge72

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Motherboard:
    Asus Prime Z370-A
    CPU:
    i7-8700K
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 1080 FTW2 DT
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
  6. lentife

    lentife

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD3H
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5 4570 3,2GHz LGA1150
    Graphics:
    GTX 980 Ti - MSI Gaming 6G
    Mac:
    MacBook
    Classic Mac:
    iBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 27, 2018 at 1:29 PM #6
    lentife

    lentife

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD3H
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5 4570 3,2GHz LGA1150
    Graphics:
    GTX 980 Ti - MSI Gaming 6G
    Mac:
    MacBook
    Classic Mac:
    iBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Thank you very much for your help! Will try this soon and report back. Waiting for the release of the new chips hoping the 8thgen CPUs are going to be cheaper.
     
  7. lentife

    lentife

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD3H
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5 4570 3,2GHz LGA1150
    Graphics:
    GTX 980 Ti - MSI Gaming 6G
    Mac:
    MacBook
    Classic Mac:
    iBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 27, 2018 at 1:35 PM #7
    lentife

    lentife

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD3H
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5 4570 3,2GHz LGA1150
    Graphics:
    GTX 980 Ti - MSI Gaming 6G
    Mac:
    MacBook
    Classic Mac:
    iBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    This is really interesting and totally makes sense. Do you have a more detailed explanation on how to do it step by step? Thanks a lot!!
     
  8. jaymonkey

    jaymonkey Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,918
    Motherboard:
    ASRock-Z97 Ext-6
    CPU:
    i7-4790K O/C @ 4.7GHz
    Graphics:
    Vega 64 LC + HD4600
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Jul 27, 2018 at 9:07 PM #8
    jaymonkey

    jaymonkey Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,918
    Motherboard:
    ASRock-Z97 Ext-6
    CPU:
    i7-4790K O/C @ 4.7GHz
    Graphics:
    Vega 64 LC + HD4600
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    You don't really need to do anything special other than format the low capacity SSD as GPT ... if you use a SATA to USB Y Cable then you can treat like a USB stick to Format it and install Clover on to it on a another machine ... you can use the main partition as a UniBeast Installer if you get one thats 8GB+ .. then unplug and connect to spare Motherboard SATA port on target machine ... set it as the boot drive in the BIOS ... job done ... very handy having a dedicated and easy to remove Boot & Clover SSD on a system that uses multiple NVMe SSD's ... especially if things go wrong.

    Cheers
    Jay
     
    lentife likes this.
  9. cheekymoonkey

    cheekymoonkey

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Motherboard:
    Asrock Z370 Killer SLI/ac
    CPU:
    I5-8400
    Graphics:
    RX 560
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Aug 7, 2018 at 4:31 AM #9
    cheekymoonkey

    cheekymoonkey

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Motherboard:
    Asrock Z370 Killer SLI/ac
    CPU:
    I5-8400
    Graphics:
    RX 560
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I have two m.2 NVMe drives (Samsung 960 & 970) running windows 10 and High Sierra on an Asrock Z370 Killer SLI/ac for months without issues. Having some problems with my clover update today, but I'm 99.9% confident it has more to do with my lack of understanding rather than any compatibility issues.
     
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2018
  10. Budge72

    Budge72

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Motherboard:
    Asus Prime Z370-A
    CPU:
    i7-8700K
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 1080 FTW2 DT
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Aug 13, 2018 at 6:50 AM #10
    Budge72

    Budge72

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Motherboard:
    Asus Prime Z370-A
    CPU:
    i7-8700K
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 1080 FTW2 DT
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Do you still need to install W10 on a GPT formatted NVMe drive? Also, what is the advantage of Clover vs the motherboard boot menu?
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice