Contribute
Register

Dual Boot with separate drives - hide windows drive in OS X

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jul 8, 2016
Messages
32
Motherboard
Asus TUF Gaming B460M-Plus (WI-FI)
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hey guys,
is there a method to permanently hide the windows drive in OS X? I got an Skylake GA Z170N-Wifi with i3 6100 and 2 sata drives using clover as boot loader. Dual boot with windows is working fine for me but I did not find any solution for this problem so maybe someone here can help me.
 

Going Bald

Moderator
Joined
Aug 14, 2010
Messages
23,306
Motherboard
GA-X58A-UD7-F7
CPU
W3670
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hey guys,
is there a method to permanently hide the windows drive in OS X? I got an Skylake GA Z170N-Wifi with i3 6100 and 2 sata drives using clover as boot loader. Dual boot with windows is working fine for me but I did not find any solution for this problem so maybe someone here can help me.
Forum search key words = Clover Configurator and Hide Icons
 
Joined
Jul 8, 2016
Messages
32
Motherboard
Asus TUF Gaming B460M-Plus (WI-FI)
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
thanks I already searched my ass off but could not find anything.. :thumbup:
 

Going Bald

Moderator
Joined
Aug 14, 2010
Messages
23,306
Motherboard
GA-X58A-UD7-F7
CPU
W3670
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Joined
Jul 8, 2016
Messages
32
Motherboard
Asus TUF Gaming B460M-Plus (WI-FI)
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
It was the second one but the first answer helped me, too. Thank you very much for your quick reply
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2017
Messages
16
Motherboard
ASUS Z170 Pro
CPU
Intel i7 6700K
Graphics
MSI GTX 970 4GD5T OC
Mac
  1. iMac
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Probably not useful for OP anymore, but I'll leave this solution here for anyone finding the thread later.

Go to "Apple -> About This Mac -> System Report -> SATA/SATA Express" when booted into MacOS and click on the drive, then find the volume that you want to hide from the MacOS desktop. Find the value for Volume UUID and copy it.

Now do the following:
  • Load up Terminal and type "sudo nano /etc/fstab" (without the quotation marks)
  • Enter your password if prompted
  • Type in "UUID=XXXXXXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXXXXXXXXXX none ntfs rw,noauto" (replacing the Xs with your pasted UUID from the intro and leaving the hyphens in place)
  • Press Ctrl+O
  • Press Enter to confirm the filename and save
  • Press Ctrl+X to exit nano and then close Terminal
If you reboot, the next time MacOS loads, it won't mount the volume you specified. If you want to mount it manually, you can do so from the Disk Utility app. Bear in mind that you need to specify the correct volume file format for this to work ("ntfs", "ExFAT", "msdos" (for FAT32), or "hfs" (for a Mac drive)). If in doubt, you should be able to see the file system just above where you copied the Volume UUID from in the intro.
 
Joined
Dec 22, 2015
Messages
171
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming
CPU
i7 8700K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Probably not useful for OP anymore, but I'll leave this solution here for anyone finding the thread later.

Go to "Apple -> About This Mac -> System Report -> SATA/SATA Express" when booted into MacOS and click on the drive, then find the volume that you want to hide from the MacOS desktop. Find the value for Volume UUID and copy it.

Now do the following:
  • Load up Terminal and type "sudo nano /etc/fstab" (without the quotation marks)
  • Enter your password if prompted
  • Type in "UUID=XXXXXXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXXXXXXXXXX none ntfs rw,noauto" (replacing the Xs with your pasted UUID from the intro and leaving the hyphens in place)
  • Press Ctrl+O
  • Press Enter to confirm the filename and save
  • Press Ctrl+X to exit nano and then close Terminal
If you reboot, the next time MacOS loads, it won't mount the volume you specified. If you want to mount it manually, you can do so from the Disk Utility app. Bear in mind that you need to specify the correct volume file format for this to work ("ntfs", "ExFAT", "msdos" (for FAT32), or "hfs" (for a Mac drive)). If in doubt, you should be able to see the file system just above where you copied the Volume UUID from in the intro.

Thanks so much for the easy instructions, worked like a charm! :clap:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top